|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Ice Cream » Reviews » It's-It Ice Cream » User review

It's IT

An ice cream company that is known for its ice cream sandwiches.

< read all 2 reviews

It's Awesome

  • Sep 11, 2010
Rating:
+5
It’s IT!  What is It?  It is probably the most awesome and delicious thing that has ice cream that’s what!

Originating on the west coast in San Francisco and appearing in various west coast locales, It’s It is an ice cream treat with dark chocolate covering two oatmeal cookies with ice cream in between.  Vanilla, Chocolate, Mint, Strawberry and Coffee are the varieties that you can get them in and they are all delicious!  Rarely do I have ice cream cravings but this is at the top of my list if I must have some.

It’s It is available for order for anyone not out west but sadly you need to order them by the case and shipping can get high since it’s next day aired to your location so that they don’t melt.  If there is any other demerit it’s that they are high on the usual stuff that makes ice cream a no no for dieters

For those of you who are out on the Golden Coast, It’s Its are indeed known and need no introduction since they are awesome.
It's Awesome

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
November 28, 2010
I didn't know they had Coffee! Yummm...Mint's been my all-time fave, what's yours? I went to an event in SF that was sponsored by Adidas and It's-It, suffice to say I was in heaven!
November 28, 2010
Mint or Coffee are the ones I had most in school. I actually didn't care for the chocolate ones that much. Only had the strawberry ones once or twice.
November 28, 2010
Yeah, me too- not the biggest fan of Chocolate! Have you ever had Kicks? SO good!
November 28, 2010
No. Can't say that I have.
November 28, 2010
If you're in the Bay Area- check out their websites for where to get some Kicks. They are in stores in throughout the Bay Area and cost around $3 a pop so if you ever get a chance, you should give it a try. I still have to write a review about them!
 
September 13, 2010
can I have some? hee-hee. This is my fave even more than the Klondike bar :)
 
September 13, 2010
It's-It *is* awesome. I grew up on the West Coast, and more specifically, San Francisco, so I'm no stranger to this deliciousness! Because there's so much stuff in them that make ice cream, well, extra tasty, I haven't eaten one of these in years, but I have fond memories of buying them in the school cafeteria :)
 
September 11, 2010
Sounds scumptious. These just might replace Rice-A-Roni as the "San Franciscan Treat"!
September 11, 2010
Oh they are and as far as I'm concerned, they have.
 
1
More It's-It Ice Cream reviews
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
The most awesome Ice Cream THING ever. If you head out west, make sure you try them.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

It's-It Ice Cream is a company based in Burlingame, California. The company's flagship product, a San Francisco Bay Area favorite since it was invented in 1928, is the It's-It vanilla ice cream sandwiched between two oatmeal cookies and covered with dark chocolate.

The It's-It was invented by George Whitney, one of the original business owners when San Francisco's Playland at the Beach opened across the Great Highway from Ocean Beach. The treat is as intimately tied to San Francisco as sourdough bread, as much a part of local lore as Rice-A-Roni. Dating to the 1920s at Playland at the Beach, the frosty wonder represents one of the oldest local institutions on the West Coast. It predates the Golden Gate Bridge. It was here before the Giants.

For nearly forty five years, until Playland was demolished in 1972, the It's-It was available only at Whitney's shop. After Playland closed, the It's-It name was passed to George Mavros, who continued the tradition of hand-dipping the cookie-sandwiched ice cream in chocolate at another location near Ocean Beach.

In 1974, the Shamieh brothers bought the It's-It name, building its current production facility in Burlingame in 1976. It's-It flavors now include chocolate, mint and cappucino in addition to the original vanilla. The company has also added other ice cream products, including the "Super Sundae," the "Big Daddy", the "Super Cone" and the "Chips ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"It's Awesome"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists