|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » God Of Cookery » User review

God Of Cookery

A Movie by Stephen Chow

< read all 2 reviews

A Deliciously Funny Martial Art's Parody from Stephen Chow

  • Oct 28, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
If you're a big fan of Martial Arts movies or Martial Art Parody films... this is the one that should be at the top of your list.  This Cult classic film was made in 1996... way before "Shaolin Soccer" or "Kung Fu Hustle", but is actually directed by the same guy: Stephen Chow.  As a director, Stephen loves to make Parody movies about "Martial Arts"... and this one (in my humble opinion) is by far ...the most outrageous and funny of them all.

This movie blends Martial Arts with "Cooking Skill" and is a hilarious tribute to all those classic Kung Fu movies of the past.  In fact, I think that this movie was actually the "inspiration" for the show "Iron Chef".  If you like Stephen Chow movies, Martial Arts, or the Culinary Arts... this movie is a must-see!  You should also see it if you're just into unique comedies, and ridiculously weird movies in general.  You will never quite see the "art of cooking" in the same way after you've seen this.
 
A Deliciously Funny Martial Art's Parody from Stephen Chow

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 30, 2009
Devora just recommended that I check this out. I must say, this sounds amazingly original. Adding to my Netflix queue now. Thanks.
October 30, 2009
Hey, no problem. I hope you guys enjoy this movie. Let me know what you think of it after you've seen it for yourself :)
 
October 29, 2009
This is on my list, thanks for the recommendation. I've been debating about which Chow film I was going to see next. I've been spending waaaay to much time in Bollywood lately I need a change of scenery!
 
October 29, 2009
nice review, bud. I often forget about this hidden classic. Have you seen DRAGON FIGHT with Stephen Chow and Jet Li? Chow used to like playing serious roles until he found his calling. This reminds me, I need to review his best movies. Have you seen THE WARLORDS with Andy Lau and Jet Li? Pretty awesome.  Red Cliff 1 and 2 are also being edited together for a U.S. release...make sure you check those out! (if you haven't already)
October 29, 2009
Hey, thanks for those suggestions. I haven't seen any of the movies you mentioned... but then again, I haven't checked up on any good recent Martial Arts flicks. I will have to check them all out when I get the chances. It looks like none are out on DVD yet... bummer. I'm definitely a Jet Li Fan. Hero, Fong Sai Yuk, Fearless, and Tai Chi master (aka Twin Warriors) are among some of my favorite Jet Li movies.
 
October 28, 2009
omg, a Chinese martial arts movie that involves cooking?  I can only imagine how hilariously awesome this could be.  I bet it involves alcohol and has "drunk martial arts" scenes in it.  Sign me up! :D
October 29, 2009
Lol, it's more of a "the art of cooking" is a martial art... kind of film. But yes, by all means, you gotta check it out! :)
 
1
More God Of Cookery reviews
Quick Tip by . October 28, 2009
If you enjoyed "Kung Fu Hustle" or "Shaolin Soccer", don't miss out on this amazing film by the same Director: Stephen Chow. See full review
About the reviewer
Duc Truong ()
Ranked #65
I'm a man with many hobbies. I work a full-time job in the field of 'Lyophilization' for a small Pharmacuetical company. It's a dream job because it gives me lots of days off to pursue … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dtruong
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The God of Cookery (traditional Chinese食神simplified Chinese食神pinyinShi ShenCantonese YaleSik San) is a 1996 Hong Kongcomedy film directed by acclaimed Hong Kong comedianactor and directorStephen Chow, best known in the west for his films Shaolin Soccer and Kung Fu Hustle.

Plot:

The God of Cookery is the story of celebrity chef Stephen Chow (the Chinese characters used for Chow's name in the movie is different from Chow's actual name), who knows very little about cooking and is willing to hawk any product for a price. The arrogant and cocky Chow is known as the "God of Cookery" and runs a successful business empire, as well as appearing as a judge for rigged culinary competitions.

When Bull Tong (Vincent Kuk), who poses as a fan, reveals to the world that Chow is a fraud, Chow's business empire is taken away; in fact, Bull was conspiring with Chow's business partner (Ng Man Tat) to overthrow him. Ruined, Chow lives on the streets in an area known asTemple Street, where two rival street vendors, Goosehead (Lee Siu-Kei) and Turkey (Karen Mok), conduct gang warfare to see which vendor could sell the two best-selling dishes: beef balls and "pissing" shrimp. Chow manages to unite the two rival vendors by combining the two dishes into a new dish, "Pissing Beef Balls", ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists