|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Gmail » User review

Gmail

An email client produced by Google.

< read all 11 reviews

Gmail: Complete Organization

  • Sep 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
The purpose of this review is two-fold: 1) to show how awesome Gmail is compared to the rest, and 2) to teach "beginner" gmail users the advanced features of Gmail.

Gmail is FREE.  Yes, free.  But so is Hotmail, Yahoo and dozens of other email service providers.  So what makes Gmail stand out above the rest?  I'll take it point by point.

Web 2.0
Oh, how I loathe the phrase "web 2.0".  But honestly, there's no other way to describe Gmail.  You can click and drag, email pops into your inbox without having to hit refresh, and it's amazingly fast.  There are tons of little things that Google has done to Gmail that helps it figure out WHAT you're gonna click on next.  And once it does that, it starts downloading it... so by the time you've clicked on it, it's already fully downloaded! 

Personalization
Gmail also allows you to personalize your inbox through themes.  That means, you can change the LOOK and feel of the site!  No more bland Hotmail or Yahoo, but your own personal inbox that feels like home.  And with multiple users in the same household, this is a LIFESAVER.  You'll automatically know if it's really your inbox that you're looking at.

Rules and Labels
Instead of using "folders", an email can be "tagged" with multiple labels, like "Work", "Personal", "Recipes from Mom", etc.  Each of these labels can be customized by color, so important emails can be differentiated from the rest.

What makes labels even more powerful are the Rules feature of Gmail.  Are MySpace, Facebook and Twtitter emails drowning your inbox?  Then set up a rule to gather all those emails and place it under a label.  You can even tell Gmail to skip the inbox entirely... so you don't have to see it until you want to!

Space
As of right now, Gmail has over 7GB for each user.  I've had my Gmail account for about 5 years, with daily emails... including large attachments and pesky "FWD FWD FWD Haha funny" emails.  Yet I'm only using less than 30% of my space.

Conversation View
In other email providers, you would have one email per reply.  So to read the entire conversation, you would have to click next and next and next until you've finally caught up with everything.  But with Gmail, they've consolidated the entire conversation onto a single click. 

Sync
With IMAP and/or POP3 you can sync your Desktop email application (like Outlook or Thunderbird) to your Gmail account.  Even better, you can even sync your iPhone or other mobile device to read your email. 

+ Attributes
Ever have to sign up for sites that are a bit shady?  You can always give them a "plus address".  If I sign up for an account at Lunch using the email "justice.erolin+lunch@gmail.com", I can track how Lunch is using my email address.  Any email sent to the plus address will be sent to the original, but I'll always know what's going on.

Labs
Wow!  Ever want to try out the "experimental" stuff from Google?  Google Developers first put out their creations onto Google Labs, so you can try out their stuff in Gmail!  This is how a lot of the features get pushed out to the public... so don't be scared to try out new things!

On a daily basis, I receive about 400+ emails a day... none of them spam.  Yet because of Gmail's advanced features, like Labels and Rules... I only see about a dozen of them in my inbox.  Gmail not only organizes my email, but more importantly, organizes the information even BEFORE I get to it.

Gmail = Lifesaver.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
September 11, 2009
Yep, certainly nothing compares to Gmail or Google! Totally agree with you. It's no wonder the stock price is so high! Not to mention I no longer use IE unless I've to!!!
 
1
More Gmail reviews
review by . March 31, 2010
The BizCATS REVIEW: Gmail for BizMail? Yup!
Should you use Gmail for your business? For a long time my answer was “No.” After all, having an email with @gmail.com on the end isn’t especially professional, especially if you’ve already set up your own website domain and want your customers to see you as something like my.name@mycompanyname.com or such. What’s more you don’t want to change your email address and confuse/irritate all your contacts. But I was wrong and I’m now convinced that Gmail …
review by . September 17, 2010
First, I sell commercial mail servers (no, not Exchange), so  I have some bias.   I'm not going to plug the product I sell (though it's easy enough to track it down through my profile if you really wanted to).      If your small business is 10 employees or less, I think Gmail is an ideal choice.  I use it myself, and although I have some gripes about this and that, overall it beats everything else out there.      Above 10 employees, …
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2011
Has anyone noticed anything unusual with Gmail in recent days? After I logged in and just before taken to the inbox, the site rerouted to Youtube.com. What is happening and why? Should we be concerned about it? I certainly don't like having my mails moved around... who knows what happen in transition?!?!?!
Quick Tip by . April 17, 2011
posted in Business Matters
Caption
Simply THE BEST around for now. Coupled with Google App, it's almost unbeatable. I'd love to have the auto-swipe function in Hotmail incorporated though. That'd save me a lot of time!     
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2010
Gmail is organized by 'conversations'. A new email response to an old conversation will not appear at the top, but is added to the original.
review by . August 02, 2009
I don't want to rehash everything that has been said in praise of gmail already, from the beauty of labels and conversations, to the insane amount of space, to the incredible simplicity of the search feature.   I'll focus instead on using gmail to handle professional correspondence.      Gmail allows you to add additional accounts, which it checks every few minutes through POP.   So, you can easily add your work email account, assuming it allows for POP access, …
Quick Tip by . November 15, 2009
Is Gmail still beta?
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2009
Wish Gmail were prettier to look at, but it's very practical and functional with great features.
review by . December 19, 2008
I ADORE Gmail. I have such a huge problem with never throwing away emails that I could never find what I was looking for when using any other email product. I would try to organize things into folders but I'd create so many that I would forget where things were or would be unable to decide which topic it belonged in.     Along came Gmail and it's lovely tags, stars, search options and conversations.    Tags:  Any email can be tagged with several …
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Ranked #132
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Gmail is a free webmail, POP3, and IMAP service provided by Google. In the United Kingdom and Germany it is officially called Google Mail.

Gmail was launched as an invitation-only beta release on April 1, 2004 and it became available to the general public on February 7, 2007. As of July 2009 it has 146 million users monthly. The service was upgraded from beta status on July 7, 2009, along with the rest of the Google Apps suite.

With an initial storage capacity offer of 1 GB per user, Gmail significantly increased the webmail standard for free storage from the 2 to 4MB its competitors offered at that time. The service currently offers over 7350 MB of free storage with additional storage ranging from 10 GB to 400 GB available for $20 to $500 (US) per year.

Gmail has a search-oriented interface and a "conversation view" similar to an Internet forum. Software developers know Gmail for its pioneering use of the Ajax programming technique.

Gmail runs on Google Servlet Engine and Google GFE/1.3 which runs on Linux.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists