|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Health » Reviews » 24 Hour Fitness » User review

24 Hour Fitness

A United States-based chain of gyms.

< read all 4 reviews

The Gym to Get Cost-Effective Membership

  • Dec 18, 2008
Rating:
+4
During this economic crunch, I'm appreciating my membership at 24 Fitness so much more.  A yearly membership at my local yoga, dance and martial arts studio cost around $1500, and individual classes run from $10-$15, which isn't very cost-effective at this time of recession.  However, a 4-5 year membership at 24 only costs around $600, and each year thereafter can be as low as $10 (I pay $30 and know people who pay up to $100), depending on the specific plan and how much was paid up front.  For those who don't want to pay a lumpsum up front, monthly membership fees run from $24.  Still a good deal.

Where I live in the Bay Area, 24's are abundant, and with my certain membership, I can go gym-hopping wherever I want.  Heck, I can even work out in other countries.  24 is affiliated with several other gyms, so I can go to California Fitness gyms in Hong Kong and Taiwan.  How awesome is that? 

All the 24's that I've been to are pretty large with many machines, and some of the really big ones have saunas, pools, basketball courts and aerobics rooms.  24 has a really high standard for cleanliness, so they are always very neat and orderly, and for the germophobes, there are paper towels and antibacterial spray available throughout the gym to wipe down equipment.  Most 24's offer personal trainers to their members for a fee.  I've had a few sessions and learned what I needed to do to acheive my fitness goals.  Some 24's also have free classes for their members, including swimming, biking, ab floorwork, and my favorite, yoga.  Sure, it isn't as spiritual or specialized as my yoga studio, but at the low cost of FREE, I think I'll survive :)

The only thing that irks me about 24? Not all of their gyms are actually open 24 hours.  Misnomer much?
24 Hour Fitness

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
January 11, 2011
I've always wanted to try this gym out. I've heard good things about it. Unfortunately, there's only small gyms where I live. Oh well. Maybe someday. :) Great review, Debbie!
January 11, 2011
Hopefully they'll expand to where you are! Thanks for reading, Adrianna :)
January 11, 2011
Probably not. The area where I live is very good at keeping out the big businesses. They support the local businesses.
 
March 26, 2010
Yep, 24 is the best-value gym out there, especially for people like me who barely ever make it there! Back in the day when the economy was actually functioning and people had jobs, I used to belong to Equinox and occasionally visit steakhouses. Now in the new economic reality its 24 and P F Chang's all the way - but 24 is comparatively better than Chang's if it's possible to compare gyms and chinese food.
March 26, 2010
James, only you can compare Chinese food to a gym.  I wouldn't  know the comparison though since I've never been to a P.F. Chang's before :P  Yes, 24 is definitely a best-bang-for-your-buck gym.  When I start making enough moolah, I may just switch to Equinox for the great classes and luxurious locker room products :)
March 26, 2010
I can also compare burgers to Blockbuster Video and skydiving to the hotdog stand outside of Home Depot. :-) Equinox was definitely luxurious... those were the days when I didn't have to squeeze together small leftovers from bars of soap, and steal bandwidth from my neighbor's open wireless.
March 26, 2010
LOL, I've never done either of those things before *shifty eyes*
 
March 26, 2010
Wow, that is a gym with a lot of great features. I bet that is a popular place.
March 26, 2010
It is! It's really crowded from between 4 AM to midnight. Thank goodness it's open 24 hours and that I'm nocturnal :P
 
October 19, 2009
I'll have to look into this...I've been needing some exercise lately! Thanks for another great review!
October 19, 2009
My pleasure. For your fitness, this is totally worth it! Especially if you plan on living where there are 24 Hour Fitness gyms for a while. Thanks for you comment, Melissa! :)
 
October 19, 2009
That's nice. Have you actually used your membership abroad and it worked? I just came back after passing through Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Singapore and saw those clubs, even did a trial in one. Didn't even know about their affiliation... oh well, next time I guess.
October 19, 2009
I've never actually tried using my membership abroad before since I've always stayed in hotels with gyms. I've definitely seen the 24 Hour Fitness logo at some gyms abroad and I'm going to have to ask my gym rep how that works! Thanks for your comment, William! :)
 
1
More 24 Hour Fitness reviews
review by . July 19, 2010
Last May, I began looking at different options for gyms to go to. For a year, I was paying monthly to keep my membership at the gym at the college I graduated from. But as I began to notice, what I was paying was not what you would consider an alumni benefit. And as much as I loved having a reason to keep going back to Loyola Marymount, I had to go out of my way to make the most of my gym that had only a single location, not to mention the student hours that were growing more and more inconvenient.    …
review by . May 19, 2009
In a bizarre and frankly strange twist of fate, a new contracting job I have requires me to go to the gym. I went into a technology career with a strict understanding that fitness would never appear on my resume, but I'm going the extra mile (or 30 a week) for this one. I do actually feel healthier though every muscle in my body now hurts.  The gym business is very weird. Near me, there are only a handful of alternatives:   Bay Club: $700 joining fees and $100-ish/month. Some …
review by . August 03, 2004
Pros: lots of equipment color coded for sections, 30 minute workout area, pool,      Cons: no parking lot, walls are bare, employee uniforms are dull, no childcare     The Bottom Line: Working out is a good thing for anyone at whatever age. The equipment functions with an easy atmosphere.     Earlier in the year I waited in line at the Discovery Store for the Fitness Challenge they were promoting along with Bally's Total Fitness. I did …
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

24 Hour Fitness is the world's largest (by memberships) privately owned and operated fitness center chain, and 3rd in number of clubs behind Gold's Gym and Fitness First of the UK. It currently has 425 clubs in the U.S.A. The company's corporate office is located in Carlsbad, California. The operations' headquarters is in San Ramon, California in the Bay area. 24 Hour Fitness has over 19,000 employees. The founder is Mark S. Mastrov and current CEO is Carl Liebert III. 24 Hour Fitness is currently a subsidiary of the private equity firm Forstmann Little & Company, since its acquisition in a $1.6 billion leveraged buyout in 2005.

Club Levels

24 Hour Fitness currently has 6 levels of Clubs: Fit-Lite, Express, Active, Sport, Super-Sport, and Ultra-Sport. In addition 24 Hour Fitness has signature clubs with Andre Agassi, Lance Armstrong, Magic Johnson, and Shaquille O'Neal, as well as Jackie Chan and Yao Ming in its clubs in Asia.

Ultra-Sport

Generally over 100,000+ Square Feet Amenities include Cardio Equipment, Free Weights, Group X Room, Kid's Club, Basketball Court, Pool, Tanning, Executive Lockers, Massage, Racquetball Club, Rock Climbing and Volleyball. There is only 1 open Ultra-Sport level club, located in Irvine, California. The Second Ultra-Sport level club is coming to New York City, New York on 31 August 2008, and the third is planned for Northern Colorado in 2009.

Super-Sport

Generally over 50,000+ Square Feet, Cardio Equipment, ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists