|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Half Price Books » User review

Half Price Books

is the largest family-owned chain of new and used bookstores in the United States

< read all 2 reviews

Half Price Books is One of EPA's Top 20 Green Power Retailers

  • Mar 22, 2010
Rating:
+4
I recently went to my local Half Price Books and sold some of my old books and bought a couple of recent novels for half price.  I was new to the store and wasn’t informed on the eco-friendliness of the store.  For instance, Half Price Books was named in the EPA’s Top 10 Green Power Retailers.  I did a little research and I thought I would share.


Half Price Books
began in 1972 and now has many locations in 16 states across the Unites States. For the nearest store near you, go here. They carry best sellers, used books as well as classics. And that is just the books. They also have CDs, LPs, text books, DVDs and more. Most of these sell for half price or less.


From the Half Price Books website:

Things we believe no one should waste: paper, knowledge, trees, words, time, and money. Half Price Books is the book recycler. We buy books you've already enjoyed. So if you have more books than shelves, bring yours to us today. We pay the most for recent best sellers and collectibles. But we're also interested in your children's books, mysteries, music, movies and games. We donate all our overstock inventory to nonprofit agencies around the world.

So let's work together and help save our Mother Earth. When you visit Half Price Books, you'll save trees, books, and of course, money. We are committed to the community and preserving our environment. We operate every day based on the convictions of our founders to waste not and read a lot. Every day is earth day at Half Price Books.

 halfpricebooks2

Half Price Books has a website called b(eco)me, which details their green effort, has green tips as well as b(eco)ming bagless.




If you don't have a Half Price Books near you I urge you to use your public library.  If there is a location near you, I urge you to visit a store and see for yourself. I will definitely be returning soon. 
Half Price Books is One of EPA's Top 20 Green Power Retailers Half Price Books is One of EPA's Top 20 Green Power Retailers Half Price Books is One of EPA's Top 20 Green Power Retailers Half Price Books is One of EPA's Top 20 Green Power Retailers

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
March 22, 2010
We sell and buy a lot of books through Half Priced Books. And every time you go, it is like a new adventure. My only "complaint" is the mysterious way they determine the value of a book that you want to sell. Other than that, I really like shopping here.
March 23, 2010
Same here. The only thing you could say negative about them is you have no idea what you'll be paid for what you sell to them. Also, the amount is usually pretty low. I guess that's what happens when you sell books at half price.
 
March 22, 2010
I have one of these in my area and I had no idea that they were a chain. They do such a good job at seeming like they're an indie bookstore! I may not be the biggest book worm, but I can never turn down a trip there, especially for some late night book hunting since the one in my town opens till 11 PM. Knowing that they're eco-friendly just makes me like them all the more.  By the way, I don't know if you've seen @RyanWeiss' list of Favorite Green Companies, but I think you'll dig it.  Thanks for sharing, Clay! :)
March 23, 2010
There are now 2 Half Price Books within 10 miles of me. I'm a regular. Save money and eco-friendly - what a great concept. Thanks.
 
March 22, 2010
Good stuff to know. I am always looking for small ways I can contribute to the environment without major lifestyle changes (like painting my roof white or spending 55K on solar panels). The small things can add up quickly.
March 23, 2010
I hear you. Without a big moneyroll the key is to be resourceful. Reusing books is a great example of this. They can be reused so many times. Just look at public libraries. Thanks.
 
1
More Half Price Books reviews
Quick Tip by . May 19, 2010
The one in our neighborhood actually gives you a reasonable price per box o' books.
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #50
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Half Price Books, Records, Magazines, Incorporated is the largest family-owned chain of new and used bookstores in the United States. The company’s original motto, "we buy and sell anything printed or recorded except yesterday's newspaper" remains true today, and many of the used books, music, and movies for sale in each location were purchased from local residents. The corporate office is located in Dallas, Texas. Half Price Books now operates more than 100 stores in 15 states.
 
The Half Price Books original mission statement includes the promise to “promote literacy and be kind to the environment,” and the company remains loyal to the cause of literacy and education. Teachers and librarians are offered a year-round 10% discount on purchases. Each year, every Half Price Books store holds a book drive to collect new or gently used children's books, building “Half Pint Libraries” at pediatric hospitals and special-needs clinics in the communities it serves.
 
The company has worked continuously through the years to find innovative ways to foster the efficient use of natural resources and prevent waste, to promote recycling and reusing, and the sound management of paper, energy and water resources.

In 2006, Half Price Books launched a formal environmental education initiative called “B(eco)me Green” to help spread knowledge about how each person can help impact the health of our environment through our ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists