|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Travel » Reviews » Buenos Aires, Argentina » User review

Apartments in Retiro (a barrio or neighborhood)

Buenos Aires is the capital, and largest city, of Argentina, currently the second-largest metropolitan area in South America, after São Paulo. It is located on the southern shore of the Río de la Plata, on the southeastern coast of the South American

< read all 3 reviews

European style ... Latin flair! What a wonderful vacation destination!

  • Feb 5, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
Learn to Tango, dance the tango, watch the tango or learn about tango; Look for Evita Peron's grave at the Recoleta Cemetery; Take in a raucous soccer match; Max out your cholesterol count with the astonishingly decadent meat dishes; Try the ubiquitous mate tea and bargain for a souvenir gourd Succumb to the allure of an afternoon coffee and cake; Discover the joy of contemporary Latin American art; Take in Plaza de Mayo and discover that Argentinians protest at the drop of a sombrero; Mull over a fine Mendoza Malbec; or Simply indulge in people watching in the almost innumerable beautiful parks! A vibrant European style city with a distinct hospitable Latin flair! Beware of the pickpockets and the "bird-shit" scam!


Paul Weiss

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
February 07, 2010
A great city. Argentina also boasts the best meat in the world - cut your steak with a butter knife, and Buenos Aires has some great nightlife as well. :)
February 07, 2010
The quantity of meat in the portions they serve is nigh on unbelievable.
February 07, 2010
And the quality is out of this world :)
 
February 05, 2010
Buenos Aires is on my list of destinations for the next year! I have heard the best things about it and your review has continued to confirm them! When were you there last? Is there a certain place you like to stay when you are there? Thanks for sharing!
February 05, 2010
I didn't stay at a hotel. My friend and I rented a very nice two bedroom apartment on C Rodriguez Pena in Barrio Norte very close to the Cemeterio de la Recoleta. It seemed quite upscale and very safe even during the night-time hours. The San Telmo and La Boca neighbourhoods on the other hand were an entirely different kettle of fish and had a distinctly unsavory, uncomfortable feel to them. Worth the visit but take a taxi and definitely do it during the day.
 
1
More Buenos Aires, Argentina reviews
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
I had a mixed-feelings adventure in Bs As. Being American, I felt that many people held that against me (and cab drivers would drop us off in the wrong place if we spke english!). I also witnessed a lot of petty crime just sitting down at a outside cafe. However, I did enjoy the city life and the majority of people I met were friendly, and I leaned a lot about the culture and history of Argentina/Bs As when I was there and it was very enjoyable!
Quick Tip by . January 01, 2010
A vibrant European style city with a distinct hospitable Latin flair! Beware of the pickpockets and the "bird-shit" scam!
About the reviewer
Paul Weiss ()
Ranked #16
   A modern day dilettante with widely varied eclectic interests. A dabbler in muchbut grandmaster of none - wilderness camping in all four seasons, hiking, canoeing, world travel,philately, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cpw1952
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


Buenos Aires is the capital, and largest city, of Argentina, currently the second-largest metropolitan area in South America, after São Paulo. It is located on the southern shore of the Río de la Plata, on the southeastern coast of the South American continent. The city of Buenos Aires is not part of Buenos Aires Province, nor is it its capital; rather, it is an autonomous federal district. Greater Buenos Aires is the fourth-largest conurbation in Latin America, with a population of around 13 million.
view wiki

Tags

Travel, Destinations, Argentina, South America, Vacations, Buenos Aires, Latin America, Palermo, Palermo Viejo

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists