|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cell Phones » Reviews » Blackberry Curve » User review

The Curve

A PDA/Phone made by Blackberry RIMM

< read all 3 reviews

The phone is a hunk of junk

  • Jul 12, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-5
I bought my first Curve about 6 months ago. Pretty sleek. Has GSP, bluetooth, exchange, camera, full keyboard, just about everything you would want. The only problem? Cheap parts!

Two  months ago, I woke and my Curve had not been charging all night. I figured it must have been "user error" and simply went to work and plugged it into the charger. A few hours later, still no charge and the phone was dead. I went to the AT&T store where they showed me the slot where the power cord connects. Inside, there are 5 tiny gold connectors.

Mine, however, only had four.

Frantic that this would not be covered under my protection plan, I quickly said, "I didn't do this."  "Don't worry," the sales man said, "This happens all the time." Very reassuring.

On top of the fact that the phone was completely dead, there was no way to retrieve any of my data and I had to drive to the main AT&T service center to deal with it.

Well, a thirty minute drive to the main store and another thirty minute wait, I had ordered a free replacement. The problem? The replacement also only had four connectors. Two days later, I had a working phone.

I just woke up and my phone will not charge. Guess how many connectors I have. Yup, four. iPhone here I come.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
March 07, 2009
Just a quick update now that I've had the phone for nearly a week. The battery life isn't as good as my 8730, but it's still pretty good. Far better than the Motorola Q (and Blackberry's OS blows Microsloth's mobile OS out of the water, in my opinion). I really love the fact that there's a "mouse pointer" when you use the web browser. Browsing was nearly impossible with the trackwheel on my 8730. Also, I heard that the new Curve (or software update) recently changed it from "up and down" scrolling with the trackball to a full-on "mouse pointer". Makes browsing much more efficient. My only complaint thus far is that when dialing a number, sometimes it switches from numbers to letters without me hitting the "alt" key. Not sure if this is a software bug or a problem with my phone specifically. But yeah, overall this is a pretty trick phone. The camera takes nice pics, the screen is bright and clear. Sure glad I didn't spend the extra coin on the Storm.
 
March 03, 2009
I've had a Blackberry for 2+ years and I've never, ever had a problem with the power cord connector (Curve uses the same cord as my old 8730). I just got a Curve yesterday as my 8730 had an "unfortunate accident" and I love it so far. I didn't think I'd adjust to the trackball (I was actually a fan of the trackwheel) but all is good so far. I've heard that you can clean the trackball by holding the phone upside down (keys facing down) and rubbing an extremely damp cloth along the trackball.
 
August 19, 2008
i love my curve. you've inspired me to write a review about how much i can't stand using my iPhone for work stuff.
 
July 29, 2008
My curve sucks too. The ball isn't as accurate as it used to be(Its been less than 6 mos) and everytime i use my car to make a call through the blue tooth device, my phone gets all frozen up and i have to lock, unlock multiple times to get it to work again. The phone overall sux.
 
1
More Blackberry Curve reviews
review by . April 14, 2009
I've had my Blackberry curve for about a year now. I believe it has both good and bad qualities, when compared against the iPhone.    The Good  -It's MUCH easier to type on a blackberry than an iPhone. If you're someone who does a lot of texting or emailing, I'd definitely say the Blackberry is the way to go.  -It stores all of your calls, texts, BBMs (Blackberry Messager), and emails in the same inbox. With an iPhone, you have to go into seperate spots …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2009
#RATCHETT the blackberry can only be updated from a windows computer. ARRGH
About the reviewer
Kevin Pak ()
Ranked #59
I'm a total nerd. I like comic books, science fiction books and movies, and I like LOST. I also used to be a huge World of Warcraft junkie but I don't have a whole lot of time for that. The X-Men are … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kevinism
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The BlackBerry Curve 8900 is a BlackBerry mobile phone developed by Research In Motion. 

Its project name was Javelin. The first official release network/company for the 8900 in North America was Rogers Wireless in Canada. The official release on T-Mobile USA was on February 11, 2009.[1] The phone has been released on most UK networks. It was first thought to be a part of the latest 9000 series phones; however it was revealed to be an 8900 series due to the lack of 3G, unlike the BlackBerry Bold, and was officially named the BlackBerry Curve 8900.[2] The Curve 8900 is a quad-band GSM/EDGE phone, unlike the BlackBerry Tour which is an EV-DO device, with a GPS. In the BlackBerry model lineup, the device appears to be a replacement for the older BlackBerry Curve 8300 and is an upgrade in all aspects and features. The most significant differences to the recently released and related BlackBerry Bold is the Curve's smaller size, better camera, Wi-Fi connectivity, and lack of 3G connectivity. Additional differences include the smaller but higher resolution Curve 8900 screen (480×360 vs 480×320), different USB port (mini on Bold vs. micro on 8900), smaller keyboard, larger internal memory, slightly slower processor, and a lower price. Several months after the 8900's US debut on T-Mobile, it was released ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists