|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Retail Stores » Reviews » IKEA » User review

The Store

Swedish Furniture Store

< read all 7 reviews

IKEAn't believe it's so cheap!

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
I love IKEA. There's a wide range of products and quality.. so you can purchase a $100 bedframe... or go for the better quality $400 one.

There are both plusses and minuses to the way that all the stores are set up. I do love that they dedicate an entire floor to "set up rooms" .. it gives you inspiration on what you want to buy (if you're looking to redecorate) and what kind of trends/themes you're looking for. However, if you already know what you want, it tempts you to spend more money. I love walking through the decorated spaces and saying "OMG I want that when I have my own house..." or "I. NEED. THIS. NOW." Ahhh Ikea, how I hate to love you.

The thing I hate though, is that I get lost EVERY SINGLE TIME I go.. somehow I end up somewhere that is not towards the exit, but instead a dead end, which means.. I have to turn around and browse even more products because let's face it.. I have no self control.

The downstairs - where you pick up your merchandise.. is a whole different story... I loveee spending hours browsing through the art, picture frames, candle holders, storage bins... EVERYTHING!! Some of the stuff is so cheap and if you have the right space, or pair it with the right items.. they look infinitely more modern and chic than the prices shows! I love the little frames that come in a pack of 3 for $1.99.. they were great little personalized gifts and I had some just laying around in my apartments in college.  Sooo like I say everytime... I'm going back here when I get my own place so I can buy a billion frames and art to deck out my place in.

I bought my desk, bedframe and dresser from here for under $500 total and am very satisfied! Ack, I'm addicted.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 10, 2009
They make it hard to exit on purpose. You WILL stay and purchase the Farfignuggen (oh, what's this....Swedish chocolate over there,too? Now, where was that door?) Darn you, IKEA. I always end up spending hours there, amazed at how affordable and COOL everything happens to be. Eventually, I DO end up finding the exit..but not before parting with some cash (but not too much).
 
December 12, 2008
I love your headline! Genius!
 
1
More IKEA reviews
review by . March 02, 2009
I am an Interior Designer - yet I can't afford the designer furniture that I would specify for a client. That is where Ikea comes in, they give you great design for a fraction of the cost of look-alike items from expensive furniture stores. Like another reviewer mentioned, you can choose the quality of the item according to your budget. You can buy the solid wood wardrobe for $600, or one that looks similar but is made of pressed particle boards for $150.     I was very excited …
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
I always looked forward to going to IKEA.....more than a store, it's an event with much to look at and buy!...excellent quality and prices!
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
I can dig it. You really do get the best bang for your buck furniture here. Love the products & set up!
review by . July 16, 2009
Ikea BESTA & INREDA storage system
Ikea is famous for their low price furniture, easy to assemble, and equally infamous for the lack of quality and durability in that low priced furniture. As weird as it may sound, Ikea is one of those places where you must buy from strategically. Though I quite a bit of furniture from Ikea, I would never buy furniture I used on a daily basis from there. Case in point, my sister bought an Ikea bed while we were in college. The mattress was supported by only a few wooden slats. A few months after …
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2009
posted in City Lifestyle
I just bought a breakfast in bed table for $6 and I now surf comfortably in bed. If that's not an unbeatable bargain, I don't know what is!
About the reviewer
Stephanie Zhu ()
Ranked #155
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=3201141    http://misszhulaneous.blogspot.com/    http://twitter.com/stephaniezhu    I hate passive aggressive … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
stephaniezhu
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

IKEA is a furniture company founded by Ingvar Kamprad in 1943 in Sweden.  Currently, there are 315 IKEA retail stores mostly in the United States, Europe, Asia, Canada and Australia.

Most IKEA stores are two stories, with the top level as a showcase of already decorated rooms typically found in houses.  Tags with details of the product can be found so that customers can find the product easily once they go downstairs to the warehouse.

In addition to picking up furniture (which come in boxes and need to be self constructed), the downstairs usually offers decorative items such as photo frames, art and lighting in various designs. 

IKEA is well known for its modern chic look while keeping the prices reasonable so that consumers from all ends of the spectrum can find something to fit their needs here.

Links:
Ikea USA web site (official site)
Ikea Fans web site (user community)
Ikea Hacker (blog)
Ikea Hacks (Instructables blog)
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists