|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Social Media » Reviews » Custom Badges in Communities on Lunch » User review

Custom Badges in Communities on Lunch

A feature on Communities on Lunch where Founders can create custom badges for their members to unlock.

< read all 5 reviews

"See how many laps you can run today. Try and beat it tommorrow!"

  • Sep 26, 2010
Rating:
+5
As a community founder on lunch a great feature we have for our communities is the creation of badges, those nice little accomplishments you can unlock.  For my community "Where no Website Has Gone Before" devoted to Star Trek, I made it a point to try and get many badges made.

It was easy at first, review a movie or a TV show for Star Trek.  Trek has 11 movies and 6 TV shows.  How about making more badges for reviewing more of those items?  Sure why not?  Then I thought about characters which Trek is in no small supply of, review those, get your opinions out there and get some more badges created for the interest in activity.

Creating your own badges is a great way to set those challenges up for yourself andothers to encourage the reviewing of certain topics.  Getting back to my own community there isn't always the drive to want to talk about something or someone but for the reward of the badge it makes you put some effort out for a reward and contribute something to the site.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
September 26, 2010
Great review, John! It's nice to hear a Luncher's perspective about this and I'm really glad to hear that you dig Custom Badges :)
 
September 26, 2010
I'm not entirely sure I agree because sometimes things like this cause a drive for quantity at the expense of quality. There is a LOT of that happening lately.
September 26, 2010
Thanks for sharing your insight on custom badges, Paul! Quantity over quality was not what we had in mind for custom badges, but there certainly is potential for that. At the end of the day though, it's the quality reviews that get the most attention, what with the ratings, comments and the chance to be featured. If you have any feedback about what we can do to improve this feature, we're all ears! Thanks again, Paul :)
 
1
More Custom Badges in Communities o... reviews
Quick Tip by . April 05, 2011
This is a question...Are you planning on adding new badges for picture books on Easter like we had for Christmas and Thanksgiving? I've got 4 books in review on the subject coming up.  
Quick Tip by . September 22, 2010
As a founder, it's fun to create those challenges for yourself, meet them and then be rewarded for them.
Quick Tip by . August 10, 2010
I really like this feature. It is fun when you unlock a new badge.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
I absolutely love these. Now, as a community founder, I can make special rewards for people who have contributed their time and energies to both my community and their favorite subjects. I really like the way that these custom badges reflect more specific interests.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Custom Badges on Lunch is a feature in Communities on Lunch where Founders can create custom badges for their members to unlock.  This allows for Founders to create their own social game by creating customized reward badges for specific reviews and quick tips on topics within their communities.

Founders can access this feature by going to their community homepage and hovering over the "Manage" link, then scrolling down to "Badges".  Once on that page, Founders can then pick the topics that they would like their members to review in order to unlock the badge, as well as create a name, description and image for it.

There are also several badge settings that Founders can choose from, including the number of topics that must be reviewed in order to unlock a badge, how many members can unlock it, and an expiration date can also be imposed on it.
view wiki

Details

Polls
About Section in Communities on Lunch

Favorite Features on Lunch.com

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists