|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Immigration Reform » User review

Immigration Reform

The common term used in political discussions regarding changes to the current immigration policy of a country.

< read all 3 reviews

Immigration Reform: a Step Towards Common Ground?

  • Jul 1, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
Few Americans are unaware of the significant immigration problems currently rising on the political agenda of the United States.  While Arizona made the headlines a month or so ago, this morning, our 44th President Barack Obama spoke sternly about the necessity of strong immigration reform.  President Obama emphasized the need for bipartisan support for such reform not only because members from both parties are needed for any bill to pass the House and Senate, but also because bipartisan supported bills demonstrate that the measure being approved is both of the utmost quality and importance.  Immigration reform appears to be an issue that both Democrats and Republicans can work together on as both parties have agreed that illegal immigration has become a pressing security, social and human problem sweeping many southern states.  It will be essential that each side harnesses this commonality and uses it as a means to build a more constructive relationship. 

But even more importantly, immigration reform serves as a tremendous opportunity for the citizens of the United States and the significant illegal immigrant population living within our communities to come closer together.  Illegal immigrants are undoubtedly a dynamic and ingrained people living in our country.   Studying in Los Angeles has made me very much aware of their presence.  Every time I go to Home Depot I am approached by an individual of South American descent offering to build my dresser or paint my walls.  I even have friends who have used such individuals for such tasks, and I assure you, there are some areas near Downtown LA where if I dropped you off blindfolded you wouldn't know if you were in LA or in Mexico.  Still, illegals live alienated from the rest of their communities, almost like an intern working long and hard hours with no pay and no respect. (just kidding).  But seriously, it's as if we've covered them with an invisible blanket that we don't want to pull off, but that we don't want to accept exists either.  These 'invisible' people need a real place in our country, and there needs to be a way that allows them and ourselves to start a lasting relationship.

The immigration reform bill that Obama spoke of in today's address lays the bricks that are needed to build a foundation for making illegal immigrants who accept their culpability and pass background checks permanent and legal citizens of the United States.  In my opinion, giving illegals, who qualify under what will certainly be highly debated standards and qualifications, a permanent place in our cities, communities and minds is at the very least a first step in the right direction towards finding common ground between ourselves and those we've for so long turned a blind eye to. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
32
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
31
Post a Comment
July 03, 2010
Nice piece although I strongly disagree with portions of your position. About a year ago I wrote a piece called "Sensible Immigration Reform" here on Lunch in which I essentially outlined what I considered to be the road to resolving this issue. I wish that the Obama administration had pursued this issue before Health Care Reform. However, seeing how they shoved that bill down our throats I no longer trust these people. They will probably try to do the same with so-called Immigration Reform. This is only a ploy for votes as far as I am concerned. I am generally a conservative person but I recognize the need to resolve this Nagging problem once and for all.  But if this is ever going to happen with the blessing of the American people then liberals and Democrats are going to have give up some things. When was the last time you saw these people compromise on anything?  In my opinion in order to make Immigration Reform palatable to most Americans you would have to severely limit immigration into this country for 5-7 years. This has been done before and I see no reason why we could not do it again. But now I have added a second requirement. The "Illegals" who are allowed to become American citizens would be unable to vote for 5 years. That way they could not have undue influence in the next couple of elections. If the Administration is sincere about this they would agree to this to get the issue resolved and I think a lot more of the American people would buy into it.
 
July 02, 2010
Great review, William, I really enjoyed reading your perspective on this! Even though I live in Northern California, there's still a very diverse population up here and I've encountered many people affected by immigration laws, so I can really see how immigration reforms can really make a difference. There's so much to think about and discuss in regards to this. Thanks so much for sharing this thought-provoking review!
 
July 02, 2010
I couldn't agree with you more. Before I came to college I really didn't have an experience with immigration policy, but entering our freshman year we were assigned to read the Devil's Highway: A True Story, by Luis Alberto Urrea. It was a rude awakening to the challenges illegal immigrants face, trying to attain legal status and how Americans stalemate the process. I could not agree more that this issue has an immense capability to unite citizens and policy makers, but until we reach that end there might only be further segregation. I hope you keep us updated on the issues! thanks for the review.
 
1
More Immigration Reform reviews
review by . July 08, 2010
Both sides are going to have to make major concessions if this matter is ever going to be resolved.
Let's get real!  There is no simply possibility of resolving the deep divisions in this country until the matter of illegal immigration is settled once and for all.  And let me be clear here.  I am furious at both political parties for their selfish and totally inept handling of this situation over the past two decades.  One of the primary responsibilities of any government is to secure the borders.  For their own selfish reasons both Democrats and …
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
You have to define reform, why not just enforce the law. What a concept!
About the reviewer
William Fay ()
Ranked #577
Member Since: Jun 14, 2010
Last Login: Jul 1, 2010 08:20 PM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

Immigration reform is the common term used in political discussions regarding changes to the current immigration policy of a country. In its strict definition "reform " means to change into an improved form or condition, by amending or removing faults or abuses. In the political sense, immigration reform discussions can be general enough to include promoted, expanded, or open immigration as well as the aspect of reducing or eliminating immigration altogether.
view wiki

Details

© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists