|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » Andre Dawson » User review

Andre Dawson

A former Major League Baseball outfielder who was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame on January 6, 2010.

< read all 2 reviews

He was a really good ballplayer but not an all-time great!

  • Jan 6, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+1
I saw Andre Dawson play and relooked at his stats today and though he was a really good ballplayer, I see no reason for the hoopla to get him in the Hall of Fame.  He does have pretty good power numbers but his .279 average is pretty light for an outfielder.  I don't think he ever made the postseason even though he played most of his career with weak teams Expos/Cubs.  I do not feel he was dominant enough in his era to get in.  How come someone like Steve Garvey, Don Mattingly and Keith Hernandez all of whom were far more dominant during their careers and all had good post season numbers and all were gold glovers and none of those three were ever considered?

I find the whole voting system disgraceful.  Pitchers like Bert Blyleven and Jack Morris can't get in but a weak hitter like Bill Mazoraski got in (yeah he hit the homer that won the 1960 series but so what?).

Dawson was an excellent player in his time and an all-star several years but put him alongside Mays, Aaron, Dimaggio, Mantle and some of the other great outfielders of all-time?  No way! 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
19
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
January 07, 2010
Blyleven is still being punished by the press for his poor relationship with them. He definitely deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. Having the press do the voting provides them with a power that they have obviously abused. Maybe next year . . .
January 07, 2010
Right. He was obviously way better than Don Sutton who is in there. As he was so close this year, he should easily get in next year. It is a mystery to me why there was little or no support for Keith Hernandez and Don Mattingly, clearly the most dominating first basemen of their era and two of the best defensively of all time. Writers seem to have a stigma against NY when they vote too. They need to do something to make the election process free of personal bias.
 
January 07, 2010
I agree with you completely. When Dawson was with the Expos I used to attend lots of Expos games in Montreal. Terrific player but not quite Hall of Fame caliber. I think there are several players who are in the Hall that should not be there. At the top of my list is Willie Stargell.
January 07, 2010
Stargell was a more feared hitter than Dawson and he did help the Pirates win two World Series. The Pirates of the early seventies had an amazing lineup but when they played the Mets with Seaver, Koosman, Gentry and later Matlack the one guy they feared to pitch to was Stargell. Maybe only Willie McCovey generated more fear.
 
January 06, 2010
How is Steve Garvey not in the hall of fame? If you look at his numbers, its an absolute travesty that he's not in. Good lord. If Garvey had a cool nickname like "the Hawk" he'd be in for sure.
January 07, 2010
Garvey was clearly the dominant first baseman of his era and led the Dodgers and Padres to pennants. He was not a popular guy with the writers so he didn't come close to getting in. The whole voting system is a sham.
January 12, 2010
The thing that I think should put Garvey in is his playoff numbers. The guy was as clutch as it gets in big games. That gets totally overlooked when you look at career numbers.
 
January 06, 2010
I'm not a huge baseball person, but when this news came out, I only read reports praising him, so it's very interesting to see another baseball fan's perspective on it.  There's plenty of time for the others to get in the BHOF! :)
 
January 06, 2010
I am glad he got in, but I do see your point. He was a great player in his prime though. He wasn't a particularly choosy hitter, which hurt his numbers a great deal. Hawk was notorious at swinging at a 3-1 pitch which seemed to be a definite walk. His OBP suffered immensely because of this. It is ,however, unfair to try and view his numbers with todays. HIs triple crown seems just like a decent season by todays standards (.299 average, 32 homers,113 RBI). He was also a very good outfielder which people seem to forget. Is it debatable yes, but did they get it right, I believe so.
 
1
More Andre Dawson reviews
review by . January 08, 2010
Did he get any better since the last time they voted?
One of the things I don't like about the Baseball Hall of Fame is all the politics behind the selection.  For one thing I'm glad that only a very select few make it into Cooperstown but I can't stand all of these fringe players who have to campaign themselves in.  People like Gary Carter and such who did their best to sway sportswriters to vote them in.  Grant it, Dawson in his prime put up some impressive numbers (such as 400 HRs-300 SBs, hitting for the cycle) but it's called the …
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Andre Nolan Dawson (born July 10, 1954 in Miami, Florida), nicknamed "The Hawk", is a former Major League Baseball outfielder who played for four teams from 1976 to 1996, spending most of his career with the Montreal Expos (1976–1986) and Chicago Cubs (1987–1992). On January 6, 2010 Dawson was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame, and he will be enshrined on July 25, 2010.

An 8-time National League (NL) All-Star, he was named the league's Rookie of the Year in 1977 after batting .282 with 19 home runs and 65 runs batted in (RBI), and won the Most Valuable Player Award in 1987 after leading the league with 49 homers and 137 RBI; he had been runner-up for the award in both 1981 and 1983. He batted .300 five times, drove in 100 runs four times and had 13 seasons of 20 home runs. A strong baserunner early in his career, he also stole 30 bases three times, and in 1993 joined Willie Mays as the second major league player to hit 400 home runs and steal 300 bases.

Dawson was an excellent center fielder until knee problems – worsened by the artificial surface at Olympic Stadium – forced his shift to right field, followed by his move to a team which played on grass. He led the NL in outfield putouts three consecutive years (1981–1983), and won eight Gold Glove Awards for fielding excellence. Upon his retirement, his NL totals of 409 home runs and 962 extra base hits both ranked tenth in league history; he also ranked seventh in NL history in ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists