|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Science » Reviews » Body Worlds Exhibition » User review

Body Worlds Exhibition

Travelling exhibition of plastinated human bodies

< read all 3 reviews

Baring it all (after death)!

  • May 7, 2011
Rating:
+5
Death, it comes to everyone who waits long enough. As much as our personal qualms about it, some of us choose to ignore it while others believe in the eternal soul. I seem to be revolving around this subject matter since the movie Never Let Me Go and my queer dream right after. Nonetheless, I've actually come into contact with the dead long before this. It was many years ago, at the Singapore Science Center, at an exceptionally unique exhibition known as the Body Worlds.

The traveling exhibition is officially known as Gunther von Hagens' Body Worlds, The Original Exhibition of REAL Human Bodies. Yes, you heard me right. Real human bodies!!!

Freaky? You bet! It was all done in good taste though. And one that is of great educational value.

According to Wikipedia,  "Body Worlds (German title: Körperwelten) is a traveling exhibition of preserved human bodies and body parts that are prepared using a technique called plastination to reveal inner anatomical structures. The exhibition's developer and promoter is German anatomist Gunther von Hagens, who invented the plastination technique in the late 1970s at the University of Heidelberg...

...The exhibit states that its purpose and mission is the education of laymen about the human body, leading to better health awareness. All the human plastinates are from people who donated their bodies for plastination via a body donation program."


The first exhibition was held in Tokyo in 1995. It has since been exhibited at some 50 museums and other venues around the world. Currently, you can see it in Chicago and Phoenix! So, make sure you don't miss it!

As with many bold measures or causes, there are controversies surrounding the body donation program. Laws in different countries dictate different legislations. Those are not our concerns. What we are concerned is what we get out of this experience.

Well, for one thing, you get to see some disturbing sights. For example, the lungs of a smoker as compared to the non-smoker. The image is stark and the message is clear. At least to me it is clear. I also get to see a fetus in a mother's womb. That is disturbing if you really think about it. Someone who had died with a baby have had to consent to baring it all! Seeing them for real is not for the faint hearted!


For the first time in my life, I get to see what no biological teacher could describe in detail and also the real stuff like human's tendon, muscle and nerves! It's truly quite an awesome experience, non rivaling as far as coming in contact with the dead and in some ways what we all are made of!

The exhibits are not only educational, they are also fun to look at.

Playing cards afterlife? How refreshing!


Or, corpses copulating? Now, if this one doesn't get censored, you can still see it here.


How about the Chess Player? Plenty to think about, isn't it?


Whatever your stand on this matter, I highly recommend you to see them for yourselves. Then and only then, write and share your views on this topic. Fair enough? Personally, I think it's an experience of a lifetime. Not to be missed for whatever reasons! If there is any exhibition you must see, this is pretty much it!

(A Lunch Featured Review)
Baring it all (after death)! Baring it all (after death)! Baring it all (after death)!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
December 21, 2011
This is a biology teacher's delight.
December 22, 2011
Not just biology but everyone's who's curious about what truly is inside us all! :)
December 22, 2011
That's true too.
 
November 07, 2011
Hmmmm....really interesting. I would like to see this but, in all honesty, I don't know if I have the ability. I have a hard time keeping my lunch down when the family cat yaks on the floor, so this might be too much for me to handle. It sounds cool, though. Cool review!
November 21, 2011
It's a fascinating experience. One that is certainly unforgettable and highly educational. Not to be missed by all account!
 
May 15, 2011
In this day and age, when it's easy to replicate models. I think it's disrespectful to display real bodies this way, whether or not they consented before they died.
 
May 15, 2011
As more time passes, the deceased become further removed from our memory. Our only access to them is through the prism of prayers and remembrances, as well as photos of a time which can never be recovered . For many, time heals all wounds while for others the converse is true. The passing of time wounds all heals.
 
May 07, 2011
nice.
May 08, 2011
Yeah, I certainly would love to have another go. I wonder what new additions there are! Have you signed up for it? LOL..........
 
May 07, 2011
Ew! I'm not easily grossed out, but posing deconstructed corpses and calling it art or science is just creepy.
May 07, 2011
I like it. I saw this when it was on exhibit here. Wonderful and creepy!!
May 08, 2011
@Count_Orlok_22 for someone who likes vampire, that's hardly the response I'm expecting, LOL... then again, the blood been drained, I suppose! 

@woopak_the_thrill Strangely enough I didn't find it creepy. I was apprehensive before my visit but I was totally fascinated once I was there. Quite an experience!
 
May 07, 2011
How do we contact this guy? I think I'd look great as a chess player, especially seated in a corner of my daughter's living room. How often would she need to dust me?
May 08, 2011
Shhh... don't give my dad ideas!!!
 
1
More Body Worlds Exhibition reviews
Quick Tip by . May 06, 2011
posted in Images
Caption
If there is a way to glorify the dead, this is it! An excellent look into our internal world, literally.        
review by . May 19, 2009
Body World Exhibition
Picture a dead man standing up erect, striking a godly pose while bathed in light. His arms are positioned in such a way that defy gravity. In fact, to look at him, you'd think that he's alive, but that's just not possible, because you already know that he's dead. You know this because not only is he without skin, but organs are missing or exposed in plain view.  This body is only one of such exposed bodies in the BODY WORLDS Exhibition.    I've attended the exhibition twice: …
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Body Worlds (German title: Körperwelten) is a traveling exhibition of preserved human bodies and body parts that are prepared using a technique called plastination to reveal inner anatomical structures. The exhibition's developer and promoter is a German anatomist Gunther von Hagens, who invented the plastination technique in the late 1970s at the University of Heidelberg.

Body Worlds was first presented in Tokyo in 1995. Body Worlds exhibitions have since been hosted by more than 50 museums and venues in North America, Europe, and Asia.

Body Worlds 2 & The Brain – Our Three Pound Gem (concerning the brain and nervous system) opened in 2005 at the California Science Center in Los Angeles and is currently at theSan Diego Natural History Museum.

Body Worlds 3 & The Story of the Heart (concerning the cardiovascular system) opened on February 25, 2006, at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. It is currently on tour at the Museum of Science and Industry in Tampa, Florida. On July 9,2009 this show started at the Buffalo Museum of science in Buffalo, New York.

Body Worlds 4 debuted February 22, 2008 at the Museum of Science and Industry in Manchester in England and was in the Cureghem Cellars in Brussels until March 2009.

Body Worlds & The Mirror of Time (featuring human ...

view wiki

Tags

Science, Biology, Human Anatomy, Gunther Von Hagens, Plastination, Body Worlds

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists