|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World » User review

Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World

A book by Vicki Myron (contributor Bret Witter)

< read all 8 reviews

Cute and quick read

  • May 25, 2010
Rating:
+3

This is simply a cute and easy read.  The follows the life of a Library Cat, and the joys it brings to a community.  A must read for any cat lover. 


 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Dewey: The Small-Town Library ... reviews
review by . May 15, 2010
What was your emotional reaction as you read?       This book tells about the life of Dewey, how he came to be at the library and how he lived out his life there. This book had many funny parts about his life in the library and also a story that gripped you as you read about him.    Why? I am an animal lover and hate to see them in pain.         Who would you recommend this reading to and why?       I would highly recommend …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Beautiful book. I am a cat lover, and this just warmed my heart.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
I hadn't heard about Dewey before reading this. A great story for a cat lover.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Nice story. I love cats, so when I read the title I just had to read the book and I'm glad I did. Cute, touching story.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
You have to love Dewey. He's charming, adorable and helps to revive the spirits of a town. He makes you want to take him out of the book and give him a big hug!
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Good Book, Great Story, Interesting, catchy, gets you involved every chapter
About the reviewer
Molly Ann ()
Ranked #1781
Member Since: May 20, 2010
Last Login: Jun 11, 2010 08:51 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Mollyann
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


(Photo by Randy M. Cauthron) Vicki Myron shares the process involved in putting her labor of love on the pages of "Dewey: The Small-Town Libray Cat Who Touched the World."

Dewey, an abandoned kitten from the heartland, transforms a sleepy library, inspires a classic American town, and captures the hearts of animal lovers everywhere. Vicki Myron was a single mother who had survived the loss of her family farm and an alcoholic husband. But her biggest challenge as the new head librarian in Spencer, Iowa, was to raise the spirits of a small, out-of-the-way town mired deep in the farm crisis of the 1980s.

Then, on the coldest morning of the year, Vicki found a tiny, bedraggled kitten almost frozen to death in the night drop box, and her life—and the town of Spencer—was never the same. Dewey, as the townspeople named the kitten, grew into a strutting, affable library cat whose antics kept patrons in stitches, and whose sixth sense about those in need created hundreds of deep and loving friendships.

As his fame grew, people drove hundreds of miles to meet Dewey, and he even ended up in a hit television documentary…in Japan! Through it all, Dewey remained a loyal companion, a beacon of hope not just for Vicki Myron, but for the entire town of Spencer as it slowly, steadily pulled itself up from the worst financial crisis in its long history.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists