|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Cuisinart 1-1/2-Quart Automatic Ice Cream Maker » User review

I don't even buy ice cream anymore

  • Mar 5, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

While I'd like to try to coconut bliss and other various forms of coconut milk made vegan ice cream, I just can't do it.  Why?  Because they cost $5 a pint and why pay that when I can throw whatever my little heart desires into a blender, toss it into the ice cream maker and have home made ice cream inside of 30 minutes?  Yes, I used to eat lots of store bought vegan ice cream, and Turtle Mountain is still my favorite in that department.  But now I can eat whatever imaginative flavor comes to my mind and not solely the ones that happen to be on sale that day.

This little guy is truly awesome.  When I first started looking for an ice cream maker I was daunted by scary pictures of big blue tubs that required tons of ice and salt.  Yeah... that's gonna happen.  I was lucky enough to find one of these on Craigslist, but I would run out and buy one right now, if I were you, at full retail if I couldn't find a deal somewhere.  I basically have ice cream on demand, (because I keep the freezer bowl in the freezer at ALL times - just in case the need arises) assuming I have a block of Mori-Nu Silken Tofu sitting in my fridge.

And making vegan ice cream is incredibly uncomplicated.  If you already have the vegan bible (Veganomicon) you're set because Isa's basic recipe is golden and is what I usually base my creations off of.  If you don't have it, there's this blog for your perusal: http://veganicecream.blogspot.com/.  Most of these, if not all, recipes use milks and arrowroot - which isn't bad I just prefer the tofu.  There are also other ice cream cook books like The Vegan Scoop and Lick It.  The best part about making your own ice cream (aside from the feeling of accomplishment) is that you know exactly what's in it, which means you can alter the sugar, fat, etc. content to your liking. 

One problem I have encountered with making ice cream yourself is how hard it gets after you stick it in the freezer over night.  I don't like to have to chip my ice cream off with an ice pick.  But, if you don't mind a little booze, I have a superb solution; put some in it.  I add about 1/4 cup of rum or brandy to the ice cream mixture and I haven't had to break out the chainsaw since.  Being that alcohol doesn't freeze, 1/4 cup is just enough to keep the ice cream from morphing into a solid rock.  So there, catastrophe solved.

Some of my favorite concoctions so far have been pumpkin chocolate chip, rum raisin (with coconut milk), coffee ice cream with dark chocolate chunks and rum soaked cranberries, banana chocolate chip and cookies and cream.  I'm thinking of making peanut butter and jelly next.... What can you come up with?

P.S. I'm sure this makes dairy ice cream just as well (if you swing that way). =)

I don't even buy ice cream anymore I don't even buy ice cream anymore

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
March 05, 2010
I got one of these babies as a housewarming present a few years ago and I can't get enough of it! :D I'm not vegan, so I never even thought about making vegan ice cream on my own, but now that you mention it, I'd really love to give it a try, especially for my diabetic friends (my non-vegan recipe involves condensed milk). Thanks for sharing, Amber! I'll have to check out that blog. Oh, and add booze to my ice cream ;)
 
March 05, 2010
Mmmm, this sounds good. I just tried Coconut Bliss recently and loved it, but I was kind of sad by how high it was in both saturated and unsaturated fats. Still, it was tasty.
 
March 05, 2010
Sounds fascinating... making one's own ice cream at home? That's neat!
 
1
More Cuisinart 1-1/2-Quart Automati... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 06, 2010
More often than not I end up with 'milkshake' rather than 'ice cream' then have to freeze it for a few hours to get just the rig ht consistency. But then you better eat it right away or else the ice cream hardens into a rock! Cute maxhine though, just doesn't meet my needs.
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2010
I love this ice cream maker too! There are a lot of great recipes on the web for ice cream using coconut milk. I need to experiment more!
review by . December 07, 2008
Pros: Custom ingredients, easy-to-use, cleans easily, delicious, not too big, sleek, compact.     Cons: need 2nd bowl, have to make sure freezing bowl is frozen solid     The Bottom Line: When non-dairy ice creams compromised to unhealthy ingredients, I was thrilled to get this ice cream maker for a gift.  It is a great source of family entertainment too!     In order to stay at top level health, I have not been able to eat traditional …
review by . August 28, 2006
One of the best things about homemade ice cream and ice is that they seem to encourage people to join in making them. When I first started using mine for dinner parties, I would apologetically excuse myself, duck in the kitchen, muffle the noise of the freezer with a towel and scoot back every so often to check on progress.  What I discovered was that people like to gather around the thing while it's running, so now I simply hand people a drink while I get the ingredients and we all stand …
About the reviewer
Amber Herrington ()
Ranked #448
I'm a 27 year old Arkansas escapee who came to Portland, OR a few years ago. I love the trees, running by the Willamette, public transportation, beer, wine, coffee, and farmers markets. I started following … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
parsnipsandsprocke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Creating up to 1-1/2 quarts of ice cream, frozen yogurt, sorbet, or frozen drinks at home takes only about 20 minutes with this electric appliance, and salt and ice are not needed. After the machine's chilling chamber has been in the freezer for about eight hours the liquid between its walls becomes thoroughly frozen. The chamber then goes atop the power base, the unit's paddle goes into the chamber, the transparent top is locked in place, and the machine is turned on. Ingredients go into the chamber through an opening in the top as the paddle turns. The chamber chills the ingredients to whatever consistency is desired--though dense treats are hard to make because the paddle churns in air.

Chocolate chips, chopped fruit, nuts, and other special ingredients can be added toward the end. The nonstick chamber makes cleanup a snap. Storing it in the freezer ensures a frozen confection is only 20 to 40 minutes away when the mood strikes. The machine measures 10 inches in diameter and 15 inches high and weighs 9-1/2 pounds. It carries a three-year limited warranty. A detailed instruction booklet including many recipes comes included. --Fred Brack

From the Manufacturer

view wiki

Details

Type: Appliance
Model: Cuisinart
Features: Creating up to 1-1/2 quarts of ice cream, frozen yogurt, sorbet, or frozen drinks at home takes only about 20 minutes with this electric appliance.

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists