|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Holidays » Reviews » Cyber Monday » User review

Cyber Monday

The Monday immediately following Black Friday for retail electronic commerce sales.

< read all 4 reviews

Wait Outside in the Cold OR Get the Same Deals from the Comfort of Your Home?

  • Nov 21, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
I've never been a big fan of Black Friday. Some people hear that and think.... OMGIHAVETOGOSOTHATICANBUYTHEPERFECTGIFTFORCHEAP! I think UUUUGGGGGHHHH. Who wants to fight/shove/push/trample people to grab at the best present for good ol' whatshername after waiting for sometimes days in the cold? Malls on their own are not my favorite places, I often like to walk down city streets and pop into boutiques along the way. But, what about those KILLER deals? How can I get the same deals, if not better deals, but without all the stress and fighting? Enter Cyber Monday to the rescue!


Cyber Monday is always the Monday that follows Thanksgiving and Black Friday. It was introduced on November 28, 2005 in a Shop.org press release entitled "'Cyber Monday' Quickly Becoming One of the Biggest Online Shopping Days of the Year". It came from Shop.org's study that 78% of online retailers reported a significant increase in sales on the Monday after Thanksgiving in 2004. In fact, last year it was reported that $1,028,000,000 was spent on Cyber Monday, making it the biggest online shopping day ever.



Also, plenty of retailers want to get you shopping even before Black Friday and both online and offline retailers have been touting pre-Black Friday sales. Have no clue where to start? Check out www.cybermonday.com. It highlights deals from over 700 retailers which include Toys R Us, Nordstrom, Bloomies, Target, Kohls and many more. 

So, when everyone else is out freezing in the cold, relax post-turkey day, snuggle up on the couch for some good movies, a log in the fireplace, and hot apple cider or one of these 10 Drinks to Keep You Warm on a Cold Night or check out these Gifts Under $30 That Give Back. Breathe. Relax. You have all weekend because come Monday morning, you can get it all done with the click of your mouse.                                                               

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
November 29, 2011
The latter, duh! ;) I'll have to check out that website when I get a chance. Thanks!
November 29, 2011
Exactly my sentiments!
 
November 28, 2011
Great write up; I agree, I refuse to go out on Black Friday and risk my life just for a deal - people getting pepper sprayed, getting beat up and everything else is not my idea of fun!
November 28, 2011
It's craziness! I can't believe people go so far and it just shows that they don't know what Christmas is really about...they might feel guilty for not spending time with their loved ones and think they can buy their way out but, that's not true. I guarantee you your family would rather spend the holiday weekend with you then, in Walmart!
November 29, 2011
EXACTLY!!
 
November 23, 2011
What I did for Black Friday deals was that I ordered the ones I like and chose store pick up. BBuy has this feature this year. Thanks for the remainder on Cyber Monday!
November 23, 2011
Ooh...that's a good idea!
 
1
More Cyber Monday reviews
Quick Tip by . November 30, 2010
I always stay away from the malls on Black Friday but, fire up my laptop for Cyber Monday. I'm not the biggest fan of malls and start getting physically ill after 2-3 hours. You can't beat getting great deals in your jammies by a fire!
Quick Tip by . November 30, 2009
Black Friday, I don't like so much, but Cyber Monday, I can deal with. Good luck, shoppers!
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
Gap
Gap
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Cyber Monday is a marketing propaganda term that refers to the Monday immediately following Black Friday being the busiest day of the year for retail electronic commerce.  The term was created by the National Retail Federation and announced in conjunction with the deployment of their own website CyberMonday.com designed to serve as a portal for Cyber Monday deals and offers.

Since its inception, critics contend that consumer purchasing habits represent more of a static growth throughout the holiday season as opposed to one day in which companies "see any (unusual) traffic" on websites. It has been postulated that through mainstream media adoption of the term, combined with retailers hoping to drive more traffic to their sites, that the "Gimmick" of Cyber Monday could become a "Real Trend".

The term "Cyber Monday" is a neologism invented by Shop.org, part of the U.S. trade association National Retail Federation. It was first used within the ecommerce community during the 2005 holiday season. According to Scott Silverman, the head of Shop.org, the term was coined based on research showing that 77% of online retailers reported a significant increase in sales on the Monday after Thanksgiving in 2004. In late November 2005, the New York Times reported that "The name Cyber Monday grew out of the observation that millions of otherwise productive working Americans, fresh off a Thanksgiving weekend of window shopping, were returning ...
view wiki

Tags

Shopping, Holidays, Eshopping, Sales, Cyber Monday, Holiday Shopping

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists