|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Green Living » Reviews » GreenWorks » User review

GreenWorks

Green cleaning product line

< read all 1 reviews

The Only thing GREEN is the label

  • Feb 8, 2011
  • by
Rating:
-5

How does this product meet your green values?
Alcohol, VOCs, ethoxylates, phthalate containing synthetic fragrance, and dyes? Yep, they got 'em. Not sure where this ends up being green at all. It certainly isn't safe for my family or the environment.
 

How does this product meet your quality standards?
Well, as far as aggravating my son's asthma, it's outstanding!
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
February 09, 2011
They just finally posted their ingredients and safety sheets. http://www.cloroxcsr.com/category-detail.php?catName=greenworks And now they are "Naturally Derived." I hope this information gets out. PLEASE READ THE SAFETY SHEETS. If you are advised to "wear safety glasses" and neoprene gloves. And to "use local exhaust to minimize exposure to product mist." It isn't green enough for me.

ETA: Full Disclosure...I do freelance work for Better Life Cleaning Products.
 
February 08, 2011
I was immediately on guard when I heard Clorox made a 'green' line of cleaners. Sure enough like you say, it's yet another hazardous product. Did you know they bought Burt's Bees a while ago? I hope they don't mess up that brand, it is more or less non-toxic.
February 09, 2011
And how are we to even know, since they don't have to list the ingredients or the "contaminants."
February 11, 2011
Yeah, I wish ingredients labels were mandatory, all ingredients - not just some. 
 
February 08, 2011
This is all good information... and good to know. Let me ask you (just for the sake of continuing the conversation): do you think the Sierra Club sold out with its "approval" label of the brand?
February 08, 2011
Quoting Sierra Club's website: "The Sierra Club has chosen to be selective and to partner only with companies whose environmental performance is much better than average." Better than average is not good enough for me. I am a typical non-granola, mommy consumer who wants her family safe and the environment healthy. We like to hike and camp and run around outside. We don't have time to research all of these different products we bring into the house. So, when an organization like Sierra Club partners with a cleaner, I would expect them to tell me the best products to use, having done that research themselves. So, now consumers will think, "Oh. Sierra Club partners with Clorox, they must be good." But, just because they are "better than average" doesn't mean they aren't still toxic to my family and my planet. They are going to have to reformulate to meet the upcoming ban of VOCs in California. I do agree with the cost. Many green cleaners are too expensive but there are some good competitively priced options out there.
 
1
About the reviewer
Kate H ()
Ranked #917
Member Since: Feb 8, 2011
Last Login: Mar 3, 2011 05:55 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ktCakes
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
Polls
Beaumont Product

Your Favorite Green Cleaning Brand

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists