|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Django Unchained » User review

Django Unchained

The 2012 film by Quentin Tarantino

< read all 6 reviews

Review: 'Quentin Tarantino creates an over the top funny, graphically violent, masterpiece (video)

  • Dec 23, 2012
Rating:
+5
'Django Unchained' Movie Review
By Joan Alperin Schwartz

Quentin Tarantino has done it again with this spaghetti style western.  'Django Unchained' is set in the South, two years before the Civil War.
                                                                              
Not only has Tarantino created an over the top funny, graphic, violent film, but he also manages to show the horror of slavery in a way, I can't ever remember seeing in a Hollywood film.

But then again, Mr. T. doesn't do Hollywood films.  He does Quentin Tarrantino films and this one, in my humble opinion is...a masterpiece.
                                                                         

Jamie Fox is 'Django' (the D is silent)...a slave who's been brutalized by his former owner (Bruce Dern)
One day, Gerrman born, retired dentist/bounty hunter, Dr. King Schultz (the outstanding Christopher Walz) comes across Django chained to other slaves.  Schultz buys him and agrees to give Django his freedom...if Django agrees to help him find the murderous Brittle Brothers.

Only Django knows what they look like and he agrees to help.  In exchange, Schultz teaches him everything he knows about tracking, hunting and shooting.

It doesn't take long for Django to become Schultz's star pupil.  To say the former slave is extremely motivated would be an understatement. Django is determined to find and rescue the his wife, Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) whom he lost to a slave trader years ago.

Through a series of flashbacks, we see the sick, cruel, inhumane treatment that Django, his wife, and other slaves endured.

Django and Schultz's search ultimately leads them to a plantation called 'Candyland' owned by the monstrous Calvin Candie (Leonardo Di Caprio in a tour de force performance)

They get into Calvin's plantation under false pretenses...pretending they are interested in buying a slave for fighting. (think 'Mandingo' )

It's here they meet Calvin's trusted house slave, Stephen (Samuel L. Jackson).  Mr. Jackson has never been better as the manipulative, self hating, Uncle Tom.  He's so good in the part, he made my skin crawl.  This is a man that would sell out his own mother just to stay in favor with his master.

Too say anymore, would spoil this brilliant, must see film.

The supporting cast including, Don Johnson, James Remar, James Russo, Dennis Christopher, Tom Wopat, Franco Nero, Robert Carradine and Tarrantino are all excellent.

I gave 'Django Unchained' which opens in theatres, Tuesday, December 25, 2012...5 bagels out of 5. Check out our video to find out John's score and for more of our silly banter.
                                                                       

Please SUBSCRIBE to our youtube channel.  As of today, we need only 5 more subscribers to reach 1000.  And LIKE us on our Two Jews On Film facebook page.

Thanks so much everyone and please let us know what you think of 'Django Unchained.'    .
Review: 'Quentin Tarantino creates an over the top funny, graphically violent, masterpiece (video) Review: 'Quentin Tarantino creates an over the top funny, graphically violent, masterpiece (video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
December 27, 2012
The characters of this film made me like it more than I would've expected. My fave Tarantino movies are PULP FICTION, RESERVOIR DOGS, JACKI BROWN and KILL BILL. I do have to agree with John that Tarantino had some issues with pacing and SOME scenes could've been without. I have to admit that I really liked the movie until it went a little downhill once it tried to speed things up.

You guys are funny--if you'd like maybe you and John can read my review and tell me if I missed something. Different eyes for the same movie can yield a lot of info.
 
1
More Django Unchained reviews
review by . December 27, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
A Mash of German Legend, Spaghetti Westerns, Modern Music, Samurai Flicks and Historical References.
When I saw Quentin Tarantino’s cameo appearance in Takashi Miike’s “Sukiyaki Western Django” (please see the original uncut of Miike’s movie before you judge it), I had a small hunch that the acclaimed director was about to go into something with the ‘western’ flavor (or so he states ‘southern’), and guess what, I wasn‘t far from wrong. Tarantino’s movies often become something to be anticipated, probably because of the fact …
review by . January 03, 2013
posted in Movie Hype
I am not a Tarentino "fan", having only seen his last two movies, and both are five star classics.  Before I saw these movies, my take on Tarentino based on skimming critical reviews was that Tarentino films glorified violence and were cartoonish B-grade movies.      Neither description applies to Inglorious Basterds and Django.  What we're talking about here isn't history, its morality.  In Basterds, Tarentino ripped any semblance of respect …
review by . January 02, 2013
posted in Movie Hype
A German Bounty Hunter/Dentist played by Christopher Waltz (who we last saw in Inglorious Basterds) tries to buy Django (Jamie Foxx) from a slaver. The reason? Django can identify three brothers who Waltz is hunting for a bounty. Waltz lets Django know that if he goes with him and points out his bounty, he will free Django and pay him for his trouble.      Django agrees to Waltz's offer and Waltz can only get him from the slavers in dramatic fashion (reminicent of Gene Wilder …
review by . January 05, 2013
posted in Movie Hype
Django broke free of those chains, if only Tarantino could get back on his though.
For almost 10 years now, Tarantino has regaled us with his takes on his favorite genre of movies, the grindhouse karate and massacre exploitation variety.  This was fun for a while and while Tarantino is a skilled director and writer, this is really starting to get old hat since we have seen this before.  I'm about to take a line from Roger Ebert as tacky as that may be: "Now that we know what kind of movie Tarantino can make, it's time for him to make a better one."   …
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2012
German bounty hunter frees a black slave to show him the trade of being a manhunter and to help him find his missing wife. More fulfilling then Inglorius Basterds but takes it's time just the same.
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #34
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Movies, Western, Quentin Tarantino, Leonard Dicaprio, Kerry Washington, Christopher Waltz

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists