|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cruises » Reviews » Carnival Fantasy » User review

Carnival Fantasy

The lead Fantasy class cruise ship for Carnival Cruise Lines.

< read all 1 reviews

Carnival Fantasy

  • Feb 8, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
The Carnival Fantasy is the oldest ship in the fleet as it entered service in 1990.  
The ship underwent a refit September 2003 and a "Evalutions of Fun" upgrade in 2005.  The 2,056 passenger ship is currently sailing out of the Gulf Coast but will be homeported for year around sailings in Charleston, South Carolina, May 2010. 
 
Embarkation: Embarkation was a breeze. We drove to the port, paid the $15 per day parking fee, and brought out luggage to the porters.  One we got through security there was a little line, we were on the ship and eating the buffet in less than 30 minutes. 1 pm - 3 pm seems to be the prime time check in to board the ship, you may want to plan on an earlier or later arrival.  

Cabin: One thing I noticed on this ship was the lack of balcony cabins which partially is due to the age of the ship.  The push for more balconies came after this ship was built.  With the cabins being a little bit older you will notice a lot of the wood finish and wear.  Our room was a window room on the empress deck, typical amenities such as bed, TV, plenty of clothing space and a toiletries kit in the bathroom. 
 
Dining: Two sit down dining rooms and a buffet on the lido deck will satisfy your at sea cravings. A personal favorite is the 24 hour pizzria and the New York deli in the Lido deck dining area. Depending on how many nights you are sailing, you can expect one or two formal nights.  Total Choice Dining provides for four dinner seating's in the main dining rooms, and alternative Bistro dining every evening.

Entertainment: No shortage of fun on this ship. The Universe Lounge is the main show lounge where you will find singing, dancing and Broadway shows.  The Electricity Dance Club has your Top 40 dance hits (yes, they take requests).  Karaoke is enjoyable in the Cats Lounge.  Peppered through out the ship is a variety of show acts and live band. For the kids, Camp Carnival is always a big hit. 

Public areas: If you want some quiet, an adults only area called Serenity was added in a recent refurbishment.  If the pool deck and aqua parks aren't enough to keep you entertained, the inside of the ship is a whole new world. To keep with the times all public rooms have flat screen TV's.  The Galleria mall is a favorite for the shoppers, an internet cafe, coffee shop, gym, spa, casino and arcade are all located inside the ship. 

Disembarkation:  The most unenjoyable part of any cruise.  Recently Carnival implemented a policy where you can self-assit disembark (take your own luggage off).  If you are checking your bags for disembarkation, make sure you have proper clothes (you don't want to walk off the ship with a bathrobe on).
 
A classic ship to sail on.  One you sail on this ship you will appreciate the newer and more innovative class of ships. 

Doug Parker is the founder of Cruise Radio. He has been in the media industry for more than 10 years. His Web site, CruiseRadio.net, offers industry news, on demand interviews, video and travel tips. Cruise Radio is the worlds only independent cruise travel show.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 23, 2010
I was on the fantasy years ago. The ship is old. I understand it went under renovation, but I am looking forward to the Oasis of the Seas by Royal Caribbean! Scott Lara
 
February 12, 2010
This sounds great! Well, except for the disembarkment, but with all the other fun that you've described on the ship, I think I can deal with that :P Thanks for sharing, Doug!
 
February 08, 2010
I have always wondered about this cruise line, thanks for the info. nice job
 
1
About the reviewer
Doug Parker ()
Ranked #271
Thanks for checking out my little spot in the Lunch land. I am a radio personality, traveler, blogger and creator of CruiseRadio.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
unfdoug
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Carnival Fantasy is the oldest cruise ship in the Carnival fleet. She currently sails on four and five day itineraries to Cozumel, Calica, and Progreso from Mobile, Alabama. She went into service in 1990, and was initially based out of the Port of Miami as the first new ship ever placed on 3 and 4 day Bahamas cruises from Miami. On September 17, 2009 Carnival announced that the Fantasy will based out of Mobile, Alabama to replace the Holiday until the Carnival Elation begins operations in Mobile. On September 17, 2009 Carnival announced that the Carnival Fantasy is going to Charleston, South Carolina, effective in May 2010, doing year round 5-6 night cruises with the occasional 7 nights cruises, with the 5 night cruises visiting Nassau and Freeport, 6 night cruises visiting Key West, Freeport, and Nassau, and the 7 night cruises visiting Grand Turk, Half Moon Cay, and Nassau
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Carnival Fantasy"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists