|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Holidays » Reviews » Cinco de Mayo » User review

Cinco De Mayo

A Mexican holiday that commemorates the Mexican army's improbable victory over French forces during the Battle of Pueblo on May 5th, 1862.

< read all 3 reviews

Cinco De Drinko

  • May 4, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
The Spanish version of St. Patty's Day and Oktoberfest, right? We, Americans, love a holiday that gives us full permission to drink and have a good time. In fact, my friends have officially renamed Cinco de Mayo, Cinco de Drinko...yes, we are clever sorts, aren't we?

Here are cinco quick fun facts on Cinco de Mayo, so as you raise your margarita, you'll know what your toasting:

  1. I find it interesting that not even Mexico celebrates Cinco de Mayo but, we do here in the States as a celebration of Mexican culture and pride and....tequila.
  2. The first celebration of Cinco de Mayo was by Mexicans and Latinos living in California during the American Civil War.
  3. Contrary to popular belief, this is not Mexican Independence Day. It is a celebration of the victory in Pueblo over the French and represents a great moral victory for Mexican people. Britain, Spain and French had come to Mexico to force them to pay their debts to all three countries. Mexico talked to Spain and Britain, who negotiated and withdrew. But, France stayed to get their money.
  4. The French army of strong, well-equipped 8,000 were far better off than the poorer 4,000 Mexicans and yet, they crushed the French army, who up until that time hadn't been defeated for 50 years and was thought to be the best army around.
  5. Since the Battle of Puebla, no country in the Americas has been invaded by a European military force.

Also, an interesting side note for you, if France had won that battle in Mexico, they would've gone on to support the Confederate Army in the American Civil War and we would be living in a very different country. Tomorrow as you go forth and celebrate Cinco de Drinko, you now know what you're celebrating.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
May 06, 2011
LOL!! It's funny how my family is the same way...a baby is born..let's get together and drink, moms surgery went well, let's have a party..thanks for this
May 06, 2011
It's good to know I'm not alone ;p
 
May 05, 2011
A toast to one terrorist out of the way! Cheers!!!
 
May 05, 2011
Cinco de Drinko? I like that! And thanks for all those cool facts! Try not to have a headache on Friday morning ;)
May 05, 2011
I'll try not to, I prob won't end up celebrating Cinco de Drinko since I'm sick and have to rest up for the REAL royal wedding LOL!!!
 
May 04, 2011
whaattt?? *hic* I was supposed to start drinking tomorrow?...darn...*hic* I started early.....LOL!!

In some parts of the Pacific Islands, they have "Flores De Mayo"--they have this "Reyna Elena" as the queen of the parade. I think it is part of this Cinco De Mayo thing. I think not sure...Ok, back to my Guinness and Cafe Petron... ;)
May 05, 2011
LOL...sounds *hic* good to *hic* me! So, it's Guinness, Sauerkraut and Churros? Yummm....;p
May 05, 2011
@woopak_the_thrill, I believe all Americans have been drinking since news of Osama. U're just in time, LOL
 
1
More Cinco de Mayo reviews
Quick Tip by . May 06, 2010
Judgeing by the hour wait at $1 taco night, I'd say it is a pretty popular holiday!
review by . November 28, 2009
I want tequila in May 5th!
May 5th is good day for all mexican people and American neighbors because the Mexican army fought against the French army and Mexico was victorious. In the first clashes the French army advanced up to the city of Puebla de los angeles but Mexican army fought endessly against the enemies. The cooperation of all Mexicans made victory possible but the ambition of the French seize Mexican territory at that time did not finish. The French withdrew for Mexican territory but returned with more soldiers …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki



Cinco de Mayo, Spanish for fifth of May, commemorates the Mexican army's improbable victory over French forces during the Battle of Pueblo on May 5th, 1862. On this day, 4000 Mexican soldiers succeeded in defeating the exceedingly equipped 8000 unit French Army, which had gone undefeated for the past 50 years. The battle took place in Pueblo, 100 miles east of Mexico City.

This regional Mexico holiday is celebrated primarily in the state of Pueblo with limited recognition in other parts of Mexico. Although not a federal holiday in Mexico, it is voluntarily recognized by many. The day is celebrated on a much larger scale around the US and major cities around the world as a celebration of Mexican heritage and pride. The day is often associated with parades, mariachi music, dancing, margaritas and other types of festive activities.

view wiki

Tags

Culture, Holidays, Mexican, Mexico, Holiday, Hispanic Culture, Cinco De Mayo, Mariachi, Mexican Heritage, Mexican Holidays

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists