|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beverages » Reviews » Egg Soda » User review

Egg Soda

A sweet Vietnamese drink made from egg yolk, sweetened condensed milk, and club soda.

< read all 1 reviews

Way More Delicious Than It Sounds.

  • Sep 28, 2009
Rating:
+5
A few days ago, I tweeted out my quick tip of Vietnamese spring rolls, where I wrote that the spring rolls were "perfect with an egg soda, lemon soda or cafe sua da".  I got a surprisingly amount of responses to that tweet, mostly people asking what an egg soda is, and one saying, "I hope thats a brand name and not an ingredient.". 

Well, to clear it up -- yes, egg is indeed an ingredient in this drink; it's not a misnomer.  I think that the best way to describe it is like a Vietnamese egg nog... EXCEPT SO MUCH BETTER!  Sorry, egg nog lovers, but egg nog has never really been my thing.  Something about its mucous-y consistency and aftertaste has never sat well with me.  This Vietnamese egg soda, however, is something else. 

The ingredients are simple enough: egg yolk, condensed milk and soda water.  Best, and typically served, on the rocks.  Directions to make it are simple, too: you pretty much just spoon whatever amount of condensed milk you want into a cup, pop in a raw egg yolk, add soda water and stir vigorously as it foams up, and then pour it into a cup of ice.

I'm a BIG fan of condensed milk.  Way more than a fan than I should be for the sake of my health, but there's something about that thick, gooey, rich stuff that makes it my favorite sweetener, be it for coffee, tea, egg soda, or whatever else drink or dessert I can put it in.  I'm also a fan of carbonated beverages.  I really dig bubbles.  Another drink aspect that I'm a fan of?  Foam.  I've heard from several sources that the soda water is said to "cook" the egg yolk and that the chemical reaction between the two is what creates a ton of foam.  So those three aspects create a winning trifecta for this drink.

Restaurants that I've ordered this at tend to serve it in one of two ways: either already mixed for you and they'll give you the leftover can or bottle of soda water on the side, or they'll give you a cup with condensed milk and an egg yolk, a cup with ice, and a bottle or can of soda water, and you can mix it by yourself.

I know this drink sounds strange what with a raw egg yolk and all, but trust me, it's delicious and you should definitely check it out the next time you go to a Vietnamese restaurants.  Or just make it at home!  I know there's a chance of salmonella with consuming raw eggs, but salmonella salmonsmella.  If you've read some of my food reviews, you'll know that I've got a soft spot in my heart for raw foods!

Here's a short video if you're curious about how it's made:

"
Egg Soda

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
34
Fun to Read
34
Well-Organized
31
Post a Comment
July 10, 2011
I can picture the taste.
July 11, 2011
You should try it yourself sometime! :)
July 11, 2011
I will.
 
December 29, 2010
In Sweden they have a desert that is made from (raw) egg yokes whipped with a splash of water and a fair bit of powdered sugar. It is used as a dip for certain cookies. It is extremely rich and surprisingly tasty. It's amusing to me that Americans make eating raw eggs into some sort of taboo.....
March 23, 2011
Oh, that sounds so good! I guess in other countries, the eggs can be fresher so you don't have to worry about the bacteria count or sanitation of large egg farms.
 
July 11, 2010
Sounds positively revolting but I have known you long enough now to take your word for it. Still I think I would seriously have to psyche myself before ordering this. I am a very fussy eater. But maybe you have something here. I'll think about it.
July 12, 2010
You should give it a try! It's really not as gross as it sounds. Plenty of dishes out there have raw egg yolks in them, like fresh made ice cream. Think of this as a more refreshing egg nog! :)
 
April 15, 2010
Ok, I've seen some weird foods that I will never try (e.g. chicken and waffles...no way I will try this) but this I can do.
July 11, 2010
What's wrong with chicken and waffles? It's delicious! You HAVE to try that. And this :P Thanks for your comment, El Capitan! :)
 
October 15, 2009
Hey, I really enjoyed this and will be trying it this weekend :-)
October 15, 2009
Thanks, Corin! Let me know how you like it! :)
 
October 11, 2009
OH MY GOSH!!! How have I never heard of this before. I'm so excited to try it. What a great review - thanks Devora!!
October 11, 2009
I only just recently learned about egg sodas, too! I've always gone with lemon soda or three color bean drink at Vietnamese restaurants, but I'm so glad that I decided to be more experimental! :D
 
October 02, 2009
I Love this, must try. I'm obsessed with condensed milk. I put it on ice cream and shave ice all the time. In brazil, they pour cans of it into their white wine. Its so good.
October 02, 2009
Yes, you've gotta try this! Condensed milk on ice cream? That's pretty hardcore! I put it on shaved ice all the time though. And hmmm, I'll have to look into putting it in white wine. Thanks for commenting! :D
 
September 30, 2009
Will definitely try this out when I am able. Right now, I'm having a terrible stomach flu, that's why been spending so much time on virtual Lunch instead of the real lunch!!!
October 01, 2009
Considering the food items that you've reviewed, I'm surprised that you haven't tried this yet! :P Sorry about the stomach flu. I hope you feel better soon so that you can lunch while you're Lunching!
October 02, 2009
That is true. The thing is I didn't see it anywhere I've been lunching nor did I hear anything about it. Strange indeed!
October 02, 2009
You should explore the drink menu more! I've been trying to. I'm trying to stop drinking my usual cafe sua da and try more new drinks!
October 02, 2009
Oh, if you mean those soursop, durian, lychee, and all the rest, I think I have tried more than many people have!
October 02, 2009
Ever make your own Markisa (that's what we call it in Indonesia) aka Passion fruit drink? It's delicious!
 
September 29, 2009
Hmm. good drink and great review!
October 01, 2009
Thanks, Woo! :)
 
September 28, 2009
Love your review Debbie! My husband is a total sweetened condensed milk addict and he has been known to eat raw eggs (organic+free range!). This would be perfect for him!
September 29, 2009
Thanks, Anastasia! Guess it's time for you to pick up some soda water then ;P
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Egg soda, also known as soda sữa hột gà, is a sweet drink made from egg yolk, sweetened condensed milk, and club soda. The beverage is of Vietnamese origin, though it is also consumed in Cambodia.

Soda sữa hột gà shares some similarities with egg cream, a fountain beverage of New York City origin, though no historical link between the two has been proposed.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists