|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Antivalentines Day » Reviews » Anti-Valentine's Day » User review

VD Strikes: Part II

  • Feb 15, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3

Let’s keep this short-

 

I am so bored of people using love as an excuse. And even more so of a manufactured holiday reminding the world over and over again of it.  Nothing has changed, I still liken Valentine’s Day as VD because Venereal Diseases hurt, can cause awful sores in your skin, ache thru muscle and bone and can cause death just like love.

 

Also, stop tossing around soul mate. FYI: You must work for it. Your "soul-mate" isn't in your zip code shopping at the local grocery store. Soul mates are rare like a unicorn or a gay car mechanic. I blame Twilight. But then again I blame Twilight for a lot of things.

 

I love you, I love you, I love you; Blah! I love you is eight letters long just like the word, ‘bullshit’.

 

Too harsh? OK, maybe, just maybe, it’s something you grow into, like say olives, hummus or tomato juice without vodka. I guess time will tell. But between you and me, I doubt it.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
February 15, 2010
Innocent children that exchange cards are just being taught by mis-guided parents. It is the same thing Disney has done to many women. Sitting around waiting for some prince to either save them and/or sweep them away. Sad. Glad all those in love love each other, seriously. Good for them. Just let's not pretend a forced faux day "reminds" us. (Maybe I've misunderstood the ratings. I thought I was judging my feelings. And VD makes me feel in the minus.)
February 15, 2010
Yes, dear.  I added some wiki data.  I also made a list of games and a couple of websites that children can use to have some fun.  Kids aren't like adults -- majority look at Valentines as a day to have some fun.  Misguided and cynical?  Not really.  I have great memories of being a kid passing cards around.  We knew it was just a game.
February 17, 2010
"Who could refrain that had a heart to love and in that heart courage to make love known?" - W. Shakespeare : )
 
February 15, 2010
I like that children with their innocence exchange cards. I still do the same with my female friends. Today I saw many couples downtown and at the movies -- of course they didn't need Feb 14 to revel in each others company but it sure didn't hurt. Bitter reviews equal no thumbs friend. Hope you change your mind next year.  I don't understand why minus 3.  You're SUPPORTING the Anti Valentines' Day movement yet are giving the same negatives. 
 
1
More Anti-Valentine's Day reviews
review by . February 15, 2010
In all honesty, I've never seen Valentine's Day as this sort of "Soul Mate" kind of stuff or any of that lubby dubby stuff either.  I happen to like Valentine's Day for other reasons and this is coming from someone who has only had a Valentine (or "someone") twice in his life.  Both times in high school, one time a horrible experience.  But "Anti Valentine's Day," seems more like a bitter high school student's dream.        …
Quick Tip by . February 15, 2010
The anti-Valentines day crowd are a bitter bunch. Anti VDay is just as commercialized as V-Day. Ironic, huh? LOL!
About the reviewer
E. Brown ()
Ranked #262
Member Since: Feb 10, 2009
Last Login: Sep 8, 2010 09:57 PM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

Anti-Valentine’s Day Sentimentality

Anti-Valentine’s Day is the love child of two powerful dynamics, (1) a discontent over being bereft on a holiday celebrating coupling (whether the discontent is generated by an unrequited longing for romance or by the perception that single people are considered deficient or pitiful in this culture) and (2) a revolt against the commercial and arbitrary nature of the Valentine’s Day holiday.

When those two forces hooked up, they produced a particularly feisty progeny.

anticupid

The description in this excerpt from Be My Anti-Valentine: Rallying Against Cupid’s Corruption by Rebecca Lazarenko1 is representative:

Customarily reserved for bitter singles and broken hearts, anti-Valentine’s Day sentiments are slowly being echoed by everyone from the voluntarily unattached to the happily married.

Anti-Valentine’s Day and the newly created Singles Awareness Day are following in the footsteps of anti-commercialism giants like Buy Nothing Day and D-I-Y Christmas. The out-of-nowhere attack of these un-holidays is hitting corporations where it hurts the most – espousing the existence of inherent narcissism in such red-letter days and attempting to reverse their ever-broadening commercial appeal.

The movement has divided itself into two consequential occasions: Singles Awareness Day and Anti-Valentines Day – both conveniently falling on Feb. 14.

“The exact founding of Singles Awareness Day is unknown,” ...

view wiki

Tags

Broken Hearts, Antivalentines Day, Soul Mate, Bitter Singles

Details

First to Review

"VD Strikes: Part II"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists