|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Parenting » Reviews » Citizenpip Lunch Totes » User review

Packing a healthy lunch doesn't have to be hard!

  • Dec 19, 2009
Rating:
+5
I know we all want to eat healthier. If your child goes to school, I am sure you are either concerned with what is served for the school lunch or you pack your own. I remember always bringing my own lunch to school (some 10 years ago) because unfortunately, what was being served was disgusting at best. Not to mention very unhealthy. If you can afford to pack your own, that's the way to go. To help you make school lunches fun and easier to pack, consider Citizen Pip lunch kits. 

Citizen Pip sent us a Soup to Nuts reusable lunch kit to try out. It is great because everything you might need is in one kit: an insulated lunch bag, water bottle, insulated food jar, BPA-free airtight food containers, fork+spoon, and reusable napkins. You can use all of them at once or just a few. It works great with both hot and cold lunches. The best thing is not just that it is reusable, but it doesn't contain any 'muck', i.e. lead, phthalates, or BPA.

WHAT WE LOVE: You can put hot foods in the insulated jar, even soup, without any spilling. In the warmer months you can put cold foods in there, like ice cream! Ahem... very healthy ;) I love the reusable napkins. If I could count how many napkins I threw in the trash in my school career, it would probably result in the deforestation of twenty five US states. The fork and spoon are great, who needs disposable anyway? I never liked plastic utensils, they would always break when you try to catch that piece of cantaloupe! The food containers come in several sizes, so they're perfect for any meal combination. I think the biggest one should be used for fruits and veggies and the smaller ones for everything else. Make your own food pyramid!

COMPANY: Citizenpip is one of those companies you can feel good about supporting. Started by a mom, it helps other moms make steps for better health and a better future for their children. They also have a great Citizenpip @ school program for helping schools raise money and reduce waste. Also, they will plant one tree for every $10 spent through 12/31/09 and they will donate $300 to a green non-profit organization (Trees for the Future, Environmental Working Group, or Healthy Child Healthy World) on behalf of the blog that redeems the most coupon codes before the end of this year (see below for code). 

See my profile for the link to my blog where Citizen Pip is generously giving away one Square Meal Kit. You can also use the code ECOBABYZgive to receive a free fork and spoon set with every order over $50 (before tax and shipping, just add it to your cart and use the code), expires 12/31/09.
Packing a healthy lunch doesn't have to be hard! Packing a healthy lunch doesn't have to be hard! Packing a healthy lunch doesn't have to be hard! Packing a healthy lunch doesn't have to be hard!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
August 07, 2011
This idea seems like a great way to reduce waste.
 
December 20, 2009
What a great idea! Don't you hate the waste generated by plastic utensils, paper plates and bags. We waste so much in this country. Fabulous review!
December 20, 2009
Thanks Paul. Yes, a ton of waste. When we first came to the States we wondered why we had to take the trash out nearly every day, we only did it once a week back in Russia. We just didn't have that much packaging and left overs/spoilage. Although now I am sure it has gotten worse there too. I am all for reusable things!
 
December 20, 2009
This is so cute!  I love that they're eco-friendly, not to mention, Lunch colors, too ;)  Thanks for the review, and for sharing the discount code with us, Anastasia!
December 20, 2009
Yeah, that's ironic, this is so Lunch!
 
1
More Citizenpip Lunch Totes reviews
review by . March 23, 2010
posted in Green Living
I had to do a lot of digging for the girls' before they settled on these Citizenpip lunch totes. My girls not only wanted something environmentally friendly, but something fun, hip, and snazzy!  I had found an online coupon to get these, because we are on a tight budget. Anyhoo, you can see photo's of the one's we bought for our girl's next to this review. The main thing we loved about this sight is that you can buy what you want/need. That way you don't get stuck with items …
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #23
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Citizenpip makes it easy to go green with products that are designed to be fun and stylish for kids, and practical and easy for parents.

Choose a convenient lunch kit that comes with everything you need to pack a waste-free lunch or just pick and choose the gear that you need for maximum flexibility.

In addition to waste-free, Citizenpip firmly believes your lunch should also be muck-free.

That means no lead, BPA, or phthalates.

While the limits do continue to decrease, the Consumer Public Safety Information Act (CPSIA) currently allows low levels of lead and phthalates in products, which are sometimes marketed as lead-safe or meeting CPSIA standards.

We won't settle for low. To meet our muck-free standard, Citizenpip products are all tested by a CPSIA accredited lab to have no detected traces of lead, BPA, or phthalates.

Waste-free, muck-free, and worry-free. Who says there's no such thing as a free lunch?!

view wiki

Tags

Parenting, Citizenpip, Lunch Totes

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists