|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » Bose® QuietComfort® 2 Acoustic Noise Cancelling® Headphones » User review

Great Headphones for Frequent Flyers

  • Apr 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I love my Bose Quiet Comfort headphones.  They're enjoyable to listen to and provide incredible sound quality at any time, but when flying, they are a godsend.  With one flick of the on switch, the background noise that you normally find on a plane quickly melts away and you feel like you're in your own little cone of silence.  They allow you to keep your iPod at reasonable volume levels and actually hear your music.  

Even better than listening to music, however, is the improvement that the Bose Quiet Comfort gives you when watching in-flight movies.  Before getting my Bose, I often had trouble hearing dialogue in movies because the background noise was so terrible.  Luckily, Bose has solved that problem and watching movies while in flight is a joy.  I have forgotten my Bose and tried to watch a movie on a plane using a standard headphone (and even the dreaded airline-supplied headphones)... it was such a terrible experience in comparison to the Bose-driven movie watching that if I didn't have anything to read I would have preferred to stare at the back of the seat in front of me, Puddy-style, during the 11 hour flight.

Lastly, for those who need to conduct some serious work on the plane (business travelers, students, etc.) or those who just want some peace and quiet, the Bose Quiet Comfort's offer a great way to block out noise while doing work.  I"ve often used them without an iPod or movie, simply to have some quiet so I can concentrate better. 

The only negative to the Bose Quiet Comfort's are the fact that they are rather bulky and take up a significant amount of room.  However, you can store your iPod or other device inside the Bose case, which saves a smidgin of space and allows you to keep your audio equipment in one place.

Recap

Pros:  Great sound for music, movies, please unmatched peace and quiet on the plane.

Cons:  takes up a good amount of room.

A Quality Alternative
Lately, I've been traveling with V-Moda Vibe headphones (earbuds), which offer you a comparable noise cancelling experience in a much smaller, more compact package.  Check out my review.  You may want to give them a try.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
October 01, 2009
Hahaha, you think bose has good sound quality...lolz
 
June 15, 2009
Yeah, I can only agree! I have the "on-the-ear-fit" QuietComfort ANC headphones, but must say, that they start hurting after several hours! I can only recommend the "around-the-ear-fit" bose headphones, as described!
 
May 08, 2009
@Husher315, the Bose are the gold standard for sound and noise cancellation, IMO. That being said, my Bose are growing dusty because, as I describe in my review of the V-Moda Vibe's, the size-versatility-quality-price ratio of the V-Moda's is tough to beat. 
 
May 06, 2009
I just bought a pair of V-Moda's less then three hours ago and they are great! Good to know about the Bose though if I ever decide to dish out the money for them
May 06, 2009
I play an electronic drum set at home and am looking for some good headphones. I'd love to hear what you think about the V-Moda's once you've given them a try.
 
May 06, 2009
nice review @Butter. I wrote a nice compare/contrast review of the Bose Quiet Comfort Headphones versus the Beats by Dr. Dre in case you were interested in checking it out.
 
April 02, 2009
Headphones or not, I love to stare at the back of the seat in front of me "Puddy-style". Ha!
 
1
More Bose® QuietComfort® 2 Acoustic... reviews
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
I will never fly without them. The noise cancelling technology opens new vistas in air travel.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Don't forget to turn off your headset. And, always keep an extra set of batteries in the case.
Quick Tip by . October 31, 2009
I highly recommend these. Took the red-eye back east and was able to sleep the entire flight. Thanks Bose.
review by . February 24, 2009
Seriously!  Last night while boarding a red eye flight from LAX to JFK, I was right in front of a large man talking very loudly on his cell phone while boarding the flight.  He should of been wearing a tee shirt that said, "I'm sort of a big deal."  You know, he needs to cry out for attention.  I'm tired, I just want to get to my seat and get to work on falling asleep.  I'm thinking to myself, "Oh God, please don't let this clown sit next to me?"  Yeah, it's not the …
About the reviewer
About this topic

Wiki

Hear less noise and more of your music with acclaimed QuietComfort 2 headphones. Dramatically reduce engine roar on planes with advanced noise reduction technology pioneered by Bose. Fade background distractions at work and at home too.

Additional Bose innovations help your music come alive with well-balanced, detailed sound. All from a lightweight design, ergonomically crafted for a comfortable, around-ear fit.

Hear the difference Bose technology makes
QC®2 headphones' proprietary Acoustic Noise Cancelling headphone technology is the result of decades of Bose research and refinement. These award-winning headphones electronically identify and dramatically reduce noise--while preserving the sound or tranquility you desire.

They also feature proprietary signal processing and TriPort® acoustic headphone structure for quality audio performance--including deep low notes--from small, lightweight earcups.

For travel, work and home
QC headphones were originally designed for airplane travel, and you'll notice a dramatic decrease in engine noise when you fly. Simply connect them to the inflight entertainment system or your portable player to hear quality Bose sound.

Wear QC2 headphones on buses, trains, in the office and at home. You should notice a decrease in background noise--and sparkling audio reproduction. Pair QC2 headphones with most music-enabled phones too, using our optional mobile communications kit.

Comfortable and convenient
At just under seven ounces, QC2 headphones have...

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"These saved my life."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists