|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Henry and Mudge- Children's books » User review

Most loving series of early readers

  • Jun 23, 2010
Rating:
+5

I loved all of these books, from the very first one where we meet Henry and his family and he gets Mudge, all the way through the most recent stories. They drew me in and charmed me, as much if not more than my children. It was easy to give my heart.
 
My children learned to read using these books, which I first read to them. In general, they were about second grade level when they read them. The girls loved hearing the stories from age 3 on. I never liked Dr. Seuss the way I love Cynthia Rylant's books.

In general, the stories take place in and around Henry's house or neighborhood. Some take place indoors, and some outside. One of our favorites involves Mudge being scared during a thunderstorm, a situation that our kids could relate to easily. Mudge is seen hiding in the couch, and in the bathroom.

These are wonderful early readers because they are so warm and engaging. The situations are realistic and believable, with some cute misunderstandings, like what is a family tree. They are not formulaic, like the Nate the Great series is.

Sucie Stevenson's simple illustrations appeal to both kids and grownups.
She captures all of the important parts, like the fur Mudge sheds in fear, or the exact color of Dave, the cat who looks like prunes. They are more cartoonish than portraits, but definitely capture the spirit and feel of the stories.

I can't help but smile when I come across these books at Barnes and Noble, and I often end up standing in the aisle re-reading them. They are the essence of happy childhood days.

 

 


 


 



 


 


 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
July 31, 2010
My oldest daughter loved this series. Each week we'd go to the library to find another Henry and Mudge adventure. It was great! I can't wait until her daughter gets started reading. It looks like the author has quite a few new titles.
 
1
More Henry and Mudge- Children's bo... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
i love reading these books with my daughter
Quick Tip by . June 05, 2010
I thought these were really nice characters and read them a lot when I was a kid. In a way you could say it is similar to Nate the Great.
review by . March 04, 2009
Henry and Mudge
Henry and Mudge is a delightful children's book series about a young boy of seven or eight and his mastiff- Mudge.   The series is brilliantly written by author Cynthia Rylant.   Henry and Mudge experience a number of fun situations and escapades together.     Children can relate to Henry and his relationship with his parents, his cousin Annie, and the rest of the characters in the series.   Also, whether they have a dog or not – children will  definitely …
About the reviewer
Trece Wyman ()
Ranked #1041
I'm an overweight, petite bodybuilder-in-training seeking my bliss. I want to create a location-independent lifestyle and spend the rest of my life doing everything I want, not paying any attention … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
simplytrece
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The series Henry and Mudge is written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Susie Stevenson.  Henry is a young boy who has a dog named Mudge. Each book is geared towards teaching children a life lesson.  The series has 28 books total.  The series is published by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books.  Here is the total list:
  1. Henry and Mudge: The First Book (1987)
  2. Henry and Mudge in Puddle Trouble (1987)
  3. Henry and Mudge in the Green Time (1987)
  4. Henry and Mudge Under the Yellow Moon (1987)
  5. Henry and Mudge in the Sparkle Days (1988)
  6. Henry and Mudge and the Forever Sea (1989)
  7. Henry and Mudge Get the Cold Shivers (1989)
  8. Henry and Mudge and the Happy Cat (1990)
  9. Henry and Mudge and the Bedtime Thumps (1991)
  10. Hanry and Mudge Take the Big Test (1991)
  11. Henry and Mudge and the Long Weekend (1992)
  12. Henry and Mudge and the Wild Wind (1993)
  13. Henry and Mudge and the Careful Cousin (1994)
  14. Henry and Mudge and the Best Day of All (1995)
  15. Henry and Mudge in the Family Trees (September 1998)
  16. Henry and Mudge and the Sneaky Crackers (February 1999)
  17. Henry and Mudge and the Starry Night (May 1999)
  18. Henry and Mudge and Annie's Good Move (January 2000)
  19. Henry and Mudge and the Snowman Plan (October 2000)
  20. Henry and Mudge and Annie's Perfect Pet (February 2001)
  21. Henry and Mudge and the Tall Tree House (December 2003)
  22. Henry and Mudge and Mrs. Hopper's House (January 2004)
  23. Henry and Mudge and the Wild Goose Chase (April 2004)
  24. Henry and Mudge and the Funny Lunch (April 2005)
  25. Henry and Mudge and a Very...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists