|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » JCVD » User review

JCVD

Excellent meta-movie about Jean Claude Van Damme.

< read all 5 reviews

This is a really good film about celebrity, artifice and aging action heroes.

  • Jan 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I've always been a fan of Jean Claude Van Damme's movies, the same way I'm a fan of, say, french fries or Hawaiian Punch or Gears of War. Basically guilty pleasure junk food.

As a youngster, my brother and I derived many hours of fun watching Kickboxer, Bloodsport, Street Fighter the Movie and so on. We would extend the fun times by repeating choice lines of dialogue from the movies like "My mama took one" in our best Belgian accents.

But whatever happened to Mr Van Damme? It seems like he disappeared from feature films not long after the Street Fighter debacle. I had heard that he was making straight to video releases and slumming in the Euro film industry, an action career in the decline.

JCVD, directed by Mabrouk El Mechri, attempts to chronicle the former star's career in it's twilight years, but it's not a documentary. The genius of this movie is that it is essentially a work of fiction about a real guy, starring that guy, but incorporating enough truths about his life so that we get a better insight into his life than any documentary could ever provide. Oh, and it gives us an action-oriented, suspenseful genre movie to boot. Imagine an amalgam of Being John Malkovich and Dog Day Afternoon.

Jean Claude gives an amazing performance, showcasing acting chops that were never even hinted at in laffers like Hard Target or Double Team. Maybe because he's playing a heightened version of himself, in his native language? Whatever the case, he carries the movie well. The cinematography is incredible, and notable scenes include a bravura action-movie-within-a-movie opener, and a heartfelt, beautiful soliloquy from the Muscle from Brussels himself, midway through the film. In that scene Jean Claude waxes poetic about his career, as the backdrop literally scrolls away, revealing him floating above a movie set. It is a compelling moment, a risky conceit, but like the rest of the movie it works incredibly well, and serves as a beatiful coda to an otherwise decent career.
JCVD movie poster Bloodsport! Kickboxer!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 28, 2009
I loved blood sports when I was in hs. I could never get enough of the scene where he has to break one brick, ......the bottom brick =). But this movie still isn't available on netflix yet, so I guess I gotta just wait.
May 04, 2009
Yeah. BLOOD SPORT, KICK BOXER, and TIME COP were probably his best movies up until now.
May 04, 2009
True, but I also thought Cyborg and Universal Soldier were pretty good too.
 
January 29, 2009
Yeah, he had it all. But that's the career path of most action heroes. Stallone, Schwarzenegger, Seagal. They have a heyday, and if they can't parlay that into a directorial or dramatic career, then they just sort of peter out. Or become governor.
May 04, 2009
NetFlix screwed up. I was supposed to have received this one by April 30. And I'm still waiting! I came back and read your review again to try and find some solace.
May 07, 2009
Haha, it'll be worth the wait, trust me.
May 14, 2009
It was!
 
January 29, 2009
I've been hearing so much about this, and at the same time not nearly enough. Everything I've heard has been positive. But nothing has been said about a release date! I've been dying to see it because I too thought that JCVD could have been the next big thing on the martial arts film scene. He had it all; looks, talent, flexibility, speed. And then drugs got hold of him and that was all she wrote. Did you see this in a theater or on DVD?
 
1
More JCVD reviews
review by . February 22, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****     Don't you love it when a crummy actor is given one moment of true glory? That moment of glory, for actor Jean-Claude Van Damme, is the film "JCVD". Throughout his career, Van Damme has starred in various generic action films; all of which have been forgettable and ultimately convoluted. It's almost kind of strange how this film doesn't mimic or mock the quality of his other films. No, this film is better than that. It features Van Damme playing a semi-fictitious …
review by . May 14, 2009
Kicks Just Keep Gettin' Harder to Find
JCVD is just what all the other reviews claim, it's a tour de force for Jean-Claude Van Damme The Actor. If you're renting this expecting anything at all in the way of action then you are going to be extremely disappointed because apart from the opening scene which turns out to be a scene from a movie he is supposedly filming, there is a total of two kicks, an elbow, and maybe a punch. I think that perhaps as Van Damme nears 50 he's realized that his career as an action star is …
review by . March 15, 2009
"Central to Unit 27. Jean-Claude Van Damme's robbing a post office. I need back-up."     Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):       1. Jean- Claude Van Damme's getting no respect   2. It's so bad that even Steven Seagal steals a movie role from him   3. "The Muscles" returns to Brussels where at least everyone knows his name   4. His cash-strapped position leads him to the post office   5. People go postal …
About the reviewer
John Pham ()
Ranked #623
Member Since: Dec 19, 2008
Last Login: Nov 29, 2009 09:34 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
SuperPhamicom
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

JCVD is a French crime film directed by French-Algerian director Mabrouk El Mechri, and starring Jean-Claude Van Damme as himself, a down-and-out action star whose family and career are crumbling around him as he's caught in the middle of a post office heist in his hometown of Brussels, Belgium.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists