|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beauty » Reviews » Extra Virgin Coconut Oil » User review

Virgin Coconut Oil

A type of moisturizer & conditioner

< read all 3 reviews

Finally - winter skin relief!

  • Nov 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Until about 6 months ago, I lived in the Northeast for my whole life. In the winter time my skin got VERY dry - unbearably so. I've always tried different brands and blends of lotion and nothing seemed to work the way I wanted. Most of the time it felt like they just dried my skin out more in the long run! I think this is because most generic moisturizers at the drugstore have about 30% skin conditioners and weird chemicals for the rest. Not helpful for my skin at all.

For some reason or another I found out about raw cococnut oil. I started using it on my entire body about 6 months ago and I refuse to look back!

The trick is to apply a very small amount. The after-effects are a bit on the greasy side to begin with (heck, it's OIL) but (you can always rub the excess off with a towel - I typically do) if you try to put on more than a small teaspoon it will be super messy. Still, when you're done you'll be amazingly soft and smell good, too!

If you go to buy coconut oil, be sure to buy it in it's pure form (not mixed in with other oils). Coconut oil is perfect to condition the ends of your hair, too, AND you can even cook with it - just like olive oil. I love it!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
May 22, 2011
I swear by coconut oil too; it's fabulous for the skin and hair, but to anyone who is not sure what brand to try, be careful what brand you get; I found not all are created equal. I LOVE Nutiva Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (I purchase from IHerb.com); after reading rave reviews about this brand, even from a cruise ship chef who only uses this for cooking, I bought some and loved it. It has a true coconut flavor for cooking, and after using it on my skin I was hooked. I will check out the Organic Figi brand you mentioned though!
 
November 04, 2009
Ohhhh, @Sharrie recommended extra virgin coconut oil to me for my hair in my Queen Helene's Hair Cholesterol review!  I'd love to try it.  Where do you get this?  Is there a particular brand that you use?
November 05, 2009
You know what, I was struggling for a #10 on my list and @Sharrie's review helped jog my memory!! I got the oil I have from a local natural foods store, but I know you can get it at Whole Foods. I get Organic Figi brand! They have several kinds with scents (Tangerine, Cucumber, etc) but I just stick to the unscented kind. Check it out!
November 05, 2009
Thanks for the tip! :)
 
November 04, 2009
My friend Kyra, swears by anything derived from a coconut. I finally bought some coconut oil to cook with, I guess I need to get some to slather on my horribly dry skin too, huh?
November 05, 2009
Man, sounds like Kyra and I need to hang out! Haha, I love coconuts too - I swear I'm never really hydrated (in life) until I've had a coconut water like VitaCoco!  Cooking with it is great too - it feels "cleaner" for some reason, I've found. You def. need to check out the oil as a moisturizer!
 
1
More Extra Virgin Coconut Oil reviews
Quick Tip by . April 04, 2010
posted in Resort Living
A basic product & yet has absolutely amazing healing power when it comes to skincare & haircare. Go extra virgin!
Quick Tip by . November 02, 2009
I had a massage in the Maldives using Coconut Oil. It was awesome! Highly moisturizing & smells awfully good! Very Exotic. Great for hair!
About the reviewer
Melissa Aquino ()
Ranked #64
Born and raised in NJ, relocated to Boston, MA to study at Emerson College, transplanted to Hollywood, CA to get my career started on the fairer coast.      I love hiking, eating new … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MelissaAq
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

 Virgin coconut oil is produced from fresh coconuts (rather than dried, as in copra) with minimal processing so that it retains a slight coconut flavor and aroma. Virgin coconut oil is regarded as the highest quality coconut oil and is preferred for food preparation and home medicinal use.

There are several ways to produce virgin coconut oil, each of which can be processed under two general methods: wet process or dry process.

In the wet process, coconut milk is made first and then the oil is extracted from the milk. Coconut kernel is shredded, mixed with a little water, and then squeezed or pressed to extract the oil. The resulting oil/water mixture produces coconut cream or coconut milk depending on the percentage of oil. The coconut milk is then allowed to separate naturally. Since oil is lighter than water, the oil rises to the surface. This takes 12 to 24 hours. The oil can then be skimmed off. This is the traditional method of making coconut oil from coconut milk and is the way many people make the oil at home. Other methods incorporate heating, fermentation, refrigeration, or centrifugal force to separate the oil from the water. Some minor heating is generally done afterwards (often in a low temperature vacuum chamber) to drive off excess moisture and produce a more purified product and to extend shelf life.

In the dry process the oil is extracted directly from the kernel. The coconut kernel is first shredded and dried in an oven to about 10 to 12% moisture. The ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists