|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

An annual promotional effort by the North American comic book industry to help bring new readers into independent comic book stores.

< read all 8 reviews

A Quick Tip by PaperHeart

  • Jun 16, 2010
Wish I could participate more.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Free Comic Book Day reviews
Quick Tip by . January 10, 2011
Anything that encourages youngsters (and oldsters) to pick up something and read it is okay in my book. Plus, many comic book stores will truck out people in costume dressed as superheroes to take photos with!
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Free comics? Awesome. Nice way to get some free reads and find out whats going on with old favorites if you dropped a book and were thinking of picking it up again.
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Nice giveaway day for people to get ahold of a book or a new piece to help promote the work. Go in and grab some books next time it rolls around.
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
I got a bunch of freebies last year that I read and gave to my son. Pretty fun walking into a comic store and getting free stuff!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Free comic books!!! How awesome is this! When is the next one so I can prepare my many disguises and rack up on comics?!
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
I got a Toy Story one and my friend even got a Lady Gaga comic when we passed by a store who had their stuff out on the sidewalk ^__^
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
I've been going every year for the past few years and it definitely gets better with age. This month I snagged around 20 free comic books!
About the reviewer
Danni ()
Ranked #920
Member Since: Jun 16, 2010
Last Login: Oct 26, 2010 07:28 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
PaperHeart
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Free Comic Book Day is an annual promotional effort by the North American comic book industry to help bring new readers into independent comic book stores. Brainstormed by retailer Joe Field of Flying Colors Comics in Concord CA in his "Big Picture" column in the August 2001 issue of Comics & Games Retailer magazine, it was started in 2002 and is coordinated by the industry's single large distributor, Diamond Comic Distributors. The next event will be on May 1, 2010.

Free Comic Book Day is scheduled on the first Saturday of May. It has often been tied to the release of a major theatrical film adaptation of a well known superhero property (for example, 2009's FCBD was the day after the release of X-Men Origins: Wolverine), in order to take advantage of the film's heavy promotion and related press about the comic book medium.  On Free Comic Book Day, participating comic book store retailers give away specially printed copies of free comic books, and some offer cheaper back issues and other items to anyone who visits their establishments. Retailers do not receive the issues for free; they pay 12-50 cents per copy for the comics they will give away for free.



Comic books began in the 1930s as a unique American art form that has grown - like so many American forms of entertainment - to spread around the globe. From Japanese businessmen reading manga on the subways of Tokyo to French artists re-interpreting Proust with words and pictures, comics have changed ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists