|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Barnes & Noble Nook » User review

nook

An electronic book reader developed by Barnes & Noble and based on the Android platform.

< read all 8 reviews

I love my nook

  • Apr 5, 2010
Rating:
+4
How I feel about the nook:  I love to read using my nook. 

The pros: I have had it about 2 months now and I can say that I am reading more now than I did before purchasing the nook.  It is light, reliable, and easy to carry around.  Purchasing books through the wireless 3G is a snap.  Most of the books I purchase and read on it are what I call "give-away books", meaning books I will read once and would not want to keep in my physical library. I also have subscriptions to the L.A. Times, The New Yorker, and Foreign Affairs.  The e-ink display is very easy on the eyes.  There is an audio player, but I have not used this because I usually have my iPod with me.

The cons: The nook is great for this content, but not so great with the art and other graphics that might accompary an article.  Also, Barnes and Noble is fairly limited in regards to magazine content at this time.  I would give the device a +5 if there was more magazine content available and if graphics were rendered better (some books have several pictures in them, but the ebook edition leaves them out - more of a problem with the publisher probably than the device).

The bottom-line:  Though many people will probably now buy an iPad for their reading, you may want to consider the nook if you are a distractible person like myself.  A dedicated ereader like this is probably a better option for me.   I just wouldn't do well reading-wise if I could surf the web on the same device I use for reading (but check with me in a year and I will probably have an iPad because I am a tech-nut).



 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
April 08, 2010
Yeah, the difficulty of rendering illustrations is one of the main reasons I haven't bought an e-reader yet. I'm also waiting for the prices to drop!
August 13, 2010
Thanks for letting me know! I'm hoping I get one for my birthday...but we will see...I'm not sure if J is sold on them or not. He was waiting for the Sony Reader to go down. I've told him about all the good reviews out there about the Nook, though!
 
April 05, 2010
I didn't even know that B&N had their own eReader!  Well, I guess ya learn something new every day :)  When I was first reading the cons, I thought, "Why not an iPad?", but what you wrote about having a dedicated eReader makes total sense.  Thanks for sharing, Matt! :)
 
1
More Barnes & Noble Nook reviews
review by . December 23, 2010
I bought the B&N Nook ebook reader after my dissatisfaction with my previous reader, the Sony PRS-600. I have previously looked at the Amazon Kindle that my sister owns, while it is a very nice reader, I typically shy away from any electronic device that doesn't support industry standard, and in the case of ebook readers, the Amazon Kindle doesn't support the ePub format, so my only other option is the B&N Nook.      After using it for more than 6 months, I am …
Quick Tip by . October 04, 2011
Caption
I've been very fortunate to have my Barnes and Noble Nook to use for my classes at UCSB. More than half of my required titles were available as ebooks at a drastically discounted rate. Not only that, but I have been able to convert all types of reading files into epub file types that can be read by the Nook. So, I have a lot of class data on the Nook, which is easier to carry around than my laptop. Plus, I can highlight and take notes on it.       It has been two years …
review by . August 11, 2010
I recently was given a Nook for my birthday, and I absolutely love it. Pros: The screen looks just like real paper, so no eye strain, no matter how many hours you sit there reading. The page turning buttons are placed in a very convenient place, so you don't have to move your whole hand across the screen like you do with the iPad Kindle App. (it was cool at first, but got very annoying and my finger was sore after reading a whole book with that app). …
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
I recently got a Nook for my birthday, and I LOVE it. The screen is like actual paper- and the side buttons are extremely convenient for page turning without moving your whole hand. I love the touch screen feature at the bottom. All in all, better than the Kindle.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
When I went to Barnes and Noble to play with one of these, I planned on purchasing it. But it didn't even work in the store. The samples wouldn't download, half the time the pages wouldn't turn, and the bottom lcd screen seemed off whenever you tried to touch anything. The device looks awesome, but didn't seem to function as promised.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
My personal favorite.
About the reviewer
Matt Rouse ()
Ranked #835
Member Since: Dec 15, 2008
Last Login: Apr 10, 2010 10:00 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MatthewHR1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


The Barnes & Noble Nook (styled "nook") is an electronic book reader developed by Barnes & Noble, based on the Android platform. The device was announced in the United States on 20 October 2009, and was released 30 November 2009 for US$259. The nook includes Wi-Fi and AT&T  3G wireless connectivity, a six inch E Ink display, and a separate, smaller color touchscreen that serves as the primary input device.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Technology, Electronics, Barnes & Noble, Barnes & Noble Nooks

Details

Polls
Aluratek LIBRE eBook Reader PRO - eBook reader -

Top eReaders!

by

Apple iPod Touch (32Gig)

Favorite travel gadgets

by

First to Review

"I love my nook"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists