|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Costco Hot Dog » User review

Costco Hot Dog

The hot dog sold at the Costco Food Court

< read all 1 reviews

The Costco Hot Dog... aka Lunch for $3

  • Sep 29, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
It's tough to find issue with the Costco Hot Dog. For $1.50, you get your choice of a hot dog or a polish sausage as well as a fountain drink. I generally tend to go with one of each (even though I really can't tell the difference between the two).

For $3 I get two good size hot dogs and two drinks. You can donate your extra cup to someone else in line who is only going for a slice of pizza, so it makes you feel good about giving to others as well. As for toppings, I apply a line of deli mustard and then load the hot dog up with diced onions from the onion crank (I LOVE the Costco onion crank. I wish they sold THAT in the store). You need to make sure you put the mustard on first, as it acts as the glue to keep the onions from falling off.

A little known secret is that you can also ask for a cup of sauerkraut when you order your hot dog -- and it's free. Seriously! It's $1.50! How can you go wrong?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
36
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
January 17, 2013
Mmmmmmm. LUV me some Costco lunch. My arteries are full from their cheese pizza slices, too, but, every now and then, I pick up a dog.
 
January 17, 2013
Mmmmmmm. LUV me some Costco lunch. My arteries are full from their cheese pizza slices, too, but, every now and then, I pick up a dog.
 
April 30, 2011
If I could give the Costco hot dog a plus-10, I would. In fact, I enjoy just reading about them. Nice review.
 
April 29, 2011
mmmm Hebrew National, one of the best dogs.
 
April 29, 2011
ahhh...love the hotdogs LOL!!
 
October 01, 2010
Oh, fo 'sho. The only reason I add deli mustard is for onion glue. I'm actually pretty paranoid about my onion not sticking, so I generally douse my Polish sausage in it. Plus ketchup to be sure.  You're hardcore for eating two in one sitting.  Just one fills me up.
 
September 30, 2010
What a great review! I love the costco dogs.. maybe you should do a review on the pizza! I was in Cabo along time ago and was on my way from the airport to my hotel. All my friends and I had gone down there for spring break. On our way to the hotel we were all so excited to get to the beach to get the party started but noticed a costco on the drive in. We had to stop and buy costco dogs! But of course we had to get the drinks to. Point of my story is they are just as good around the world as they are here...consistency at it's finest!
 
September 30, 2010
mustard as glue to catch the onions... great tip and visual... i can see now and almost taste it.
 
September 30, 2010
I love a Costco dog once in a while. One of my favorite treats when I'm biking is to stop at Costco and pig out on a Costco dog with lots of mustard and relish, and a churro. It's a cheap and yummy lunch. Great review!
 
September 30, 2010
My last Costco hot dog was like eating rubber. I wish I had known about the sauerkraut to add flavor and interest.
September 30, 2010
rubber that tastes like kobe beef!
October 01, 2010
Great review. I had no idea about the cup of kraut on the side. I'm not a very adventurous hot dog eater, and ten to stick to one or two condiments tops, but I'll have to throw things for a loop next trip.
 
1
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #23
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TeamAWAC
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists