|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » GoPro HD Hero » User review

GoPro

A high definition sports camera for videos and photos

< read all 2 reviews

Vanity be damned, the GoPro HD Hero makes me look good!

  • May 3, 2010
Rating:
+5
A few months ago, @trailblazer got me a GoPro HD Surf Hero -- A high-def video camera which comes with a waterproof housing and a mount for placing it on your surfboard.  The mount can be installed in two ways.  You can either attach the included adhesive disk to your surfboard or you can take your board in to a repair shop and have them install a fin box on the top of your board which the included camera mount can screw into.  I decided to go with the adhesive disk, and now that it's installed, it's not nearly as big or as much of an eyesore as I would have thought.  My only regret is that I didn't install it sooner!

On my maiden voyage with the HD Hero, I ran into @peterg in the water who has already posted some great photos using the HD Hero.  He gave me a few pointers and I was ready to go.  His best tip is to keep the camera in "2 second" continuous shooting mode -- as the name would suggest, it takes a photo every two seconds.  You end up with a lot of crap to sift through at the end, but more than likely, you'll come away with some gems.

The quality of the photos and video far exceeded my surfing skills, so I'll let them speak for themselves.

The GoPro HD was really easy to install and once you get used to the controls, it's very easy to use.  If you want to see what you look like when you're on the wave, you'd be hard pressed to find a better way than the GoPro HD Hero.

Vanity be damned, the GoPro HD Hero makes me look good!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
35
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
32
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
June 12, 2013
Amazing!
 
May 04, 2010
Andrew, that is awesome, man. I'm surprised how good the picture is.
 
May 04, 2010
Oh yeah!!! It works and you've got one fine pix out there! Hmm, may be i'll include it in my Images community! Is that ok with you?
 
May 04, 2010
sounds real cool. Thanks!!
 
May 04, 2010
That's pretty cool. I love the attached photo. The angle of the rising wave looks really cool.
 
May 04, 2010
Great shoot! I'm glad I could help! Now we have to get some shots of the standup surf...(that's JR's job!) Looking forward seeing you soon in the water!
 
May 04, 2010
Maybe it's me, maybe human nature but I really want to see a good WIPEOUT!
 
May 04, 2010
Too cool! I wanna take up surfing now just so I could use this in the water! :) My friend actually has one of these and he records all his surfing, biking and skateboarding excursions. On his maiden voyage with this thing, he actually got hit by a car and the video made for good proof. So apparently, it's good for more than just fun stuff (let's hope you never need it for that!) ;) Great review, Andrew!
 
May 03, 2010
Awesome Man....makes me want to move to Cali.
 
May 03, 2010
Great review! I wonder if you can pop a fish eye lense on that thing. That would be pretty sweet!
 
1 2 Next
More GoPro HD Hero reviews
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2010
posted in Surf Herder
I've only started using mine and only 2 days in the water. Here's some of the surf video from Punta Mita Mexico. Day 1, it fogged up really bad pretty quickly and didn't get much good footage. Day 2, i put some uncooked rice in the case to absorb the moisture. It worked much better for about 45 mins before it fogged up. I'd love to get some good anti-fog tips if anyone has them. thanks!
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #26
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TeamAWAC
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


A wearable digital camera for sports. More info on company website.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists