|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Browsers » Reviews » Google Chrome » User review

Chrome

An internet browser made by Google.

< read all 7 reviews

Some useful features on Google Chrome

  • Jul 29, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
Not only is chrome fast at loading content, but google has been rolling out features left and right that may get overlooked if you are keeping your finger on the pulse. After using Chrome in a meeting to show off some new cool Lunch.com product stuff several of my fellow Lunchers asked about several of the chrome tools I was using. I decided to stop being selfish and share this my finds with others. If you aware of some of the supper cool tools that make your day to day easier.

Pinned Tabs Not just loading tabs but tabs that are always pinned to the browser for quick and easy access to your favorite website, like a specific lunch community or your personalized lunch home page.

To get pinned tabs simply open the browser to the content you like and right click on the tab then click 'Pin tab'.


Extensions
Chrome extension make it easy to add features to the browser like Firefox plugins but much better (they aren't in the slow moving, slow to load, always updating browser called firefox)
There are many, but my go to is Gmail checker plus, it supports with basic gmail or Google apps email. 



Application Shortcuts
My favorite, I can add shortcuts to web tools to my desktop, task bar, or start menu for quick and easy access. The only downside to this is that it opens the app in a new, limited browser window (I'm still looking for config settings.)

To add a page as an application go to the page control icon on the right of the browser and click the link 'create application shortcuts...' then select where to add them.




Goolge has been getting reemed lately for having a tone of cash and rolling out crappy product after crappy product (Buzz, Wave). I think Chrome is there best product since gmail it's just a far superior browser that makes cloud computing much easier and much more natural. (i.e. how we have been trained to interface with software).

Hope these help and let me know if you find any other really cool and useful tricks on Chrome.
Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010) Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010) Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010) Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010) Some useful features on Google Chrome (7/29/2010)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
July 29, 2010
Ooooh, sound like Google's doing something right! I downloaded Chrome and only use it for testing. I tried to make the transition from Firefox, but wasn't quite used to the layout. I'll make more of an effort this time and check out those extentions and apps. Thanks for sharing!
 
July 29, 2010
Dude awesome review! I just downloaded Chrome the other day because Firefox was stressing me out too much. Love it so far! I'm going to have to get more Chrome Extensions!
 
1
More Google Chrome reviews
review by . January 15, 2009
With Google's attempt at seemingly trying to control most aspects of the internet world, they are doing a commendable job at it. With there surplus of free programs offered directly on their website, they are now offering a meritorious web browser that is and, by my standards, competing well against the likes of Microsoft and Mozilla.     When I first bought a computer I used Internet Explorer, but these were, I guess you could say, the days of the dinosaurs with the, in my eyes …
review by . June 25, 2009
I've been using Google's Chrome browser lately and I've been falling in love with it. Knowing the internet is becoming more and more dependent on javascript for a rich internet experience, Google as always has taken the lead and completely redeveloped a javascript engine and named it V8.    What does this for you and me?  Gmail is lightning fast!  Facebook is lightning fast! Browsing in general is just faster.  Faster browsing = more productivity = more that you can get …
review by . August 20, 2009
I believe Google has been very focused on the simplicity which is exactly why Chrome should always has its place in market. Let Firefox and Safari to be the 'cover it all' kind of browser, Chrome is cool with minimalism design and snappy performance on cloud computing. I believe that's part of the DNA for Chrome, and it's ultimate purpose too. Not a lot companies have the guts to take extreme route when it comes to product design, but Google stick to its focus and did a good job on Chrome, appreciate …
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
Caption
I'm pissed off with IE 8 and have not touched it since. Google Chrome is the way to travel for me! GOOooo, Google!
Quick Tip by . August 22, 2009
Awesome browser. Fast and lightweight when it comes to using your computer's resources. Incognito mode is great for using at work.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Sweet tool and is clean and simple - carrying the Google look and feel. Haven't fully switched over, but it looks like it'll only get better
About the reviewer
Jim O. ()
Ranked #75
Hello! I'm the head of product at lunch and my passion is to build a product that gives the community tools to learn from others, share experiences & expertise, and promote good conversations … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jolson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Chrome is Google's open-source web browser using the Webkit rendering engine.
The release announcement was made via a comic strip created by Scott Mcloud.

The benefits touted by this new browser are:
1) Builds on the best components of other open source software including Webkit and Mozilla.
2) Better stability
3) Faster and more secure
4) Simple and efficient user interface

Currently, only a version for Windows Vista/XP has been released.
view wiki

Details

Polls
Flock Logo

Browsers

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists