|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Apparel » Reviews » Crossroads Trading Co » User review

Secondhand apparel store chain in California, northwest Pacific, and Chicago

< read all 1 reviews

Where to find designer clothing at recession prices!

  • Mar 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
This weekend, I found a black leather Bally handbag  at Crossroads Trading Co for $18. Great condition, suede lining, and sturdy, detailed stitching.  Do I need to go on?

Crossroads Trading Co. is a secondhand chain with stores in California, the Pacific Northwest, and Chicago. I've been to their stores in Chicago and Northern California, and over repeated visits, I've noticed that I tend to get luckier at a Crossroads store than at some "secret" East Village secondhand boutique. Who wants to buy Upper East Side castoffs anyway? I don't need a Judith Leiber crocodile-shaped minaudiere that much (Actually, now that I think about it, I kinda do.)

In the past at Crossroads, I've found a Marc by Marc Jacobs summer dress for $30 (which is about how much I think it's really worth), an Alexandre Herchcovitch black spidery dress for $80, and a brand new Theory blazer for $60. All have been in good condition. You can also easily find clothes from mid-range commercial retailers (Banana Republic, Urban Outfitters, etc), but I really come here for thrifty designer finds.

This isn't Decades, but I find the selection well-maintained, the pricing more than reasonable (maybe even a little under-priced), and the merchandise well-displayed. One feature I like about their display is how they hang  some of their choice-ier finds on the walls, with clearly marked label and price tag. Great for grab-n-go shopping!

Tell me about your finds in the comments!

Crossroads Trading Co (from Thomas Hawk flickr)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
28
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
October 27, 2010
I've been to Crossroads once and they definitely had some awesome finds! Thanks for the review, =]
 
March 26, 2010
As an avid thrift store shopper and flea market junkie, I highly encourage you to shop the pages of shopnastygal.com and pixiemarket.com. While it's a bit more pricey then some of the finds at Crossroads--it's definitely worth your time scoping out! I think you might like my community CollegeFashionista as well! Check it out.
 
April 02, 2009
Hey Ling do they sell clothes on the web? I am a sucker for a second hand store!
April 03, 2009
Sadly, no! You just gotta come out here to Cali sometime! ;)
 
March 12, 2009
Nicely done, Ling. I live in San Fran and for some reason I've never heard of this? Just ask me where to get used dvds LOL but I know nothing about this place. great write up!
March 13, 2009
Thanks, woopak! You SHOULD write about where to get used DVDs in SF. Inquiring minds want to know!
March 13, 2009
Great idea! Maybe it's time to review the main place and website I get my asian movies too!
 
March 09, 2009
Its interesting how well discount clothing stores are doing in Depression 2.0. At least I know H&M is doing quite well. Havnt heard of crossroads but a great review.
 
March 02, 2009
Thanks for sharing. I have never heard of Crossroads before. Do you know if they have Southern CA locations?
March 11, 2009
Hi Tori! Yep, Crossroads has locations in LA and Orange County. Thanks for pointing it out! I'll be updating my wiki for data point! ;)
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #84
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Crossroads Trading Co. is a secondhand clothing chain with 24 stores in California, Seattle, Portland, and Chicago. Four unique stores are located in San Francisco, with additional Bay Area stores in Berkeley, Oakland, San Jose (2), and Santa Cruz. Approximately 200 individuals are employed by the company.

Crossroads Trading Co., Inc., was founded in 1991 by Gerald Block and Chip Gerken, with corporate headquarters in Berkeley, CA. The store offers new and recycled clothing buys clothing for either cash or store credit. Crossroads pays 35% of the price that the item will be sold for in the store.

Each individual Crossroads store is designed to reflect the characteristics of the specific community in which it resides. Locations in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Chicago reflect a more urban design sensibility, while stores in Sacramento, San Jose, and Stockton reflect a more suburban aesthetic.

Crossroads Trading Co., Inc., also focuses on a progressive professional retail model that features competitive pay, a comprehensive benefits package, and numerous bonus opportunities.

The business has been featured in TIME, Daily Candy, and Lucky, in addition to other print and online publications.
view wiki

Tags

Fashion, Clothing, Shopping, Apparel, Vintage, Recycled Clothing, Vintage Clothing, Thrift Shop, Desginer, Clothtes, Vintage Boutique, Vintage Apparel, Crossroads, Thrift, Vintage Clothes, Crossroads Trading Co

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists