|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Personal Electronics » Reviews » Blackberry Bold 9000 » User review

Great phone

  • Apr 5, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I am first going to start out and say that I am addicted to phones and usually switch every month or two. I have been so pleased with the BlackBerry Bold that I have had it for like four months and love it.

The screen on this device is outstanding compared to any other BlackBerry. Looking back at the Curve I dont know how I dealth with the old OS and the dismal screen quality. OS 4.6 on the Bold makes the device not only perform well but look fantastic.

I love the keyboard personally. The keys are extremely easy to press and find which one you would like the hit. I find them much easier and better to type with than the Curve.

The feel of the phone is also one of a kind. With a leather (fake leather) back cover, it makes it really easy to hold and keep in your hand. It is also nice if you want to put it down on a desk without scratching the back up.

As with any BlackBerry, the applications are not what they should be. The iPhone app store is an example of an almost perfect app store. The BlackBerry app world is not great and does not offer much at all. Plus everytime you want to upgrade an application you need to restart the device which takes like 6 minutes.

All in all I am very happy with the device and would recommend it for anyone who is going to be using email a lot.
Blacked out Bold

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Blackberry Bold 9000 reviews
review by . December 02, 2008
There are some obvious differences between the Curve and Bold.  Namely the screen size and the 3G network capabilities... both of which are nice upgrades from the Curve.  However, the biggest problem is the keyboard... it STINKS.  The keyboard is larger than on the Curve so you think it would be easier to type, but it's not... it is so much harder to type i'm almost ready to switch back.    The Keys: Even though the size is larger, the key are flatter and scalloped edge on them …
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
Tried a Blackberry. The tiny keys are impossible to use. Touch screen technology has passed them by. I returned mine within days and switched to iPhone (with horrible AT&T service) then dumped that for HTC Hero, with splendid Credo service.
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
I've had a Blackberry before and their software is subpar compared to Palm, Apple who have been writing OSes for ages. Way too many crashes
review by . December 12, 2008
I've been using the Blackberry Bold for about a month now, and made sure to wait as long as I could to make sure I tried everything out before writing a review - my end thought after my time with the Bold, after its anticipated (and delayed) arrival to the market is that it was worth the wait.  I've used past blackberrys before, including the Curve and even the ancient 7230, and I must admit that I truly enjoy the blackberry bold.     The Good: 3G connection speed, improved …
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2009
Not as good at the Curve, but still a BB.
About the reviewer
Jusitn Cauchon ()
Ranked #961
Member Since: Apr 5, 2009
Last Login: Apr 14, 2010 11:43 PM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

Features Available

  • Wireless email
  • Organizer
  • Browser
  • Phone
  • Camera (2.0 MP)
  • Video Recording
  • BlackBerry® Maps
  • Media Player
  • Built-in GPS
  • Wi-Fi® Support
  • Corporate data access
  • SMS
  • MMS

Size and Weight

  • 4.48"/114mm (Length)
  • 2.6"/66mm (Width)
  • 0.59"/15mm (Depth)
  • 4.8 oz/136g (Weight)

Data Input/Navigation

  • Trackball
  • QWERTY (Keyboard)
  • Keyboard backlighting

Voice Input/Output

  • 3.5mm stereo headset capable
  • Integrated earpiece/ microphone
  • Built-in speakerphone
  • Mono/stereo headset, hands-free and serial port profiles supported (Bluetooth® technology)

Media Player

  • Video format support: DivX 4, DivX 5/6 partially supported, XviD partially supported, H.263, H.264, WMV3
  • Audio format support: .3gp, MP3, WMA9 (.wma/.asf), WMA9 Pro/WMA 10, MIDI, AMR-NB, Professional AAC/AAC+/eAAC+

Display

  • Half VGA resolution 480 x 320 pixel color display
  • Transmissive TFT LCD, supports over 65,000 colors
  • Font size (user selectable)
  • Backlighting
  • Light sensing screen

Notification

  • Polyphonic/MIDI ringtones
  • 32 polyphonic ringtones – MIDI, SP-MDI, MP3, WAV
  • Vibrate mode
  • LED indicator

Approximate Battery Life

  • Up to 13.5 days (Standby time)
  • Up to 4.5 hours (Talk time)

Memory

  • Expandable memory – support for microSD™ card
  • 1GB On-board + 128 MB Flash

Modem

  • RIM® wireless modem
  • Tethered modem capability

Email Integrations

  • Works with BlackBerry® Enterprise Server for Microsoft® Exchange
  • Works with BlackBerry® Enterprise Server for IBM® Lotus® Domino®
  • Works ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists