|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Social Media » Reviews » Blellow.com » User review

Blellow.com

Blellow.com the social networking site that asks "What are you working on?"

< read all 2 reviews

Blellow.com the social networking site that asks "What are you working on?"

  • Mar 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Today Blellow.com launched. Blellow is potentially a freelancers dream. The site has a Twitter-esk platform that brings together collective knowledge in the effort of figuring out tough problems. I truly believe Blellow can make a huge impact on how freelancers work if they find the right people; people who want to share all the tricks of their trade.

I found Blellow or Blellow found me through Twitter around a month ago. Since then I have been awaiting its launch. The big idea of Blellow is that it is a Twitter for freelancers. A Twitter-esk platform that has groups and asks the question "What are you working on?" If another users are asking for help and you can answer them they can give you Kudos. The user with the more Kudos gets ranked higher in a Yahoo answers sort of fashion. One of the draws is that users can post projects and jobs on a board. Making this the first interesting social network where freelancers and job seekers can come together with people seeking talent and collaborate. Just by using the beta version that launched to day I am impressed. They took their time with the site. Everything is smooth and the design is neat and easy to navigate. Only time can tell if Blellow will take off but I believe it is an honest investment of time and effort.
-MA
www.marcus-andrews.com

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 19, 2009
Thanks for posting this. I am signing up........NOW!
 
July 19, 2009
I'm going to check this out. Sounds interesting and very useful. You might also be interested in my review on Scribd.com. Great for freelance writers looking to advertise their content and make money!
 
May 07, 2009
@ LingEatsCake Well I'm no longer a feelancer I actually got a job in this awful economy. Now I work at a startup and we have an army of freelancers and Blellow is a useful resource to find new freelancers.
May 18, 2009
Yeah, I ended up getting a job too in this terribly economy. Cheers to that! As for my unemployed friends who are freelancing, I'll think of suggesting Blellow to them.
 
May 01, 2009
Hey Marcus, now that you've tried it, I was wondering if you have any more insight about using the site? What could it do better at? What does it do well already? Fellow freelancers want to know!
 
March 19, 2009
Even though I'm not a freelancer, I can def. see some of the value in a network like this. I'll have to dive in a bit more but it def. peaks the interest. I am curious though... 1) Do you find as much or more value in this as you do Twitter? 2) Twitter really made a mark by being so vast. Do you think this has enough juice behind it to stay strong in a niche? 3) I can see the potential for more blood suckers than life support (blood sucker = takers, life support = givers). What do you think?
 
March 05, 2009
Interesting! Thanks for posting this!
 
March 04, 2009
Thanks for sharing, I just signed up too- sounds promising.
 
March 04, 2009
This sounds great. I'm a freelancer myself (aside from working on Lunch!), and just bookmarked it to check it out. Another great New Media venture I recently heard about is Spot.Us, which relies on citizens to directly fund journalists for community-centric stories. It's been pretty successful so far. And though Spot.Us only deals with Bay Area stories, people are observing it as a possible new model to implement in other cities.
May 07, 2009
tempting indeed, thanks for the tip
 
March 04, 2009
Thats cool you signed up. I love investigated new social networks. The potential is limit less. There are so many people out there that need connecting!
 
1
More Blellow.com reviews
Quick Tip by . January 17
Site doesn't exists anymore : blellow.com RIP Rest In Peace - Requiem In Pacem
About the reviewer
Marcus Andrews ()
Ranked #733
I fill my time with building my network via social media, events and social media meet-ups. I am working with two clients in social media and internet marketing, www.indyrant.com is a start-up alternative … more
About this topic

Wiki

Blellow is a productivity microblog with a mission to encourage open collaboration and the sharing of knowledge. We offer threaded replies, groups separated by topic, jobs and projects board, meetups, as well as many other features.

Blellow is a San Antonio based bootstrapped start-up. Our mission is to encourage open collaboration and the sharing of knowledge. We base this mission on these three principles:

Knowledge is meant to be shared.

The idea that the sharing of knowledge can and will empower others to do better forms the basis for the ideology on which Blellow was built. We believe that while there are many tools for learning, our best resources are each other.

Perception and perspective will provide solutions and inspire new ideas.

We believe that when you offer a problem to a group of minds sharing knowledge, perception opens up discussion and perspective offers up solutions. In this environment, problems cease to be problems, and instead become a challenge for the group, an exercise in collaboration that asks everyone to contribute, and ultimately produces the best possible solution.

And the journey to that solution, while the goal is to answer one question, will inspire new thoughts and new questions. It is this perpetual cycle of problems, thought, solution that lays the groundwork for ingenuity, creativity, and discovery.

Organization is the key to productivity

Ideas can never reach their full potential if they cannot be heard. While we endeavor to promote the ...

view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists