|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Browsers » Reviews » Google Chrome » User review

Chrome

An internet browser made by Google.

< read all 9 reviews

Keep it Simple Stupid, cliche, but it fits here.

  • Jan 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
With Google's attempt at seemingly trying to control most aspects of the internet world, they are doing a commendable job at it. With there surplus of free programs offered directly on their website, they are now offering a meritorious web browser that is and, by my standards, competing well against the likes of Microsoft and Mozilla.

When I first bought a computer I used Internet Explorer, but these were, I guess you could say, the days of the dinosaurs with the, in my eyes an ancient, medieval web browser that was prone to viruses, spy ware, and various attempts on my computers life.

Well, then I switched over to Firefox when I heard about the uproar of the free, "radicals" of .org websites and web publishers, such as open.org and the new, free "internet savvy's" web browser for those who are in the know when it comes to tech and the likes. Firefox didn't become a success simply because it was being a pariah in the wake of conformity with using Internet Explorer, it was and is still a wonderfully crafted web browser, with more security than internet explorer, and more usability and less crash prone.

The reason why I switched over to Chrome, was not for excellent hindsight, no I switched over for the reasons why I switched over to Firefox in the first place. I like to use the old saying " A rolling stone down the hill gathers no moss", well that was certainly the case when I made the decision for Chrome. I switched over the first time, with Firefox, because I just don't like to settle. Firefox was basically perfect to me to begin with, well it had a little computer slowdown, but it was perfect the way it was, and thus I I thought it was maybe my duty to myself to try something else that needed improvement, but that also would need user feedback. So with all this long-winded babble about switching and this and that, let's get to the program itself.

If I could sum up Chrome in one sentence, it would be: Web browsing simplified. It opens fast, it has an aesthetic, white interface with little options available in view, but has  menus for. Menus were created to use a plethora of options under one click so that it doesn't turn the commodious to crowded. It has 2 menus, one which handles most of the options that most browsers have open and free on a "toolbar", and the second "menu pull down" button is simply an access port to different "specifications" for the browser that is seldom ever needed or looked at. It puts a nifty pleasing approach to the tab function, where it integrates a modern tab like system with cutoff bars that makes it seem like a program straight out of the Apple labs. One thing nifty about this browser is the fact that when you look at the browser at face value, it is nothing more than a webpage screen with the tabs on top; there are no useless buttons, toolbars, or open space. This translates into your screen seeming much bigger than it actually is. The one thing that I can say that I've found not as pleasing about the browser, is the fact it still has its share of bugs. It still gives errors when playing streaming videos, such as flash and shockwave, and in some cases can crash it all together. But the one thing that it succeeds in is simplicity and user friendless, and in that case the good outweighs the bad in this instance. So I recommend it for your browser not only as a complement to Firefox but, hey, as a staple and your default because you know? It can only get better.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
44
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
April 25, 2009
I've used Firefox for a long time and loved it but last week it started crashing every time I sent a gmail message. Enough already! so I came to Lunch for the skinny on browsers and read this review--downloaded Chrome--and though I've just gotten started using it, I couldn't be happier. Thanks!
 
April 05, 2009
Chrome definitely has potential. The things keeping me from switching now are the somewhat sickening colors, the lack of all of my crucial Firefox extensions, and familiarity. One of those things I can adapt to... as for the others, I'll just be waiting patiently for Chrome to make it to the big leagues, and as I did with most Google products, finally make the switch.
 
April 02, 2009
Oh cool! I love new software- and Firefox does run a little slow which sucks when you are doing a lot of internet searching!
 
February 12, 2009
I started using Google Chrome and you definitely get more web browser on your screen - it threw me off in the beginning but now I love it!! I realize how much space the other browsers waste! The other issue I have is that a lot of sites can be only accessed via Firefox or IE (like the GRE prac test I was trying to do on Princeton Review). Other than that and the fact I can't upload photos onto some sites ... it's a winner! Thanks for the review!
 
February 11, 2009
A family friend wanted to know more about Chrome, and this will definitely answer a lot of his questions. Plus, I love how you bolded your "web browsing simplified." Eye-catching and for good reason!
 
January 16, 2009
I def have to try this out too. I am a google service addict! Yayy
 
1
More Google Chrome reviews
review by . July 29, 2010
Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010)
Not only is chrome fast at loading content, but google has been rolling out features left and right that may get overlooked if you are keeping your finger on the pulse. After using Chrome in a meeting to show off some new cool Lunch.com product stuff several of my fellow Lunchers asked about several of the chrome tools I was using. I decided to stop being selfish and share this my finds with others. If you aware of some of the supper cool tools that make your day to day easier.      …
review by . June 25, 2009
I've been using Google's Chrome browser lately and I've been falling in love with it. Knowing the internet is becoming more and more dependent on javascript for a rich internet experience, Google as always has taken the lead and completely redeveloped a javascript engine and named it V8.    What does this for you and me?  Gmail is lightning fast!  Facebook is lightning fast! Browsing in general is just faster.  Faster browsing = more productivity = more that you can get …
review by . August 20, 2009
I believe Google has been very focused on the simplicity which is exactly why Chrome should always has its place in market. Let Firefox and Safari to be the 'cover it all' kind of browser, Chrome is cool with minimalism design and snappy performance on cloud computing. I believe that's part of the DNA for Chrome, and it's ultimate purpose too. Not a lot companies have the guts to take extreme route when it comes to product design, but Google stick to its focus and did a good job on Chrome, appreciate …
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
Caption
I'm pissed off with IE 8 and have not touched it since. Google Chrome is the way to travel for me! GOOooo, Google!
Quick Tip by . September 01, 2009
Chrome is simple, slick, and fast.
Quick Tip by . August 22, 2009
Awesome browser. Fast and lightweight when it comes to using your computer's resources. Incognito mode is great for using at work.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Sweet tool and is clean and simple - carrying the Google look and feel. Haven't fully switched over, but it looks like it'll only get better
About the reviewer
Sean Marrone ()
Ranked #347
Well, I'll just say this. I never let anopportunitypass me by, and I never vacillate at a chance to act spontaneously.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Rainy_Sunday
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Chrome is Google's open-source web browser using the Webkit rendering engine.
The release announcement was made via a comic strip created by Scott Mcloud.

The benefits touted by this new browser are:
1) Builds on the best components of other open source software including Webkit and Mozilla.
2) Better stability
3) Faster and more secure
4) Simple and efficient user interface

Currently, only a version for Windows Vista/XP has been released.
view wiki

Details

Polls
Flock Logo

Browsers

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists