|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Museums » Reviews » Flight Path Learning Center at LAX » User review

Flight Path Museum at LAX

An aviation museum in Los Angeles.

< read all 1 reviews

Flight Path Museum at LAX

  • Jun 10, 2010
Rating:
+5

Off the Imperial Highway adjacent to runway 25 of LAX there sits a small quaint but elegant aviation museum called flight path. It features some memorabilia of defunct airlines to include uniforms of Captains and stewards, old pictures, flight tickets etc. There are also small airplane models that are really cool to look at.

What I really like about flight path is sometimes they might feature a movie such as Operation Red Flag or Top Gun that you can watch. If not, there is a great panoramic view of runway 25 that looks across the Tom Bradley international terminal.

I love this place and it's so warm and welcoming with a very comfortable loungy atmosphere. If you go outside you'll see an old DC-3 in the spirit of 76 paint scheme and there have been significant programs held at flight path such as the welcome of Emirates service at LAX and Qantas A380. Both Emirates and Qantas parked their A380's outside of flight path. It was really cool.

Go visit flight path, drop a donation and enjoy because if you love aviation then you're going to like it there.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
June 12, 2010
I was just on the Singapore Airlines A380 flight last week flying from Hong Kong to Singapore! Definitely a cool experience :-) and not to mention I traveled for free too! I'll be on it again on the return leg this July 4th! Have you flown on it before? The A380, I mean.
June 13, 2010
OMG! You flew on the A380? Sharrie, I wait for that day. I hope to God i can fly on the A380.
 
June 10, 2010
Cool. I remember driving by and seeing the sign for this and I literally thought it was a museum of how the flight paths of LAX have changed. Now I'm intrigued to go check it out.
June 10, 2010
Dude it's such an awesome place. You really just need to go and check it out for yourself.
 
June 10, 2010
very cool... i've been to LAX a thousand times and driven by this place even more. I had no idea. Thanks for the heads up!!
June 10, 2010
Next time you're in LAX J.R. go visit Flight Path then head to imperial hill across the street to do some plane spotting at one of the worlds best planespotting airports anywhere.
June 16, 2010
cool. I used to like going up on Sandpiper and checking out the great ocean view and the planes... but post 9/11 they closed Sandpiper to cars, but i think you can still walk up there. I'm a little to lazy to try that though :)
June 16, 2010
I was over there this past weekend and it's closed off. I did some joggers in there but i couldn't get in there with my car. Sucks because looks like an amazing place to do some spotting.
 
1
About the reviewer
Josue "The Captain" Cano ()
Ranked #187
I'm the creator of the best Garlic Salsa on the planet:El Capitan's Garlic Salsa    This salsa was handed down to me from my parents who brought the recipe from Guadalajara Mexico. During the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
captain
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Flight Path Learning Center is a museum located at 6661 Imperial Highway and was formerly known as the "West Imperial Terminal." This building used to house some charter flights (Condor Airlines) and regular scheduled flights by MGM Grand Air. It sat empty for 10 years until it was re-opened as a learning center for LAX.

The center contains information on the history of aviation, several pictures of the airport, as well as aircraft scale models, flight attendant uniforms, and general airline memorabilia such as playing cards, china, magazines, signs, even a TWA gate information sign.

The museum claims to be "the only aviation museum and research center situated at a major airport and the only facility with a primary emphasis on contributions of civil aviation to the history and development of Southern California".[25] However, there are other museums at major airports including the Udvar-Hazy Center of the National Air and Space Museum adjacent to Washington Dulles Airport, the Royal Thai Air Force Museum at Don Muang Airport, the Suomen ilmailumuseo (Finnish Aviation Museum) at Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, the Frontier of Flight Museum at Dallas Love Field, and others.

Here's the map with directions:
http://www.flightpath.us/visiting.htm

6661 West Imperial Highway

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 90234, Los Angeles, CA 90009; (424) 646-7284.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists