|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Pets » Reviews » Animal Shelter Pets » User review

Adopt Me Puppy

Homeless, lost or abandoned animals in Shelters - October is adopt-a-pet month

< read all 13 reviews

My new joy in life is from the shelter

  • Oct 29, 2009
Rating:
+5
I had no idea October is Adopt-A-Pet-Month.  What a coincidence that I adopted a 6 months old puppy last week from Southeast Animal Control shelter in Downey, CA.

It was totally a chance that I ended up adopting my puppy.  Long story, but a lot of things were in play.  Maybe this is what we call fate.  I was very hesitant to get a dog because of  our work schedule and neither my husband nor I had any dogs before.

I went to Downey shelter looking for a Golden Retriever that I saw on petfinder.com.  However, I wasn't able to find that dog.  Instead, this cute border collie mix licked my hand and turned her body against the fence as if she wanted me to pet her.  She totally melted my heart and gave me courage to make the decision to bring her home.

She had been spayed the day before, so I was able to take her home the same day.  $100 covered spaying and vaccines.  They also armed me with a puppy training DVD and a small bag of dog food.

I have to admit Cara is a handful.  She needs a lot of attention, training and need to be cared for.  She keeps my husband and me awake at night and already chewed up my slippers and shoe laces.  But when I look at her puppy eyes or her sleeping soundly, I can't help smiling.  And knowing that such a beautiful puppy was rescued from the shelter makes me feel great.  I get so many compliments when I walk her.

I agree with other reviewers that adopting a pet from the shelter is truly rewarding experience.
My new joy in life is from the shelter

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
November 30, 2009
Soo cute!! Congrats on the new pup :) and way to support adopt-a-dog month!! Hope you are enjoying her!
 
November 14, 2009
I adopted and have volunteered on many occasions to the New York animal care and control ,I've rallied and created union!im glad to see that your adopting and being active in spreading awareness! :D<3
 
October 29, 2009
I'm so happy for you and your husband. Dogs are such great pets. Good luck on the training...I know what you're going through! :)
October 29, 2009
Thanks. It is truly a learning experience. Trying to read what the puppy is thinking is an interesting and challenging task, but it's fun. She is learning fast though, almost to a point she is trying to out smart me. LOL.
 
October 29, 2009
Congrats! She is so adorable : )
October 29, 2009
Thank you! Not as cute as your girl though. :-)
 
October 29, 2009
Awwww, Cara is adorable! Congrats on the new furry addition to your family! :)
October 29, 2009
Thank you!
 
October 29, 2009
Best of luck with Cara. Perhaps your testimony will encourage others to do the same.
October 29, 2009
Thanks! I was quite surprised to find out there are many adopted dogs. I think about 30% of the people I met while walking Cara have also adopted their dogs. It's awesome!
 
1
More Animal Shelter Pets reviews
review by . June 18, 2009
posted in Life with Dogs
I was fresh into my move to California, when taking a break from job hunting, began spending some time in the pet section on Craigslist. Minutes later I came across a post with the 3 cutest little faces I had ever seen, and a title that read "Kittens need foster home or they will be Euthanized by 7pm tonight…" It was 5pm, I wasn't sure I even liked cats, nor had I ever imagined owning one, but something in me couldn't resist responding… And so, here are my foster …
review by . April 10, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
The Gift of Shelter Dogs
Both of my dogs are shelter dogs.  One is probably a purebred field lab, and the other is a border collie- and-something mix (if I had to guess, I'd say she's a breed like a flatcoat retriever.)  I'm convinced that my two $80 dogs are the best thing I've ever spent money on.  They have, quite literally, changed my life in wholly unexpected ways, since I had never had a dog before.      I adopted my lab (China) first and the intense learning curve began.  She …
review by . October 09, 2009
Rascal
Did you know that October is Adopt-A-Pet month?  If you have never adopted an animal from your local animal shelter then you are missing out on one of the most rewarding experiences you will ever have.       About a year and a half ago we had to put down our cat following complications from dental surgery.  We were heartbroken and as you might expect our initial reaction was that we did not want another cat.  But about a week later …
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
Both of my dogs are shelter dogs -- they're the best! Yes, sometimes they have issues, but they're so worth it!
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2009
I love my kitten Potato that we rescued from CatManDoo! Also, my angel Kitty, the stray I adopted from the Humane Society when I was 12!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2009
October is a busy month- Domestic Violence, Breast Cancer and Adopt-A-Pet! It's better than buying a pet at a store and you save a life!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2009
This review is about Adopt-a-Pet Month. We are free to give our time and money to whatever we want and it should stay that way.
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2009
All creatures are important in the universe. Adopt a shelter pet!
Quick Tip by . October 10, 2009
I agree with Val...animals need to be protected, but children do come first..enough with the pedicures for pets- feed the children first!
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2009
Please think adoption first!! We've adopted all our hamsters and rats! They've brought so much joy to our lives!
About the reviewer
Jennifer ()
Ranked #114
On my spare time, I love to see and experience new things; hence traveling and eating are one of my favorite things to do. I like abstract art (love Mark Rothko's works), classical music, interior design, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jyaanga
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

An animal in a shelter facility that houses homeless, lost or abandoned animals; primarily a large variety of dogs and cats. These animals are kept at the shelter until they are either reclaimed by an owner, adopted to a new owner or placed with another organization.
view wiki

Tags

Pets, Dogs, Cats, Animal Rescue, Shelters, Animal Shelters

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists