|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Star Wars » Reviews » Darth Vader » User review

Darth Vader

A character in the original Star Wars trilogy

< read all 5 reviews

How the mighty have fallen to a real darkside

  • Jul 18, 2010
Rating:
+2

While I liked some of the prequel movies, no one is telling me that they are winning awards for writing anytime soon.  Phantom Menace and Revenge of the Sith both had some pretty big plot holes but at least they were fun action movies.  Attack of the Clones could be one of the worst things ever to be sprouted on God's green Earth, and that brings me to the subject of this review.  That is turning one of the silver screens most memorable and powerful villains into a simpering wimp.

Darth Vader if you've been living under a rock for the last 30 years or so was the main antagonist of the original Star Wars trilogy.  With his imposing black armor, labored and mechanical breathing and masked face, he was mysterious and creepy.  He had a lightsaber that could cut anything in his path, his powers of the force allowed him to move objects or even kill people with his mind.  He was also a fighter pilot with his own squadron and a fleet of immense space battleships for conquest.  He was a badass.

WAS.  Take a look at either Attack of the Clones or Revenge of the Sith and you'll see why.  I can't completely blame Hayden Christensen but he clearly needed help in direction and a better script to back him up.  Reading the EU graphic novel (and one of the best Star Wars comic series) Dark Empire, Luke joined the Dark Side to learn it's secrets and to learn why his dad went down that dark path.  In the films that followed 10 years later, we see that being told he is powerful and not trained properly, not to mention being browbeaten by his peers and manipulated by the dark side, you can't blame him for going the route he did. 

So instead of falling into evil and seduced by the Darkside and it's tales of power, he is tricked into it because he ended up hating his friends.  In between this, in the prequels he mules like a child about how life isn't fair and how people are holding him back-that one day he will be big and strong even saying that he is more powerful then Yoda.  Take this attitude later into Empire Strikes Back where he continually reneges on a deal with Lando.  Little Anny grew up to be an Asshole who got his way and now that hes Darth Vader the scourge of the galaxy who is a spoiled brat and it only makes me fear him cause I wouldn't want to work with him if given the chance cause I know he would screw me over to help ease his past of mistreatment.  I'm afraid of him more that he'd act like a stuck up asshole rather then be someone who'll kill me.  Even seeing him shout orders to his troops in the first Star Wars can't wash the taint away.

I talked about this in my Attack of the Clones review, but the same holds true here.  Darth Vader in the grand scheme of the 6 movies has been ruined.  Another book described Vader as "mad human wreckage" who went insane, but we all know he didn't.  He just had a king size hissy fit and lashed out at his supposed friends.

So....why does he still get a postive number?  Cause he's still Darth Vader and if your able to seal yourself away from the prequel movies and act like they didn't happen, he has much more appeal.  But....as Darth Vader once said, "It is too late for me."

How the mighty have fallen to a real darkside

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
October 17, 2011
welcome to: http://www.plzzshop.com The website wholesale for many kinds of fashion shoes, like the nike,jordan,prada,****, also including the jeans,shirts,bags,hat and the decorations. All the products are free shipping, and the the price is competitive, and also can accept the paypal payment.,after the payment, can ship within short time. free shipping competitive price any size available accept the paypal http://www.plzzshop.com jordan shoes $32 nike shox $32 Christan Audigier bikini $23 Ed Hardy Bikini $23 Smful short_t-shirt_woman $15 ed hardy short_tank_woman $16 Sandal $32 christian louboutin $80 Sunglass $15 COACH_Necklace $27 handbag $33 AF tank woman $17 puma slipper woman $30 http://www.plzzshop.com
May 30, 2012
Such a worthwhile post. When anyone thinks of Darth Vader, they can't help but think of sandals and bikinis.
 
July 19, 2010
I've only watched one of Star Wars films, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review!  Now I'm equipped to be kind of snobby when I talk to my Star Wars fan friends :P  If you're on twitter, there's actually a fake account on there tweeting as Darth Vadar.  Check out #8 on this twitter list that I made.  Thanks for sharing this great review, John!
July 20, 2010
A little bit of ammo never hurt. Kids need to go the playground with something. I hope no one reads this and has a "My childhood's been raped" like a lot of people will squeal sometimes, but I didn't grow up with Star Wars the way other people did. I just see a classic character, who with a backstory filled in lost a lot of love from me. Kinda like Wolverine in that Origins movie that came out, except I still like Wolverine as much as I ever did.
 
July 19, 2010
Really enjoyed this write up! You are one awesome STAR WARS mountain of info! I hope you do other write ups for the other major characters. Did you ever get into the animated movie CLONE WARS? The animated shorts were pretty cool before until it became the CGI version; which was alright but I am a sucker for traditional animation.. Thanks for the review! I'll feature this shortly...
July 19, 2010
I haven't seen the Clone Wars movie yet, mainly cause I hear "Padawana Montana" is a screen hog in it and I can't stand her. I know enough about Star Wars but not everything. Thank you for the compliment.
December 28, 2010
Hey, I just got done watching "Star Wars Tech" this morning! they had a pretty good breakdown on Vader!
 
1
More Darth Vader reviews
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2013
I dare you to call him a whiny little punk to his face!
Quick Tip by . May 28, 2012
Not sure if I'd call him the greatest villain ever, but he started out the very embodiment of evil and turned out to be a very well-rounded and fascinating character in the end. In a spiritual manner, I see a lot of myself in Darth Vader, encompassing his entire story from all six episodes.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The embodiment of why the prequels killed the original Star Wars film series, it made one of the most badass villians in movie history into a crying wimp.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Like many villains, was just misunderstood and needed a hug growing up. Too bad Revenge of the Sith was such a piece of crap.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Darth Vader is the central antagonist in George Lucas' original Star Wars trilogy and his final prequel, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith. In the original Star Wars trilogy, Vader is embodied by David Prowse, though Sebastian Shaw makes a brief cameo as the unmasked Vader. In Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, Vader is played by Hayden Christensen. Every scene in which the character appears masked, James Earl Jones provides Vader's voice.

Vader is one of the most iconic villains in film history, and was listed as the third greatest movie villain on the American Film Institute list "AFI's 100 Years... 100 Heroes and Villains".

In the original trilogy, George Lucas depicts Darth Vader as a fearsome cyborg who acts as the supreme commander of the brutal Galactic Empire. Throughout the films, Vader oppresses the galaxy and hunts down the members of the Rebel Alliance in the service of his master, Emperor Palpatine. In Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, the series' final chronological installment, Vader redeems himself by killing Palpatine and saving his son Luke (Mark Hamill), sacrificing himself in the process.

In the prequel trilogy, Lucas shows Vader as his former self, Anakin Skywalker, a slave boy who eventually becomes a Jedi Knight, and later, a hero in the Clone Wars. Palpatine manipulates Anakin into betraying the Jedi, and Anakin falls to the "dark side" of the mystical Force.

Reference: ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists