|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » 82nd Academy Awards » User review

82nd Academy Awards

A awards ceremony to honor excellence in the films of 2009 that took place on March 7, 2010.

< read all 10 reviews

DalyDose of...Oscar

  • Mar 8, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-1
The Oscar TrophyOK, I can’t really “review” the Oscar’s b/c I don’t watch that stuff.  It is long, boring and I really don’t care what people are wearing or what political comments they have to spew.  That being said, I do have thoughts.
  • The first award of the night went to a Christopher Waltz.  I remember telling a friend of mine that watching him was like viewing an acting lesson in the middle of a film.  I don’t wanna toot my own horn (well, maybe I do), but I did predict this award publicly on August 12, 2009.  Yes, you can read it in my Lunch.com review of Inglorious Basterds
  • My favorite documentary and one of my favorite films of any genre in 2010 won for Best Documentary.  I didn’t predict it, but I sure gave it a grand review.  Check out my Lunch.com review of The Cove
  • I was UPSET at how difficult it was to get away from the Oscars.  I moseyed on down to Barney’s Beanery hoping to get a meal with some sporting action going on.  What was ON the TV’s in my neighborhood bar & grill?  You guessed it, the Oscars and I was just in time to see the awkward Ben Stiller as Avatar ‘bit’.  I had to walk out.
  • I was glad to see Hurt Locker win so much hardware.  I really liked that film and not just because it was military based.  I think the performances and the way it was shot had a documentary feel that took people into the situations and gave a feeling of experiencing just a taste of what that life is really like.  That’s great filmmaking to me.  Oh yeah, that whole first female director thing too, but I’m more impressed with how well the film was directed than I am with the gender of the director.
  • I have a question.  How come it’s OK for the Oscars to hire comedic actors to host the show and entertain the audience and viewers, but it’s not OK for them to…uh…you know…actually WIN an Oscar?  Are you telling me that when the roster of “Best Films” is expanded to TEN films that The Hangover doesn’t make that list?  REALLY?  I think the host should reflect the attitude of the event.  Get that James Lipton guy up there to be all serious and dramatic and tell them all how amazing and universally loved they are.  (Come to think about it, that would actually be pretty great!)
  • OMG, Sandra Bullock was so gracious and beautiful and Sarah Jessica Parker’s dress was AMAZING.  Thank you Twitter. ROFLMAO j/k
  • Mo'Nique won Best Supporting actress.  SEE??? A comedic force has to play gutter ghetto to get Academy attention.  I’m happy for her, but I still was a bit bitter from years ago when I was trying to enjoy a meal at Benihana and she was there with her entourage and they were LOUD and distracting.  At least now I can say I was once annoyed by an eventual Oscar winner!
  • I have to wonder how James Cameron feels this morning.  He spent so much (of other people’s) money on Avatar and it grossed insane amounts more and he loses the big awards (Film, Director) to his ex…whose “Hurt Locker” won more total Oscars as well.

That’s it…that’s all I have to say about the Oscars.  I am so glad that “award season” is over and all of the Hollywood types can get back to being creative.  I think I might just exercise extreme hypocrisy and go write a motivation Oscar acceptance speech for myself. 

Oh yeah, if anyone knows where one can see all of the short films that were nominated, I’d love to hear it.
 
EDIT:  OK, I have one more thing to add that was just brought to my attention.  The Oscars in all of their arrogance...er...wisdom, they left Farrah Fawcett and Bea Arthur out of "In Memorium" section of the show.  In Farrah's case, it is assumed that it was because she was known more as a TV actress, but she was in Cannonball Run and The Apostle.  Those two off the top of my head are more than Michael Jackson's one appearance in The Wiz...he was listed.  I'm not saying that MJ didn't deserve it, but certainly they made a mistake leaving out Farrah. Don't even get me started on them leaving Bea Arthur out. 

The Academy had a lame explanation.  I am not even going to retype it, read it
HERE or Google and read the outrageous arrogance for yourself.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
March 09, 2010
nice review, I didn't watch the show either but it seems like I didn't miss much judging from your review. Cameron won't be winning much because the distributor rubbed the Oscar organizers the wrong way (I think the only fantasy movie that ever won Best Picture was Return of the King). I liked HURT LOCKER, I didn't mind it winning. Hm, seems like you're right comedies are mostly being ignored. (save for AS GOOD AS IT GETS)
 
March 09, 2010
OK, I had to go back in and add a bit of important info about the show's "In Memoriam" section. Crazy.
 
March 09, 2010
So long and so boring! The whole time I was watching it, I really just wanted it to be over. What was with George Clooney? Wasn't he acting totally bizarre?? Thanks for the write-up. Nice to know someone else was thinking the same things!
March 09, 2010
I think we think alike quite often! :)
 
March 08, 2010
I pretty much agree with you on every point... nice run down for someone who didn't watch the show ;)
March 09, 2010
Thanks! Glad we can agree on such a divisive topic. ha ha
 
March 08, 2010
Thanks for giving me my Daly Dose today!  And for the Oscars of all topics! :)  I didn't catch either as I don't do award shows, but you're right, it was really hard to avoid.  It was all over twitter, and the restaurant that I went to last night was packed with people, probably ordering take out to watch it at home.  Congrats on your prediction though, and did you hear about how Sandra Bullock collected her Razzie in person right before this?  Awesomeness! :)
March 09, 2010
No problem! :) I did not hear about the Sandy Razzie, but that's funny. What I did hear about was the Farrah Fawcett and Bea Arthur snub in the obit and it p'd me off so much I had to edit my review! Grrr.
March 09, 2010
I heard about the Farrah Fawcett and Bea Arthur thing, too. Bea Arthur, I understood, because she was more of a TV person and she got honored at the Emmy's, but Farrah Fawcett was a friggin' icon AND she had been in movies! Totally unbelievable.
 
1
More 82nd Academy Awards reviews
review by . March 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Countdown to the Oscars
It’ll be party time this weekend in L.A. at the Kodak Theater. The superstars are all getting ready to attend the biggest party of the year in Hollywood and everyone is counting down to the big event. Less than 2 days to go! I couldn’t help but get caught up in the excitement too! Who will win the Oscars? Avatar?! Well, my hope, that is. But as we all know it, at times the underdog stages the biggest surprises! So, just can’t wait for the moment the name is being announced! Before …
review by . March 08, 2010
The 82nd Academy Awards Take a Step in the Wrong Direction...
From the minute Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin opened their mouths, I could tell I was going to miss last year's host, Hugh Jackman.  The things that came out of the two hosts mouths were not very good and a little to tongue and cheek.  It wasn't organic at all and both comedians both sounded like they wanted to be doing something else.  Before the two even hit the stage Neil Patrick Harris opened the show with a musical number and I couldn't help but wonder, why wasn't he hosting …
review by . March 08, 2010
   I usually do my best to avoid these self-congratulating spectacles for people that really don't provide any real value to our nation other than employing a small portion of the population.  I happened to be sitting talking with my family and they had the show on.  I could not avoid watching this show.  I found that this show did not have the flair and pomp of the normal shows but dealt more along the human interest stories of those that were in the running.   …
review by . March 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I'm actually someone who enjoys watching the Academy Awards.  Although for very different reasons.  The first time I watched was in 1998 and I watched as the Academy Awards went through strange fluxuations throughout the years.  The Oscar are as polarizing as they are enjoyable.  The reason they're polarizing is mostly due to the fact that people don't sit back and enjoy the game.  People love to bitch, but they don't like to sit back and look at what it is they …
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
Too long, boring, no rapport between the hosts, not entertaining. Its future? Will go pay per view or the internet!
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
How did they not include Farrah Fawcett? Then they claim Farrah was television (she actually made several films) but the include M. Jackson
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
HORRIBLE snub of Farrah Fawcett and Bea Arthur.
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The time has not come for the 1st Lady President but it has certainly come for the 1st Lady Best Director! Awesome!
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
Counting down ... how many awards will Avatar win? Will it be the best picture of the year? Anxious!
About the reviewer
Jeff Daly ()
Ranked #47
Member Since: Jul 13, 2009
Last Login: Mar 4, 2013 03:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dalydose
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 82nd Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, honored the best films of 2009 and took place March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California beginning at 5:30 p.m. PST/8:30 p.m. EST (01:30 UTC, March 8). The ceremony was scheduled from its usual late February date to avoid coinciding with the 2010 Winter Olympics.  The Academy Awards ceremony was televised in the United States on ABC. Actors Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin hosted the show. Martin hosted for the third time, after previously presiding over the 73rd and 75th ceremonies, while Baldwin hosted the show for the first time. This was the first telecast to have multiple hosts since the 59th ceremony.  However, announcer Gina Tuttle did a majority of the presenter introductions. In fact, this was the seventh year in a row the announcer introduced the Best Picture presenter (which turned out to be Tom Hanks).

On February 20, 2010, in a ceremony at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, the Academy Awards for Technical Achievement were presented by host Elizabeth Banks.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists