|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Pets » Reviews » Hartz Flea & Tick Drops » User review

Hartz Ultra Guard Flea & Tick

A Manufacturer of Flea Control for Pets

< read all 2 reviews

HeartLESS Hartz Brand: Don't Let your Pet become their Next Victim..

  • May 14, 2009
Rating:
-5
As all of us pet owners know, the market is saturated with pet product brands and leading in the flea control category are top brands (at top costs), like Frontline & advantage, followed by lesser known brands like Hartz.

While on a weekend Target run I came across Hartz flea control: a 3 month supply of topical appointment applied to the neck of a cat to eliminate and prevent fleas. Despite Max being an indoor cat, living by the beach seemed to continually cause an onset of fleas. The price was right, 15 bucks for a 3 month supply (compared to near $50 for a top brand). Although I tend to investigate new products before purchase, I was a naïve new cat mom and trusted it, simply because it was being sold at Target. As the only brand on the shelf, I figured it wouldn't be sold to consumers unless it was safe.

Shortly after arriving home, I applied the flea control as instructed, to the back of my cat's neck. Having used top brands in the past, the smell of Hartz seemed rather poisonous, yet I ignored this first sign of poor quality. A few hours after applying Hartz, I began noticing strange behaviors in Max. From what I recall most, he was violently scratching at his neck with his claws out, as his fur began ripping out from his neck. Between the stench of medication, seeing him in so much pain and acting so erratic, I immediately brought Max to the sink, giving him 2 baths to do my best to wash the product from his neck. Little did I know at the time, those immediate baths at such an early onset of symptoms most likely saved his life…

(If ever in the situation, wash your pet with dawn dishwashing soap and bring directly to the vet)

Immediately after typing the product into Google, I was taken aback after finding the following website: http://www.hartzvictims.org/

Hartzvictims.org is a site which warms against Hartz products and shares the stories of those who have lost their innocent pets to Hartz flea medication and even their brand of toys. Unfortunately, for most pet owners, the site is often found too late; in a best case scenario the pet owner owes hundreds in vet bills, in most cases however, they have already lost a pet. Unknown to many, the principal ingredient in Hartz Flea & Tick products is a 40-year-old chemical pesticide called Phenothrin, which was banned as a lawn pesticide due to its toxicity years ago. Astonishingly, this chemical represents 85% of the total ingredients in Hartz, leading to adverse reactions in pets (particularly cats and small breed dogs), including hair loss, salivation, seizures, tremors, and numerous deaths.

Complaints on the web date back to at least 2002 and so it's shocking to me that some of the most well known stores like PetCo, Target, Amazon.com & Walgreens still have the audacity to carry the product. I can't help but lose respect for these well known stores who knowingly sell such a dangerous product to consumers. Despite the multitude of documented cases of Hartz Flea & Tick Products causing injury and death to thousands of innocent pets, Hartz Mountain Corporation and current CEO, William Ecker, continue to deny any wrongdoing and insist their products is safe; they've somehow managed to bypass shut downs from negative press coverage and weasel their way out of lawsuits. It's obvious that the Hartz team has lost all morals and is simply out get their massive share of the over 40 billion dollars spent on pets each year. What's not so obvious to me is why the EPA is continually mislead on Hartz deadly practices, failing to intervene, keeping Hartz in operation and their lethal flea control in front of unsuspecting consumers at popular retail & grocery stores…

One thing I know for sure.. I'll be avoiding Hartz brand at all costs, and hopefully so will every other pet owner

...and if you still aren't convinced to avoid them and spring for the higher quality flea control, this video just may change that...

Hartz Victim

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
42
Thought-Provoking
33
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
28
Post a Comment
April 21, 2012
Cats have a life span of about 8 years. My cats have lasted longer (up to 14.5 years) because I utilize natural cleansing products together with food off the table and just plain water. Floors can be washed with a solution of white vinegar. I keep the window sills clear of objects so that the cat can get plenty of sunlight.
 
March 12, 2010
Oh my gosh, this is horrible. I don't know how these products can continue to be sold.
 
December 03, 2009
Thanks for this review! I bought the same item for my dog but haven't opened up the box yet. I'm returning it back to Target right away.
December 04, 2009
So happy you read my review before you used it on your pup! It's cheaper of course but not worth the trouble it can cause :(
 
November 06, 2009
Omg, I need to tell everyone I know about this. I watched like 10 seconds of the video and almost started crying. AHHHH I'M A SAP BUT THIS IS TERRIBLE!!
 
September 10, 2009
Amazing! I don't have a cat, but this is good to know.
September 10, 2009
It sure is. You can pass it on to your friends with pets :) it's harmful for puppies too!
October 07, 2010
Thanks for this information. I am often tempted to use the cheaper product. My cat stays indoors, but the fleas seem to find him. I'll stick with the expensive Frontline, even though that's pretty toxic. The cat doesn't seem to mind the stuff and like not having to scratch for fleas
 
July 23, 2009
I have been using Frontline since my dog was a puppy (even though someone at the dog park said it made the paint come off her wall!) because I used to live in a tick-infested area. I still use it religiously every month as instructed by my vet here, but I was told by my vet back east that the Frontline Plus flea protection lasts for 3 months, whereas the tick protection only lasts one month.

Since ticks aren't so common in LA, I guess I could skip a month or two before reapplying but it would be a nightmare if we got fleas in our house so I just keep applying it every month. :P
 
July 11, 2009
I have K9 Advantage which I have not used but did use Frontline mosquito, flea, and tick that you rub on the dogs neck. The vet gave us the frontline and another vet gave (sold) us the K9. I thought it was werid putting something that is absorbed on the skin but we are overrun with mosquitos in our area and I am eaten up with bites so I used it. That night was the night by little Onyx got sick and I took her to the hospital. The vet at the hospital did not think that caused it and she was very good so I trusted her. But I know I will be very leery the next time I have to apply it. Nice review.
July 14, 2009
Thank you! I know Frontline and Advantage are the two leading brands, so hopefully that isn't what caused Onyx to get sick. I know with puppies or kittens you need to be careful with the amount applied, as they are tiny and fragile, so I would always double check the directions. You'll also want to make sure she isn't trying to bite of lick it off her skin (maybe just cats do that?) as even the best brands will make them sick :(
July 15, 2009
I think my wife migh have put too much on her but I'm not sure because she took her to the vet when I was at work and she had no instructions. She couldn't lick it because it was right in the middle of her little neck behidn the head so she couldn't get to it, but she sure DID NOT like having it put on.
 
May 25, 2009
Thanks for the heads up! Will definitely avoid this product. A very important review!
May 25, 2009
I'm glad to be spreading the word! It's so sad to hear stories from owners who have lost their pets to this product, finding out too late how harmful it can be. Do you have any pets?
 
May 25, 2009
That poor cat. I certainly hope that isn't yours. Were those lasting neurological problems?
May 25, 2009
The poor little kitties in the video and photo aren't mine. I found them on the hartzvictims website. I'm not sure about lasting neurological problems. From most of the cases I've read, once the kittens start experiencing seizures and symptoms similar to the ones in the video, they've usually past the period of being saved and typically end up passing away :(
May 25, 2009

:(

 
May 18, 2009
Thanks for posting this. Happy to hear your kitty is OK...
May 18, 2009
Thanks buddy! do you have any pets? I'm happy to spread the word on Hartz to warn others, and hopefully put them out of business :)
May 18, 2009
yep sure do. I have a dog and 2 crazy cats. How many do you have?
May 18, 2009
I've got 2 orange tabby brothers who look like twins and are totally obsessed with one another
May 25, 2009
What are their names? I love to hear cat names. Cat Fancy magazine once asked readers to send in their pets names. Of course there were an awful lot of Garfields etc, but there were some wonderful weird names too. My favorite was Evinrude. It told me everything I needed to know about that cat. Bu the way my current cat is Named Fred--Freddie Krueger because as a kitten he played with all 20 claws out all the time. He wasn't mean or anything,  he'd just forget to bring them it. I was always a bloddy mess.
May 25, 2009
Freddie Kruegar is a cute name and seems very fitting- hopefully he's learned to bring his claws in! My older cats name is Maxwell and his little brother is Oliver, named after the orphan oliver, because I saved him from the shelter :)
 
1 2 Next
More Hartz Flea & Tick Drops reviews
review by . October 08, 2009
I wrote a post on these "spot-on" flea treatments in early August and was appalled by the information, mostly negative, that my research turned up.  I found out that the Environmental Protection Agency had a warning regarding these products on its website, due to the number of adverse reaction reports they were receiving. Pet owners were complaining to the flea treatment manufacturers (who then must report to the EPA) that their animals were experiencing negative effects that ran …
About the reviewer
Lisa Nativo ()
Ranked #122
Inspired by her two rescued kitties Maxwell & Oliver, Lisa has spent the last 5 years devoted to animal welfare; volunteering for LA based animal rescue organizations, fostering dogs & cats in … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LisaLisa
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Flea and Tick drop:
  • Kills fleas ticks and flea eggs
  • Kills and repels mosquitoes
  • Prevents re-infestation for up to 30 days
  • 3-Monthly treatments
view wiki

Tags

Pets, Dogs, Cats, Epa, Flea Control, Hartz, Pesticide, Animal Safety

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists