|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » 2010 Winter Olympics » User review

2010 Winter Olympics (XXI Olympic Winter Games)

A multinational sports and culture festival being held in Vancouver, Canada on February 12 through the 28, 2010.

< read all 10 reviews

Canada Wins Gold in Men's Hockey

  • Mar 1, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
I'll be the first to tell you I'm not a Hockey fan. This is because it's not a hugely played sport in the US and I wasn't brought up with it. I was brought up watching football. Nevertheless, the Finals of the Men's Hockey of the US vs Canada was something I was NOT going to miss. Given that the US was able to beat Canada(with a score of 5-3) early on in the tournament added to the excitement of this game.

Canada got a quick jump on the US scoring two unanswered goals early on. They guarded their net extremely well and kept up that protection the entire game. The US would bring the score to 2-1 after A LOT of work of getting by defenders. It was a game  tying score with less than 30 sseconds left in the third period that turned this game into a huge nail biter and extremely intense game, as if it needed more of either.

A blind swing at the net by Sidney Crosby sealed the Gold for Canada in Overtime about ten minutes into the Period after Regulation play. It was a goal that would be heard around the world and would only help to seal Crosby's legacy as a Hockey player. This put Canada ahead 3-2 and gave them the gold medal in one of the most intense sporting events I've ever seen.

People are partying in the streets in Vancouver to Toronto at this moment. It was an incredible game and the US certainly did not simply let the Canadians have it. The win would set Olympic history in an already record setting Olympics for Canada. They leave the Olympics with 14 gold, the most any country has ever had in the Winter Games. The United States leaves with 37 medals, the most medals any country has ever won at the Winter Olympics.

This was game you needed to see. The highlights will not do it justice, but they'll be replayed for several weeks for sure, and in Canada, longer than that.
Canada Wins Gold in Men's Hockey

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
March 03, 2010
This was like a made-for-movies game. Country has Olympics. Country comes back after loss to compete in the finals. Country plays biggest rival. Rival ties the game practically at the buzzer. Then home country wins!! This could have used a few compelling characters (someone who had been alcoholic but is better/someone who had been in a coma and recovered) but otherwise couldn't have been scripted better. A terrific way to end the games.
March 03, 2010
I'm not a Hockey fan, or a huge sports fan in general anymore, but this game, you're right, could not have been scripted more perfectly. This was one you had to see. Hockey gained serious ground in this game.
 
March 01, 2010
Nice review of yesterdays Gold Medal game. I am not a big hockey fan either but if you are ever going to watch yesterday's game was definitely the time. An intense, well played game from start until the dramatic finish in OT!
 
March 01, 2010
When they went into sudden death -- it was anyone's game, but damn it was well worth watching! I would add that it's a new world for the Olympics in general. A girl like me who's supposed to writing on the weekend and therefore solo, can turn on the social media and suddenly there's shared beers and a real time brawl between friends over our teams. (And no clean up afterward!)
 
1
More 2010 Winter Olympics reviews
review by . February 23, 2010
Growing up, I was enthralled by the nationalism, the honor, and the athleticism that the Summer Olympics represented.  The Winter Olympics failed to evoke any of the feelings from my childhood.  What's wrong with the Winter Olympics?  Let me count the ways...      The Events      THE GRAVITY EVENTS: Several of the events of the Winter Olympics rely heavily on gravity.  Bobsledding, luge, skeleton, etc.  Due to basic physics, a …
review by . February 21, 2010
posted in Go Canada
China's first Gold
I've hardly watched the Winter Olympics as most of the places I've lived in hardly broadcast it (unless it's on Sports on Cable TV but that's one channel I don't subscribed to). This year though, I'm living in Shenzhen and the China's state tv station CCTV-5 (a sports channel) has been telecasting the various competitive programs throughout the day and it's hard to miss it!      Originally, I had titled this review "China's first Gold". …
Quick Tip by . March 20, 2010
posted in The Great Outdoors
I wasn't able to catch a lot of the sports this year, but the figure skating I saw was beautiful.
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
The United States won the most medals. Some great highlights. In hockey I yelled when U.S. scored with 24 seconds left. I scared the cat.
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
Did not watch much of it but I agree that the Men's Hockey Gold Medal game was aweome!
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
The hockey game you HAD to see, even if you don't know a thing about Hockey...
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2010
Best of luck to host Canada for Men Ice Hockey!!! Go, Canada, Go!!!
Quick Tip by . February 18, 2010
Beautiful opening ceremony (minus the awkward ending). Love watching the figure skating, downhill skiing, and speed skating competitions!
Quick Tip by . January 08, 2010
Shaun White, All The Way, Gold Medal!!! Go USA!
About the reviewer

Ranked #184
I'm a huge Alexz Johnson fan and of the girl group Lady Phoenix. I love One Tree Hill and the good old days of professional wrestling. My favorite movie of all time is probably Fight Club. You can find … more
About this topic

Wiki

The 2010 Winter Olympics, officially known as the XXI Olympic Winter Games or the 21st Winter Olympics, will be held on February 12–28, 2010, in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with some events held in the resort town of Whistler nearby. Both the Olympic andParalympic Games are being organized by the Vancouver Organizing Committee (VANOC).

The 2010 Winter Olympics will be the third Olympics hosted by Canada, and the first by the province of British Columbia. Previously, Canada was home to the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal and the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary. These will also be the first games to be held in a National Hockey League market since the league allowed its players to participate, starting at the 1998 Winter Olympics in Nagano, Japan.

Following Olympic tradition, then Vancouver mayor Sam Sullivan received the Olympic flag during the closing ceremony of the 2006 Winter Olympics in Torino, Italy. The flag was raised on February 28, 2006, in a special ceremony, and will be on display at Vancouver City Hall until the Olympic opening ceremony. The event will be officially opened by Governor General Michaëlle Jean.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists