|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Congo (book) » User review

Congo

A novel by Michael Crichton

< read all 8 reviews

Never go into the jungle alone, or with armed guides either

  • Jul 1, 2010
Rating:
+5

My emotional response as I read was that of amazement as I follow the trek deep into the African jungle.  The imagery that the author displays is just as rich as the foliage of the Congo jungle where the story takes place.

I would recommend this reading to anyone who is a fan of Crichton or to anyone who wants to read a good book before seeing a mediocre movie adaption.  Like I said the book is rich in imagery and hard to put down.

The setting starts of in Houston, and ends up on the African continent where the characters endure volcanoes, ancient cities, dangerous rivers, and dangerous animals.

The story starts off in Houston, Texas where Karen Ross witnesses via satelite  cameras an attack on her counterparts.  Besides an active volcano, Karen has to outwit rival countries, get thru the country while a civil war is under way, and of course fight off grey gorillas that out number the group she is with.
 
The character that changes the most is the gorilla Amy.  An outcast from the beginning by other gorillas, by the end you see her willing to accept the new fate that Peter, her trainer, wants for her.

The purpose of this novel is to show the desire to live by the human race in an unknown environment.  Nature is deadly, and some places on earth are dangerous for humans.  Congo also shows the greed of companies regardless of country of origin, and the the lengths that some will go for profit and control.  Nature is supreme to all, no matter the level of technology that one does wield.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Congo (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
   I am not sure why everyone is giving this book such high ratings.  However, Michael Crichton is one of my favorite authors.  As a member of the science community, I find Crichton's work to bring out the best of my nerdiness;  to remind me of fond memories of late nights studying for Biochem.  On a serious note though, I figured Congo would be yet another top shelf beauty goal to get the overtime victory.  Wrong.  Utterly wrong.  Maybe I just don't …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Interesting concept, done executed fairly well.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Chricton traded the old story of the elephants burial ground and the glory of ivory for some monkeys and diamonds. good adaptive tell
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
An interesting book from Michael Crichton, but does not draw you in as much as some of the other things he has written.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
So much better than the movie.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Like much of Chrichton's work, a solidly-researched, fast-moving tale that is just a half-step away from being reality. Intriguing and satisfying. Great summer reading.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Probably my least favorite Crichton novel.
About the reviewer
Ryan Revolver ()
Ranked #1403
I recently switched my car insurance to Geico.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ryanrevolver
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

 Congo is a 1980 science fiction novel by Michael Crichton. The novel centers on an expedition searching for diamonds and inspecting the mysterious deaths of the previous expedition in the dense rain forest of Congo.

Plot:

The novel starts with an abrupt end to an expedition sent by Earth Resource Technology Services Inc. in the dense rain forests of Congo when the team is attacked and killed by an unknown foe and all contact with them is lost. The expedition, searching for deposits of valuable diamonds in the world, discovered the legendary lost city of Zinj. A video image taken by a camera there, and transmitted by satellite to the base station in Houston, shows a peculiar race of gorillas to be responsible for the murders. Those gorillas are different from normal gorillas in their appearance and odd life styles. They are gray and rather small, and they seem to communicate via wheezing sounds.

Another expedition, led by Karen Ross, is launched to find out the truth and to find the city of Zinj, and the deposits of the new type of diamond that would change the shape of technology and the world as we know it: these diamonds are blue-colored due to boron doping, which also gives them unique semiconductor-like capabilities. This time the searchers bring along the famous White African mercenary Munro, as well as a female gorilla named Amy, who has been trained...

view wiki

Details

© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists