|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » California Proposition 8 (2008) » User review

California Proposition 8 logos

A California Initiative for State Constitutional Amendment

< read all 7 reviews

Why Prop 8 is wrong for California

  • Oct 16, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-5

Despite the majority of Americans being against it due to their own bigotry, the 15th Amendment was added to the constitution in 1870, granting the right to vote to all citizens regardless of race. Once again, America moved forward- became MORE free, stronger, closer to the truth at the center of our Declaration of Independance and Constitution.

Today, some Californians are trying to amend our state Constitution in a different way. This time, they want to make our citizens LESS free. They want to take away rights. They want to write intolerance INTO the state constitution.

Don't be fooled. Prop 8 does NOT "protect marriage". It's not commited homosexual couples ruining "the sanctity of marriage"- it's all the people who currently CAN get married ruining it when almost half get divorced, many more commit adultery and so many enter into marriage without any true commitment. Keeping gay people from marrying will not stop any of that.

If we want to make a statement that marriage in California is sacred and should not be taken lightly, we should outlaw "no fault divorce". Until I have to PROVE that something is fundamentally wrong with my marriage in order to get out of the lifelong commitment I made, don't tell me the law is protecting marriage in any way.

Keeping same gender marriage legal does not infringe on your religious views. Your church will NOT lose tax exempt status because your pastor preaches that homosexuality is a sin. The court's decision specifically states "no religion will be required to change its religious policies or practices with regard to same-sex couples, and no religious officiant will be required to solemnize a marriage in contravention of his or her religious beliefs."

Keeping same gender marriage legal does not mean your kids will be taught in school that gay marriage is equal to straight marriage. Seriously, when was your child taught ANYTHING about marriage? In a society where many kids are from unmarried, single and divorced homes, do you honestly think public schools are teaching the sanctity of ANY marriage? Of course not.

Keeping same gender marriage legal DOES mean that California will provide equal protection under the law for all it's citizens. Period. Senator Barack Obama and Govenor Arnold Schwarzenneger don't agree on much, but they BOTH oppose Prop 8. They've both come to the conculsion that regardless of how they feel personally, it's just plain wrong to single one group of people and exclude them from enjoying the same rights as other citizens.

We have something called the separation of Church and State in this wonderful country. If you think homosexuality is a sin- fine... but think about just the law. In this country we offer all our citizens the same freedoms, regardless of who they are. People will tell you that Civil Unions are the answer- but we've had that and there's still confusion. We've heard the term "separate but equal" before- and you know how that turned out. Don't help take away rights of US citizens! Keep California free- help us fulfill the American dream of life, liberty and the persuit of happiness!

VOTE NO on Prop 8 this November!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
August 04, 2010
Well in retrospect it passed w/ 59% of voters, but my hunch is it will not last long. My friends managed to get married during the interim that gay marriage was legal, and that status itself seems to indicate that this law cannot be upheld as it grants some citizens of California a privilege that others in the same situation before and after cannot gain.
 
April 01, 2009
Great review!
 
December 24, 2008
That last part, separate but equal, is what's most important and not a lot of people realized it. A civil union and a marriage are NOT the same. If you go to the Federal GAO website, they have a list of 104 protections that married couples have that civil union couples don't, all just because of the title "marriage." I wish more people would have realized this is a civil rights issue, not just about religion and the word "marriage."
 
October 23, 2008
YAAAAAAAAAAY
 
1
More California Proposition 8 (2008... reviews
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
There's a symbolism that matters. Partnerships may equate with marriage legally, but the blanket refusal via Prop 8 of denying marital status to same-sex couples rankles my gay friends-- two of whom got married in the small window of opportunity before 8 passed. The example of their love and commitment for my own family, and my sons, represented an important recognition of equality that now 59% voters in my state refuse to support; the Mormon & Catholic Churches funding the pro-8 campaign.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
This makes me ashamed to be an American. We're going to look back in history with great shame on this, and I can't believe the country hasn't grown enough from our past civil rights issues to know and do better. I'm appalled at hypocrisy of Americans guarding the institution of marriage, considering how we've devalued and disrespected it in every possible way, as evidenced by the divorce rate, let alone the fact that it's become a reality show punch line. Just pathetic, all the way around.
review by . August 20, 2009
Prop. 8 is a bad law that fool's around with the state's constitution.  The people that backed this proposition preyed upon people's closed minded fears.  I feel that if people of the same sex wanted to marry they should.  But to mess around with California's state constitution just so they can't marry is totally wrong and it'll be litigated for years in the court system.  When it came time to vote the good Captain could not co-sign such closed minded people's views and did not …
review by . December 24, 2008
California's Proposition 8, from the 2008 general election, eliminated the right of same-sex couples to marry. This is not just a loss for California, but a loss for mankind.     Throughout history, people have turned to California as a place of growth, progress, and a place where futures are born. People come to California from all over the world because they're attracted to the mentality that makes the state such a desirable place in which to live. People are laid back, casual, …
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Was really surprised that this went through. Really, California? How unfortunate.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
You really don't want to let me get married??
About the reviewer
Lia Lara-Tellez ()
Ranked #83
I work for a wholesale travel agency when I'm not Lunching (ok, sometimes when I am). No, this does not mean I can hook you up with a free hotel. It does mean I can hook myself up witha free hotel, so … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
liasol
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

California Proposition 8, officially titled with "Eliminates Right of Same-Sex Couples to Marry," was a state proposition on the General Election ballot of November 4, 2008. The proposition required a simple majority to pass. As prepared by the State Attorney General, the proposition is summarized as follows: 
  • Changes the California Constitution to eliminate the right of same-sex couples to marry in California.
  • Provides that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.

Fiscal Impact from the Legislative Analyst:Over next few years, potential revenue loss, mainly sales taxes, totaling in the several tens of millions of dollars, to state and local governments. In the long run, likely little fiscal impact on state and local governments.

Meaning of Voting Yes/No
A YES vote on this measure means:
The California Constitution will specify that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.
A NO vote on this measure means:
A NO vote on this measure means: Marriage between individuals of the same sex would continue to be valid or recognized in California.
Impartial Analysis from the Legislative AnalystBACKGROUND

In March 2000, California voters passed Proposition 22 to specify in state law that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California. In May 2008, the California Supreme Court ruled that the statute enacted by Proposition 22 and other statutes that limit marriage to a ...

view wiki

Tags

Politics, California, Elections, Lgbt, Prejudice, Gays, Propositions, Lesbians

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists