|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » California Proposition 8 (2008) » User review

California Proposition 8 logos

A California Initiative for State Constitutional Amendment

< read all 7 reviews

Why Prop 8 is wrong for the universe.

  • Dec 24, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-5
California's Proposition 8, from the 2008 general election, eliminated the right of same-sex couples to marry. This is not just a loss for California, but a loss for mankind.

Throughout history, people have turned to California as a place of growth, progress, and a place where futures are born. People come to California from all over the world because they're attracted to the mentality that makes the state such a desirable place in which to live. People are laid back, casual, and willing to embrace the new. Hell, we even have marijuana vending machines!

And throughout history, people have depended on the courts to protect the rights of the minority when the majority was unwilling to do so. If the general public had voted on Brown vs. Board of Education in 1954, do you think there would be equality for all American citizens today? Do you think back in 1954, the majority of voting citizens would have upheld the Supreme Court's decision that "separate-but-equal is not equal at all?

Simply put, a civil union and a marriage license are not equal. Married couples, simply because they have that license, have access to 104 additional protections, rights, and benefits that civil union couples don't have (see Federal General Accounting Office website for details). A "yes" vote for Prop 8 means that you were okay with having a group of people receiving less protection, under the US Constitution, than the majority. How American is that?

The passage of Prop 8 was truly sad in that it turned back the clock on progress. Once again, the courts stepped in and were willing to protect the minority's civil rights, but the majority actually voted to revoke those rights and create a first class-second class system of life in California, something the state had not seen in more than half a century.

I can only hope that once again, the State Supreme Court will stand up for all its citizens and rule that any proposition that denies any US citizen of their rights is unconstitutional and should not have been voted on in the first place. We Californians must restore the beauty that makes our state so famous, that anyone, regardless of who they are, the color of their skin, or who they fall in love with, has a chance at equality and success in our great state. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
August 04, 2010
The equal protection argument seems the best one to make legally. As with earlier civil rights debates, not too long from now this proposition's passage will startle our children's children. P.S. Speaking of upcoming controversial propositions (2010's #17 to legalize pot) I never saw a marijuana vending machine, even as a native of L.A., but I suspect this to be a Bay Area innovation!
 
December 24, 2008
I'm with rach on this...marijuana vending machines???
 
1
More California Proposition 8 (2008... reviews
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
There's a symbolism that matters. Partnerships may equate with marriage legally, but the blanket refusal via Prop 8 of denying marital status to same-sex couples rankles my gay friends-- two of whom got married in the small window of opportunity before 8 passed. The example of their love and commitment for my own family, and my sons, represented an important recognition of equality that now 59% voters in my state refuse to support; the Mormon & Catholic Churches funding the pro-8 campaign.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
This makes me ashamed to be an American. We're going to look back in history with great shame on this, and I can't believe the country hasn't grown enough from our past civil rights issues to know and do better. I'm appalled at hypocrisy of Americans guarding the institution of marriage, considering how we've devalued and disrespected it in every possible way, as evidenced by the divorce rate, let alone the fact that it's become a reality show punch line. Just pathetic, all the way around.
review by . October 16, 2008
Despite the majority of Americans being against it due to their own bigotry, the 15th Amendment was added to the constitution in 1870, granting the right to vote to all citizens regardless of race. Once again, America moved forward- became MORE free, stronger, closer to the truth at the center of our Declaration of Independance and Constitution. Today, some Californians are trying to amend our state Constitution in a different way. This time, they want to make our citizens LESS free. They want to …
review by . August 20, 2009
Prop. 8 is a bad law that fool's around with the state's constitution.  The people that backed this proposition preyed upon people's closed minded fears.  I feel that if people of the same sex wanted to marry they should.  But to mess around with California's state constitution just so they can't marry is totally wrong and it'll be litigated for years in the court system.  When it came time to vote the good Captain could not co-sign such closed minded people's views and did not …
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Was really surprised that this went through. Really, California? How unfortunate.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
You really don't want to let me get married??
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #107
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

California Proposition 8, officially titled with "Eliminates Right of Same-Sex Couples to Marry," was a state proposition on the General Election ballot of November 4, 2008. The proposition required a simple majority to pass. As prepared by the State Attorney General, the proposition is summarized as follows: 
  • Changes the California Constitution to eliminate the right of same-sex couples to marry in California.
  • Provides that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.

Fiscal Impact from the Legislative Analyst:Over next few years, potential revenue loss, mainly sales taxes, totaling in the several tens of millions of dollars, to state and local governments. In the long run, likely little fiscal impact on state and local governments.

Meaning of Voting Yes/No
A YES vote on this measure means:
The California Constitution will specify that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.
A NO vote on this measure means:
A NO vote on this measure means: Marriage between individuals of the same sex would continue to be valid or recognized in California.
Impartial Analysis from the Legislative AnalystBACKGROUND

In March 2000, California voters passed Proposition 22 to specify in state law that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California. In May 2008, the California Supreme Court ruled that the statute enacted by Proposition 22 and other statutes that limit marriage to a ...

view wiki

Tags

Politics, California, Elections, Lgbt, Prejudice, Propositions, Lesbians, Gays

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists