|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Death of Osama bin Laden » User review

Death of Osama bin Laden

The death of Osama bin Laden on May 1, 2011.

< read all 9 reviews

Is it the end of it all?

  • May 4, 2011
Rating:
+2
After almost 10 years, a few wars and death of countless people, the leadership of Osama bin Laden has finally reached an end after his death last sunday on May 1. Since early this year we had seen a lot of instability and activities in many part of the world, be it natural disasters, revolutions or royal celebrations. From the last quarter, we can further expect more escalations in deterioration of weather and possibly even terrorism.



Bin Laden's death does not quite spell the end of terrorism. It does spell justice for many who lost their family members on Sep. 11 and also those who went on to fight the war of terrorism. It is a closure for many people. An emotional closure very much needed for those who suffer from the horror of losing loved one's in a madness that many of us who didn't personally suffer can associate and imagine. No matter how much we try to empathize, the loss of loved ones create a vacuum and emptiness in the survival's lives.



Many Americans celebrate Osama bin Laden's death. It is a war won against terrorism as far as the western world is concerned. It is a victory and a justification for the resources spent on a 10-year war. It is also one which hopefully will bring the many soldiers stationed in the Middle East home. That is more meaningful for those families who have their sons', husbands' and fathers' lives at stake. I didn't keep a count and I wonder how many lives have been lost in the process?! This war has almost crippled the US treasury among other things. Budget that could have been spent on other ways to help one's citizens and saves lives have instead been spent on a war that is crucial for a democratic, open and safe world.

Now, is the world going to be more open and safe with Osama's death? We do not have answer to that. As it is, the governments are emphasizing about safety and staying vigilant for retaliations from other factions and supporters of Osama and of terrorism. Is it going to escalate further? Are others going to try to emulate Osama and may be even with the intention of making themselves an icon of a war that they believe in fighting against the West? 



So many questions, so little answers. I haven't traveled much in the last two years to the U.S. or European cities so I didn't have to put up with the awful airport security devices imposed on all air travelers. What I do know from what I heard from friends is that in order to maintain the freedom we all love, we have lost personal freedom of movement in the process. And if one thinks about it, this will not be the end of it all. It is not likely to end terrorism. Without Osama, there would be someone else to take up the seat. The seed of hatred and revenge had been planted long before Osama bin Laden. How the plant will grow depends on environmental conditions and its survival instinct. So, until the western world is able to uproot that ugly seed, things are not likely to stop. For awhile, the enemy will stay low but they will rearrange themselves and will emerge again. For all our sake, we'd better pray they do not form into a cyclone and thunderstorm which will cause even more nightmares and destructions for the rest of the world!!! New leaders (of whatever kind) have the tendency to try to prove themselves to the world and their supporters. They have an energy that existing leaders might have depleted during their reigns. That is clearly not something we all will look forward to (esp. where it will threaten our basic right of movement and survival)!!!

In the mean time, stay tune to the war In Libya! It is another tornado in the making, if not already!
Is it the end of it all?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
July 03, 2011
The Bush wars were Iraq and Afghanistan. Somehow, the USA must extricate itself from these messes and concentrate on energy development at home. i.e. solar, artificial sun, coal gasification, wind, geothermal etc.
 
May 05, 2011
When Bush made the premature decision to invade Iran I knew we as a Nation we stuck in the Mid-East for a very very long time if not forever!! My heart goes out to all the mothers of the soldiers who are so young and just were talked into signing up so they could afford college and then were sent unexpectedly to war ! We were at peace for so long they didn't have a chance !! We went to war to get back for all the lives lost on 9-11 how about all the lives lost now in the Mid-East? No its not over with Bin Ladins death a new terrorist will take over and after him another and another !! I mean what the hell " A war on Terrorism" Just those words alone make me shiver !! Terrorism will never never end so I guess this means that we will never ever leave the Mid-East!
May 05, 2011
An eye for an eye, vengeance begets even more vengeance... For some weird reasons, men seem to think the only solution is to go to war against one another!
May 05, 2011
Isn't that sad when forgiveness is the only true way to free your heart.
 
May 04, 2011
Nope. This will not be the end of it, I pray that it will be but I am I think it won't be the end of it. Please see the doco "My Trip to Al Quada". It was a pretty compelling watch.
May 05, 2011
Thanks! If I can get hold of a copy of it, I will!
 
May 04, 2011
I agree too but I don't have mixed feelings about him being gone. If anything it does help with attitude but anyone who thinks that's the end of terrorism is in a fantasy. Great article! You've written several the past month that are well-written, great pictures and very thought-provoking. Very hard to believe you don't like to write!
May 05, 2011
I do not think any of us have mixed feelings about him being gone. He was however trained by the CIA and over the past few years, we also see many highly educated men turning into some horrible terrorists. Instead of contributing to the good of mankind, they killed themselves for what they deemed a "greater good". I do think somewhere along the education of these men and their upbringing and circumstances things have gone very wrong! More resources ought to be spend on finding the cause rather than trying to clear the mess. 

How much resources have been used just to catch a man? And with him dead, some will be tempted to make him a "saint". That's when things got even worse!!!
May 05, 2011
As for writing, I've a mission to accomplish! Another 9 more reviews and that would be completed! Too bad one can't make a living out of writing (at least for me it doesn't look like that way, LOL)! Otherwise, I'd have been a little more motivated! I like being pragmatic more than I like writing :)
May 05, 2011
We may not agree on everything, but I do enjoy the articles. I'm looking forward to number 700 review this summer. I could never make a living out of it either but I do enjoy expressing myself through writing and photography. I wish I had the time and money to travel as you do. Nine more and then a break? OK!
 
May 04, 2011
I agree, this is not the end of terrorism. Besides Osama, there are plenty more out their, and directly linked to him, I'm sure that there are more than a few possible successors. I'm just amazed that Osama was able to fly under the radar for so long, and in a brand new mansion of all places. I have mixed feelings about the way he was found and died, but I guess to some, they can sleep a little easier knowing that he's gone.
May 05, 2011
Yeah, it's a total waste of resources. Had the intelligence been better, those resources could have been more productively spent elsewhere!
May 06, 2011
I agree. I just can't believe it took so long to find someone so high profile.
 
1
More Death of Osama bin Laden reviews
review by . May 02, 2011
Thank you to the Navy Seals and to President Obama !!!!!! To wake up to this news is AWESOME!!!! 
Quick Tip by . January 13, 2012
I may be really late chiming in on this issue, but because of this horrible man plotting many terrorist attacks, especially the September 11th attacks, I'd like to send a giant thanks to the Navy Seals who iced this detestable slimebag, and I'll cap this off with the following five words.      Good riddance to bad rubbish!!
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2011
I suppose it will be regarded as a historic event but I think it is basically irrelevant.    The nation that put men on the Moon can't tell the entire world the TONS of STEEL and TONS of CONCRETE that were on every level of buildings designed before 1969. The planes were less than 200 tons and contained 34 tons of kerosene. Each building was more than 400,000 tons with 100,000 tons of steel in each. This is a grade school physics problem.    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZT4 …
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2011
I must commend President Obama and his team for the flawless execution of this operation. We did not suffer one casualty and took out this monster Bin Laden quickly and efficiently. The President made the right call opting for a raid as opposed to an air strike. After all, this was a residential area. Furthermore, whoever came up with the idea to dump the body at sea should be commended. This was a stroke of genius. Once again, kudos to everyone involved in the planning and execution of this operation!  …
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2011
posted in People Power
Death is not something I'd wish upon anyone, be it in return for retaliation or justice. However, it is hard to feel pity for a man's death when he has killed thousands of innocent beings and made even more orphans. Hopefully, his death will spell the end of the terror the world has been made to face for the last decade or so. It may be too much to hope for but we cannot condone his past actions and extremism. All we can hope for is that with his death, the horror ends!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The death of Osama bin Laden was reported on Sunday, May 1, 2011. U.S. military forces had shot and killed Osama bin Laden in a 40-minute firefight in Abbottabad, Pakistan and then seized his body. U.S. President Barack Obama publicly reported on May 1, 2011, that bin Laden had been killed by a small special operations team. The operation was carried out by Joint Special Operations Command forces in Pakistan working with the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). After careful monitoring of a compound suspected to be bin Laden's residence in Pakistan, U.S. military forces were sent across the border of Afghanistan to launch the attack. Pakistani officials confirmed that bin Laden was killed in Pakistan by the U.S. military. The body was recovered by the U.S. military and is currently in its possession. ABC News has reported that the body has been identified by DNA testing.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists