|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

American Airlines Bankruptcy Filing

An event that occurred on November 29, 2011.

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by devora

  • Nov 30, 2011
Not a huge fan of American Airlines (see my review), but it's still sad to see a business struggling.  Hope that with this filing, they'll come back better and stronger, but in this economy, it's hard to tell what's going to happen.
Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
November 30, 2011
a lot of airlines are struggling these days because of the economy, and then, once they try to pin fees, it further discourages travelling.
November 30, 2011
Very true. I definitely don't fly as much as I use to because of the rising cost of gas and thus plane tickets.
 
November 30, 2011
What? Really? Wow, I had no idea that they were declaring bankruptcy. Guess I better use my miles now.
November 30, 2011
Yup, sad. They haven't canceled any flights and are still honoring existing purchases.  If it's an consolation, they sent me this email yesterday:



Dear AAdvantage® Member,

As you may know, on Tuesday, November 29, American Airlines filed for reorganization under Chapter 11. We took this action as part of our efforts to secure our long-term success in delivering the highest standards in air travel. We are committed to meeting your travel needs with outstanding customer service and safety, and it will be business as usual at American throughout our reorganization process. More than 80,000 people at American appreciate your loyalty and look forward to continuing to serve you.

We want to assure you that your AAdvantage® miles are secure. The AAdvantage miles that you've earned are yours and will stay yours, subject to usual policies, until you choose to redeem them for a great award with us. Likewise, your elite qualifying miles and your elite status, including lifetime status granted under the Million MilerSM program is secure and remains intact. You will continue to earn miles through all our existing AAdvantage participating companies and you will be able to redeem those miles for the same great awards — flights, upgrades, car rentals and hotels just to name a few. And, throughout the coming year, we will be adding even more opportunities to earn miles, as well as new ways to redeem those miles.

American is honoring all tickets and reservations as usual, and making normal refunds and exchanges. And, we intend to maintain a strong presence in domestic and international markets. As we and all airlines routinely do, we will continue to evaluate our operations and service, assuring that our network is as efficient and productive as possible. Additionally, relationships with our oneworld Alliance and other codeshare partners are continuing to provide you with opportunities to earn and redeem miles for travel to hundreds of destinations worldwide, and we are honoring all tickets and reservations for travel on our partner airlines as usual. For information about American's reorganization process, please visit AA.com/restructuring.

Even more importantly, we remain committed to providing a superior customer experience with a focus on delivering what our customers value most — the newest fleet with our upcoming aircraft deliveries, network strength in the important cities of the world and world-class products, service and technology.

American Airlines has a proud history, and we will have a successful future. All of us on the American team thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you aboard soon.

Sincerely,

Maya Leibman
Maya Leibman
President — AAdvantage Loyalty Program
November 30, 2011
Cool, thanks for copying the letter for me! I don't understand how Bankruptcy works so I thought it meant the business was going to go out of business. I guess it just wipes the debt slate clean and damages your credit for future borrowing? This was super helpful!
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

On November 29, 2011 AMR Corporation filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection. The decision comes as the airline tries to "achieve a cost and debt structure that is industry competitive and thereby assure its long-term viability and ability to continue delivering a world-class travel experience for its customers," the company said in a statement. American Airlines stated that despite the filing it was continuing normal operations. Analysts have speculated that following bankruptcy American is likely to merge with US Airways being the likely candidate.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists