|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » DJ AM » User review

Rest In Power DJ AM

American DJ aka Adam Goldstein (March 30, 1973 - August 28, 2009)

< read all 4 reviews

Rest In Power To The Best Genre Skipping DJs of All Time...

  • Aug 29, 2009
Rating:
+5
One of the best genre skipping DJs to have ever lived, DJ AM aka Adam Goldstein, will be greatly missed by the DJ community, clubgoers everywhere who were priveleged enough to see him spin just once, and the music community worldwide. Goldstein's body was found dead in his New York apartment at 5:20pm EST today, August 28, 2009. There was drug paraphenilia in the apartment, no sign of foul play, and as of this writing, it is a suspected suicide.

His last tweet quoted Grandmaster Flash, prophetically claiming, "New York, New York. Big city of dreams, but everything in New York ain't always what it seems." I guess not.

DJ AM had found fame through high profile romances with both Mandy Moore and Nicole Richie but, found talent the old fashioned way, by working hard and practicing even harder. He began his career as a member of the rock group Crazytown who's best known for their hit "Butterfly" and recently circled back to his rock roots by pairing with Blink 182 drummer, Travis Barker, performing a live DJ/drum show under the name TRVSDJAM at least once a month. He was in high demand for many celebrity events and held down residencies in Hollywood, Las Vegas and, recently, Atlantic City.

It was at one of these celebrity events that I had first seen AM live. He was DJing for a Kanye West studio party to which I had been invited. As a DJ and hearing all the hype that surrounded him, I approached him with skepticism. But, he quickly blew that skepticism right out of the water. In what seemed like two minutes, he had gone from old skool rap to rock to metal to classic rock to Top 40 pop hop to pop to R&B to....you get the picture. At the end of it, I remember feeling two things distinctly- mental exhaustion from trying to keep up and process everything I'd heard and an intense desire to practice my own DJing skills, or lack thereof in comparison.

This feeling would continue to follow after every live performance that I was blessed to have seen from him. It is such a tragedy that someone who had allegedly beat drug addiction as well as a plane crash with Travis Barker which killed four other people but, burned both him and Barker, could die in this manner. After receiving skin grafting surgery, he returned to performing with Jay-Z on stage. At the time, he told People magazine he was grateful to survive:

"I can't believe I made it," he said. "I've prayed every night for the past 10 years. There's a lot more to thank God for now. ... I was saved for a reason. Maybe I'm going to help someone else. I don't question it. All I know is I'm thankful to be here."

                               
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
September 01, 2009
His work was brilliant. The only person to compare him to would be him. Adam will be missed sorely...
 
August 29, 2009
Damn.... I can't believe DJ AM is dead! this year has been crazy!
August 31, 2009
no kidding...I think there's been way too many deaths for this year!
 
August 29, 2009
Nicely put, DJ Evoke.

RIP DJ AM.
August 31, 2009
Thanks Devora!
 
1
More DJ AM reviews
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
Unbelievable, he endured so much in his lifetime, depression, plane crash and all, but not... this. RIP DJ AM.
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
RIP DJ AM- you will be greatly missed.He was such an amazing & rare talent. Unbelievable...The link for more info:http://tinyurl.com/lrqkuf
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
I love this guy! Former BF Nicole Richie...this DJ can spin it. He's done work Papa Roach, Madonna, Will Smith, and Jay-Z
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

From his website:

DJ AM is the Entertainment Industry’s premier DJ, his name is synonymous with what’s happening in both music and pop culture in Los Angeles, New York, Las Vegas & Miami. Today’s most in demand DJ as well as a fixture in the night life scene, DJ AM currently has residencies at PURE in Las Vegas on Friday nights and at LAX on Sunday nights (a club he co-owns). His schedule has him traveling the world over to play special engagements in clubs, private parties and corporate events. It’s a guarantee that no matter what club he is in A- listers and hipsters alike are dancing on the banquets to his beats.

Before he became a full-time DJ, AM was already a fixture in the music world. He was a member of the rock group Crazytown who’s song “Butterfly” off the Platinum album: “The Gift of the Game” went straight to number 1 on the top 40 charts in April of 2001. He is in demand by everyone in the music business from A to Z and his work has appeared on albums for Madonna, Will Smith, Babyface, Powerman 5000, Bubba Sparxx, Nikki Costa and Papa Roach to name a few. He currently has a record deal with Interscope.

Most recently, DJ AM has partnered with Travis Barker (Blink 182) to perform a live DJing/drumming set, something that has never been done before. TRVSDJAM perform about once a month at sponsored events, clubs and concerts. There act is truly incredible, mixing live drum beats to scratched records, they ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists