|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Pets » Reviews » Animal Shelter Pets » User review

Adopt Me Puppy

Homeless, lost or abandoned animals in Shelters - October is adopt-a-pet month

< read all 13 reviews

There's a cat or dog just right for you at your local animal shelter.

  • Oct 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Did you know that October is Adopt-A-Pet month?  If you have never adopted an animal from your local animal shelter then you are missing out on one of the most rewarding experiences you will ever have. 

About a year and a half ago we had to put down our cat following complications from dental surgery.  We were heartbroken and as you might expect our initial reaction was that we did not want another cat.  But about a week later a woman at work told me about a website called petfinder.com.  I reluctantly went online and within minutes I found a cat at the city pound that looked an awful lot like the all white cat "Sugar" that we had just lost.   I e-mailed the photo and description of this cat to my wife and before the day was out were the happy owners of a new cat.  According to the online description this cat was a one year old male.  The ad mentioned that the cat known at the pound as "Snowball" had been there for four months was "very lovable" and "could not understand why nobody chose him to take home".  This fact tugged at our heartstrings and was one of the main reasons why we ultimately selected him.  The city pound charged us $10.00 for the cat and we had to agree to take him to a local vet to for shots and to be neutered if necessary.  That would cost around $60 or $70 but we were OK with that.  There is nothing quite as satisfying as liberating an animal from a 2" x 5' cage.  This cat was quite active and seemed to get into everything when we got him home so we named him "Rascal"

Several weeks later we took the cat to the vet as agreed and were surprised to learn that this was actually a two year old female who had already been spayed!  Seems like the shelter had it all wrong but by now we did not even care.  "Rascal" had settled into our home and our lives and has been a barrel of fun ever since.  And in this case we found that the name "Rascal" was just as appropriate for a female cat. We would do the same thing all over again if we ever find ourselves in a similar situation.

I guess the moral of this story is that if you have never considered adopting an animal from a shelter you should seriously consider it.  The supply of homeless animals seems to be an ongoing problem that you can help to solve.  Again, rescuing a pet is one of the most satisfying things you will ever do. Since October is Adopt-A -Pet -Month this would be ideal time to bring one of these lovable creatures into your home. You won't regret it!
Rascal

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
December 21, 2009
I'm glad that you are advocating adopting shelter pets. That's a wonderful way to utilize Lunch's potential.
 
October 29, 2009
I didn't know I participated in Adopt-A-Pet-Month! I adopted a puppy from a shelter last week. I kind of had the similar experience as you, in that the puppy is female, but named Harold. LOL. She is lovely.
 
October 09, 2009
You know I couldn't not love this review :) well written and wonderful to read - thanks for giving the furry little homeless guys a voice! I know how rewarding it is to save a pet from the shelter and hopefully this month will inspire more people to do so :) My sister actually rescued a puppy just the other weekend and she's a doll! Rascal is a cutie and she'll love you forever for getting her out of the 2' x 5'!
 
1
More Animal Shelter Pets reviews
review by . June 18, 2009
posted in Life with Dogs
I was fresh into my move to California, when taking a break from job hunting, began spending some time in the pet section on Craigslist. Minutes later I came across a post with the 3 cutest little faces I had ever seen, and a title that read "Kittens need foster home or they will be Euthanized by 7pm tonight…" It was 5pm, I wasn't sure I even liked cats, nor had I ever imagined owning one, but something in me couldn't resist responding… And so, here are my foster …
review by . April 10, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
The Gift of Shelter Dogs
Both of my dogs are shelter dogs.  One is probably a purebred field lab, and the other is a border collie- and-something mix (if I had to guess, I'd say she's a breed like a flatcoat retriever.)  I'm convinced that my two $80 dogs are the best thing I've ever spent money on.  They have, quite literally, changed my life in wholly unexpected ways, since I had never had a dog before.      I adopted my lab (China) first and the intense learning curve began.  She …
review by . October 29, 2009
posted in Life with Dogs
My new joy in life is from the shelter
I had no idea October is Adopt-A-Pet-Month.  What a coincidence that I adopted a 6 months old puppy last week from Southeast Animal Control shelter in Downey, CA.       It was totally a chance that I ended up adopting my puppy.  Long story, but a lot of things were in play.  Maybe this is what we call fate.  I was very hesitant to get a dog because of  our work schedule and neither my husband nor I had any dogs before.      I went …
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
Both of my dogs are shelter dogs -- they're the best! Yes, sometimes they have issues, but they're so worth it!
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2009
I love my kitten Potato that we rescued from CatManDoo! Also, my angel Kitty, the stray I adopted from the Humane Society when I was 12!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2009
October is a busy month- Domestic Violence, Breast Cancer and Adopt-A-Pet! It's better than buying a pet at a store and you save a life!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2009
This review is about Adopt-a-Pet Month. We are free to give our time and money to whatever we want and it should stay that way.
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2009
All creatures are important in the universe. Adopt a shelter pet!
Quick Tip by . October 10, 2009
I agree with Val...animals need to be protected, but children do come first..enough with the pedicures for pets- feed the children first!
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2009
Please think adoption first!! We've adopted all our hamsters and rats! They've brought so much joy to our lives!
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

An animal in a shelter facility that houses homeless, lost or abandoned animals; primarily a large variety of dogs and cats. These animals are kept at the shelter until they are either reclaimed by an owner, adopted to a new owner or placed with another organization.
view wiki

Tags

Pets, Dogs, Cats, Animal Rescue, Shelters, Animal Shelters

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists