|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Internet » Reviews » GoGo Inflight Internet » User review

GoGo Inflight Internet

In-flight internet service

< read all 1 reviews

Makes in-flight time, well, fly by

  • Jan 17, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
Several years ago I was on an 11 hour flight to Europe.  A flight of that length normally causes at least a few episodes of cabin fever, even from a guy who absolutely loves to travel.  But this flight was different - it offered in-flight WiFi that was provided by a Boeing company, called Connexcion.  I could IM with my brother and friends, take pictures of my wife's meal and email it to friends (what are you doing?  This is what we're eating on our flight to Europe... aren't we cool), read articles about USC Football and the Housing Bubble (my two favorite subjects at the time) and on and on.  It was such an enjoyable experience that the $30 charge seemed like peanuts.  Scandinavian Airlines, United and other airlines were planning on rolling it out across their network.  I was elated.  My multiple flights to Europe each year would be so much easier to handle.  Then, Connexion went away.  I was devastated.  how could such a great offering that provided utility to so many leisure and business travelers get the plug pulled?  Turns out, technology at the time was too expensive, too bulky and too heavy to make financial sense, so it collapsed.

Flash forward several years and, as usual, thank God for technology.  Smaller, lighter, less bulky, less-expensive equipment and lower costs of providing service have opened the doors to new providers.  As a result, more and more flights are WiFi enabled.  In fact, I'm 30,000 feet over your heads as I write this review (according to the flight tracker on my computer, I'm over Decatur, IL en route from LA to NY).  How's that for progress? 

The current company I see on most of my flights that offers WiFi service is GoGo.  The charge is $12.95 for 24 hours (very reasonable, IMO), and you can buy monthly plans if you fly a lot.  I think GoGo is doing a good job, but I'm still not sure how many people use the service and I hope they're making enough money to support the business, because once you've had WiFi on a flight, flying without it is painful and, most definitely, less productive.

User Tip:  Before you fly, sigh up for GoGo from the ground (as far in advance as possible).  They frequently email out discount codes and specials to their users, which can save you a little scratch that you can spend on that $4.00 bottle of water in the airport.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
August 06, 2011
This could be very helpful on lengthy flights.
 
January 24, 2011
I love GoGo! It truly makes any flight time go by so fast, and it means I never have to be away from Lunch.com, even when traveling:) Great review!
 
January 19, 2011
I'm a GoGo fan, too! That's interesting to hear about Connexion and their downfall. Glad in air internet is back though :D I flew several times over the holidays and got to use GoGo twice. One time for free because I got a discount code, and the other time, it was $12.95. So worth it to keep me entertained and let me get some work done!
 
January 19, 2011
I think the price is only that BECAUSE you are flying domestic. IF you're on international, it certainly won't be that kind of prices!!! I do know Singapore Airlines is wifi-enabled on its Airbus A380 flights but when I asked for the service, I was told it's not enabled yet! So much for it being one of the top airlines of the world. Fact is, Singapore Airlines can never fly domestically so all its flights are international. I think they'd have a hard time pricing it right!!!

I might be right or I might be wrong. I'm not so sure how wifi works when it's in international airspace anyway, any idea?
January 21, 2011
Not sure if its different Internationally or what the cost would be. I think it depends on the carrier.
 
January 18, 2011
what airline are you flying? I've seen GoGo on Virgin America with a cartoon of Richard Branson pitching it. I"m wondering if Virgin owns GoGo.... checking it now. Answer: No. It's owned by Aircell which apparently has no connection with Virgin other than having the GoGo service on their flights. Here's their other parters as of Jan 2011 from their website: all AirTran Airways and Virgin America flights, and select Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, United Airlines, and US Airways flights. Frontier Airlines coming in 2010.
January 21, 2011
United has it on a bunch of flights these days. If you do your planning on United.com, the flights that have WiFi are shown in the search results.
 
January 17, 2011
Whenever I board a plane now, I look for that little GoGo Wifi service banner, but it seems the American Airlines fleet is slow to roll it out completely and a majority of my recent flights have not even had the option. It's a big enough perk, that I'll probably start switching airlines to find flights with Wifi access.
 
1
About the reviewer
About this topic

Wiki

The Gogo Inflight Internet is an in-flight broadband Internet service offered by Aircell. Gogo allows airline passengers to connect to the Internet through a system of cell towers on land.

Aircell owns and rents a total of 92 towers that cover North America, including Canada and Mexico, and up to 300 miles off-shore in some areas. The towers are cellphone towers that have been outfitted to point their signals at the sky rather than along the ground. The aircraft picks up the signal through a receiver installed on its underside. Once in the aircraft, the data signal is distributed throughout the cabin via a Wi-Fi system. Customers are required to enter their e-mail address and solve a CAPTCHA before using the service.

Official Site: http://www.gogoinflight.com/gogo/splash.do

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists