|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Chance Pe Dance » User review

All the glitters is Shahid Kapur

  • Aug 30, 2010
Rating:
+3

Guys don't come much cuter than Shahid Kapur and he sure can bust a move, but when you come down to it that's all  Bollywood's CHANCE PE DANCE has going for it. The film's overwrought screenplay combines two plot lines (both of which are cliches in both Hollywood and Bollywood) 1) that of the long suffering but extremely talented young actor/dancer trying to make it big in showbiz, and 2) the teacher who turns an unwilling band of misfits into into a winning team...while (of course) searching for true love, after all this is Bollywood.  Surprisingly the second plot line is given very short shrift with more attention being placed on how our hero (having been evicted from his apartment) uses the school as a way to survive the elements and pick up a couple of quick bucks. Even more surprising is the fact that  after the students are turned into dancers virtually overnight we are never really rewarded with the kind of dance competition we expect to see them compete in.  One dance, give 'em the trophy, bam, that's it.

The script is much more generous in its dealing with our hero's suffering as he attempts to become a star however. Virtually no type of suffering has been been spared.  In the beginning stardom seems to almost fall into his lap when he is spotted at a dance club by a prominent director, but no such luck, it's merely part of a chain of broken promises and betrayals and shattered dreams--the prize is dangled before him and snatched back time and again with the kind of cruelty you see only in melodramas. Even true love (in the form of beauteous Genelia D'Souza) looks as if it will slip through his fingers. Finally ( 130 minutes later) he has one last chance to make it--in a sort of American Idol/So You Think You Can Dance type TV show. Will he succeed and become a star or does fate have one last sucker punch in store for him? Or both, after all this IS Bollywood.

CHANCE PE DANCE is not a film I would recommend to someone as their first Bollywood experience, it's nothing special. I found it to be worth a single viewing only because of Shahid Kapur  whose other films I will be checking out. Did I mention he's good looking?

 

All the glitters is Shahid All the glitters is Shahid All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid All the glitters is Shahid All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid Kapur All the glitters is Shahid Kapur

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
September 22, 2010
Wonderful review Queen like I said about it before, much like I have said about any and everything you have written.
September 22, 2010
You're just going to turn my head with all your flattery , kind sir. (she blushes becomingly)
 
September 03, 2010
Great review! Happy 100, Karen!


September 04, 2010
Thanks! It took me long enough!
September 08, 2010
Nothing wrong with that! I take a long time with my reviews/writing too. :)
September 12, 2010
You have a lot more to show for it though! =)
September 14, 2010
LOL! Not really. I'm no where near a 100 count for reviews. I like being slow--makes me unique. :D
September 16, 2010
That's a healthy way of thinking about it. =)
September 19, 2010
Yup, always trying to be healthy, lol!
September 20, 2010
I should give that a try sometime...in some area or another.
September 28, 2010
(laughs) It can be overrated. :-P
September 28, 2010
I'll just forget about it then. Thanks for setting me straight! =)
September 28, 2010
LOL! Ok. :-P
 
September 01, 2010
WOW! A new review from the Queen. Why wasn't there a royal announcement?
=)
Okay, you mention the hot guy, but who's the lady with the enchanting eyes?
September 02, 2010
I was just waiting to see how long it would take you to ask. =) Her name is Genelia D'Souza. Doesn't sound very Indian, does it.
September 02, 2010
Now how come you failed to mention her in the review?
September 02, 2010
Because it was either print it the way it was or let it sit around forever.I'd have to go into this whole plot thing to deal with her character. I suppose I could go back and mention her to placate all the males out there...
September 02, 2010
LOL!
September 02, 2010
I just inserted her name very awkardly into the last paragraph.
September 02, 2010
LOL! Beauteous is about right.
September 02, 2010
I have another picture of her somewhere. I'll move it up for you.
September 02, 2010
Aren't you sly?! Trying to lure me with pictures of attractive exotic women... Well, it's not going to work.
September 02, 2010
So where is this new picture?
September 02, 2010
It's at the top in the review.
September 02, 2010
I'm only seeing the old two.
September 03, 2010
There was only one photo of her before.
September 03, 2010
Really? Because I saw two photos of hot women and that's all I see now.
September 04, 2010
How about now? Because this is what was there before I changed it.
September 04, 2010
Okay, so you didn't add any, you just rotated one.
September 04, 2010
Yeah, my featured pix.
 
August 30, 2010
Community Feature! Thanks for educating us with the films from Bollywood, Queenie! This is an area of Asian cinema that I know nothing about. whoa. despite your 3-star rating, I may see this as a rental, those women are hot.
August 30, 2010
There are hot women in EVERY Bollywood flick. Trouble is that Shahid is prettier than his leading lady which is always a baad sign.
 
1
More Chance Pe Dance reviews
review by . April 19, 2011
Over the past few years trends have changed and some of the "old ways" have begun to make a come back.  Beginning in the 1930s with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers with RKO and the 1940s where Gene Kelly graced the Silver Screen through MGM films, dance and musicals were an escape from what was day to day life.  Today the musicals and dance are making a huge comeback with shows like 'So You Think You Can Dance?', 'Dancing with the Stars', and even 'Dance Your …
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Caption
Worth seeing only for Shahid Kapur. Typical story of long suffering actor/dancer trying to make it big in Bollywood.
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #21
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by QUEENBFLIX
About this topic

Wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists